We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Reviewed October 22, 2010

This has to be one of the worst Hotels I have ever stayed at........ the room was very tired, the toilet roll holder was hanging off the wall, the pillows were flat and I needed 3 to get to sleep. Shower was cold and wifi didn't work. When I mentioned the problems I'd had in the morning, the receptionist didn't evev offer an apology. Dinner in the evening would have been pleasant if I'd ordered and eaten it 2 days before when it was originally cooked. Have to go to Oswestry reguarly, this will be my one and only trip to Wynnstay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morag47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 425 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2010

The only thing i can say about this hotel is - I want to go back there very soon. I can not find a fault with it. We had a lovely room which was spotless, the breakfast wes fantastic and the evening meal was to die for. To top it all, the Italian waiter made everything go with a swing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights using Tesco Clubcards. Rate was based on Standard B&B which worked out around £150 per night. I certainly would not pay that sort of money but using clubcard vouchers so who cares! Hotel is pleasant enough but as with a lot of hotels is a little worn around the edges. Located on a street leading into town the hotel is opposite a churchyard that has pleasant soft pealing bells. Quite relaxing actually!!There is also a pleasant park opposite The days we were there were pleasantly warm but I did notice a fan in the room and would imagine it would get a bit warm on a hot summers day if there was such a thing in Oswestry! Ate in the bar both nights and could not complain about the food and seemed better value than the restaurant. The bar also served an excellent pint of ale called "Cambrian" to be recommended. Did not use the spa but it seemed popular with the locals. Access from the car park is via a code that you punch into a keypad at the barrier. The code is changed everyday and is available at Reception. A good base for exploring this part of the country. Towncentre looked a little tired but so do many country towns these days. All in all a pleasant stay but would try and get special offer as not really worth the full "standard" quoted prices.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swrxp47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

stayed with friend for two nights. Special offer price of £87 per person inc one night evening meal , certainly would not have paid anywhere near full price.
Conferences on during the day which meant imposible to park car and then couldnt get out of car park without code which was un known! had to block a main exit gate with car till space became available.
Staff friendly and curteous. Hotel very well worn, appart from conference rooms which is clearly where they focus their business on!
Bedroom very dated, worn furniture. Wire extention cables hanging down from TV on wall . Awful 70's dated bathrom with shower curtain and taps you couldnt turn on easily because they were too close to the wall. dated lino floor covering on bathroom floor.
Sash window hard to open and room can get very hot, however i imagine also very cold going by the supply of electic heaters indicating radiators may not be efficient.
Food in restaurant over priced and although menu read well, it couldnt be delivered... undercooked duck and main meal served on a slate plate which was not pleasant when using a knife on it? becareful with final bill, they charged suppliment of £2 which we refused to pay as our meal allowance was £23 a head and we only spent £22 a head. Breakfast was nice but they bought cooked breakfast before we had eaten cereal . cooked breakfast was then kept on hot plate which spoiled the food. Ordinary tea delivered when Herbal tea was ordered. Spa was okay nothing special and closes early on Saturday night 7pm? Hotel certainly needs refurbishment .

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

My wife and I as non-residents had dinner at the Wynnstay's restaurant. It is a beautifully laid out restaurant and the waiting staff were faultless. However, the food was far from faultless. It gives the impression of being prepared by a chef with a fascination for Michelin style presentation but without the attention to detail in the cooking, as the food was delightfully presented but did not taste great. Both of our starters were badly cooked, the pasta of the 'guinea fowl ravioli with walnuts' was very undercooked & for the other dish, the pigeon was tough and stringy and presented with a 'shot' of weird thin cold gravy that was just awful. For the main coarses, my Wife's dish, the turbot with broad bean risotto was delicious, but my 'spicy monk fish with slices of fresh coconut' was just wrong, the big slices of fresh coconut did not work at all in terms of texture or balance. Despite all that we would eat there again, perhaps we picked the more experimental dishes from the menu and were just unlucky. We will give the place another try.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richandyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Stayed here last night for a family wedding. Our room was very tired looking, needs updating with old furnishings and old bathroom with ancient shower but it was clean and our room was very quiet.

The wedding breakfast was the best meal I have ever had at a wedding. Smoked salmon to start, then steak which was the most tender steak I've ever eaten - extremely impressed, finished off with lemon tart.

A fantastic location for a wedding and the staff are excellent so would definitely return, but I suggest the rooms in the main part of the hotel are updated as I'm sure this would bring in more custom and better reviews as they do let the hotel down slightly.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We booked a two night stay so we could visit our son who works in Baschurch. The hotel is situated in the town centre, the staff were really plesant and our room was very clean, had all that you need in a room, even a scrummy chocolate on the pillow. We didn't have time to use the leisure facilities but always seemed to be busy. We had booked dinner for the first night and couldn't have found a better meal elswhere in the town. The second evening we had a meal in the bar and were equally surprised at the quality and size of the portions. The hotel was obviously preparing for mothering sunday they were going to be very busy, if locals use the hotel it is always a good reference.
We will be boking to go back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stamford55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
3.0 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
1.8 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
459 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sebastians Hotel
Sebastians Hotel
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynnstay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynnstay Hotel & Spa

Address: 43 Church Street, Oswestry SY11 2SZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: $111 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynnstay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wynnstay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynnstay Hotel Oswestry
Best Western Oswestry
Oswestry Best Western
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing