We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dogs Welcome”
Review of Heritage Centre

Heritage Centre
Ranked #37 of 120 Restaurants in Oswestry
Description: Tourist information and good tea coffee + lunches
Restaurant details
Description: Tourist information and good tea coffee + lunches
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dogs Welcome”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visited Oswestry this weekend and spent an hour trying to find somewhere to eat that allowed us to bring in our 2 dogs as it was raining. In the Lake District everywhere allows dogs but in Oswestry there is only one place (but what a great place). We eventually found the cafe in the Heritage Centre, where we and our dogs were made to feel most welcome. We had an amazing Cream Tea, the dogs were fussed over by the cafe owner (who has their own dog) and the staff were very attentive. There was a good choice of homemade food, the cakes looked delicious and the portions were 'mansized' so you won't go hungry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    9
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dog friendly coffee shop”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Housed in a 16th century building which was once Oswestry Grammar School and adjacent to the parish church , St. Oswalds, this is a delightful place to visit for coffee and cake or a light lunch with delicious home made food and friendly service. The building itself is free to explore and also houses the local Tourist information centre and has on-going art exhibitions. Unusually, dogs are also really welcome here, with a water bowl provided and even a jar of dog biscuits behind the coffee shop counter.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank iwlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Got dragged out by wife for saturday shopping in a town i hardly ever visit all though only 15 miles away i agreed as long as lunch was provided, we chose the heritage centre mmmm good choice ,quirky full of arts and crafts, great home made food good choice reasonably priced. We will return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Oswestry Visitor Visitor & Exhibition Centre - a little eclectic gem”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great staff in the TIC, inyeresting gifts, always changing exhibitions and a quirky tearoom with a lovely outside courtyard. Wander through the churchyard to discover this gem.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Jem”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The restaurant is hidden in the tourist office in Oswestry. It's open during the day for home made meals and light lunches or coffee breaks. Set in a room full off local crafts and sometimes there art art type exhibitions. Ideal for foreigners who want to see inside a 16 century building, once the original Oswestry school and experience tea served in tradition china and tea pots.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobTaylor500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Centre also viewed

Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing