We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for meals and drink.”
Review of Ye Olde Boote Inn

Ye Olde Boote Inn
Ranked #24 of 119 Restaurants in Oswestry
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place for meals and drink.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have been eating in the Boote at lunch time and in the evening for many years. We have never had a bad, or even mediocre, meal there, which is why we keep going. The place is clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The food is much above average pub quality, the helpings generous and properly cooked; the prices are not expensive but reflect the general high quality of the food. Menus and prices are available on the Web.The Boote keeps a good pint and is also a pleasant place to go for a drink. The place is run by a family, which is probably why someone thinks the Boote is under new management, as they take turns at running the establishment.

We have been there often enough to know that the chips and vegetables are prepared entirely on the premises, unless there is an elaborate ruse in progress to cover up the use of "bags" by going through the process of preparing potatoes and vegetables for cooking, only to discard them afterwards. Other food IS sourced locally wherever possible - you can see it being delivered.

Most of the negative criticism of the Boote on this site is removed from reality. While there is no establishment that can't have an off-day, one gets the impression that people sit on their backsides maliciously slagging-off places for the sheer delight of spoiling someone else's life or livelihood. E.g. there has never been a hint of any member of staff smelling of cigarettes, or of a strange odour, the only odours that we have smelt are those of cooking and coffee brewing.

We are not connected with the staff at the Boote and have written this simply because of the annoyance of seeing some unfair and unfounded criticism of the place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    50
    14
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pleasant spur of the moment meal”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and a couple of friends decided on the spur of the moment to go out for dinner on Friday night. We hadn't been to the Boot at Whittington for a year or more so decided to try it again.
We were glad we did, it had improved since our last visit. It was always a popular venue for a meal locally but had become very tired. The place has had a new lease of life, the food was excellent as was the service friendly and not rushed.
A very enjoyable meal in a friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welshpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went to the Ye Olde Boote Inn Whittington to celebrate my birthday. This is the first time I have reviewed.

We where well greeted ordered our drinks and shown our table. Now only just sat down and a middle aged gentleman appeared to take our order, a bit of sigh when asked to come back. Only 5 mins later was back felt as if we should get on and order!

Order was taken and what seamed like a flash starters arrived (must have been pre-prepared and micro waved) mains followed very quickly soon after all felt very rushed. The food could not be faulted and the waiter/ress was good.

I asked if we could order more drinks and was told in no uncertain terms to go to the bar myself not what you expect in a restaurant, I would expect it if dining in the bar.

Deserts ok but not asked would we like a coffee.

Now the bill, not given at the table but you had to go up to the bar to pay and ask for the bill. A young lad served us after a middle aged lady ignored us while talking to a couple at the bar. He was obviously new and got the bill totally wrong 5x the actual amount, very apologetic, the lady behind the bar continued to gossip to the couple despite the young man requiring help when she finally help no apology, waited over 15 mins for final bill.

Would I recommend -- NO

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank margwelshpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have been eating here with friends & family for 8 years, and it continues to be friendly, welcoming, lovely staff, always helpful. Great lunches and evening meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrissie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“lunch always nice”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have had lunch at this pub frequently and have always had a lovely meal. The baguette's with various fillings are delicious. Service is always good, I have not had an evening meal here so unable to comment on that. It is closed in the afternoon which is a shame because if we are late arriving we feel a little rushed to finish our meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Boote Inn also viewed

Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to Ye Olde Boote Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing