We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hotel very friendly, rooms ok and very clean with great bedding and towels. We used spa and had a treatment which was lovely. Highlight was the food, evening meal and breakfast were divine. The Italian Resturant manager was very helpful and friendly so a special mention for him. Would recommend

Room Tip: Rooms on front are noisy due to road especially if u like window open
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pics27, Sales & Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you found your stay enjoyable and we shall pass on your kind comments to our Restaurant Manager. We are sorry the noise from the road disturbed your sleep and hope it did not spoil your stay. The rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter and can be requested at the time of booking subject to availability. We try our hardest to accommodate all our guests requirements and hope if you visit us again we can accommodate yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 425 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business. Having read some of the negative reviews I was a little concerned, however there was no need to worry. After a very pleasant greeting, I found my room to be very clean, tidy and spacious. Ok the bathroom needed a bit of decorating but that is the only negative. I made use of the gym facilities which were an excellent standard. I ate in the restaurant that evening and found the food to be of very good quality.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Shacks14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pics27, Sales & Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are constantly trying to improve our facilities and we welcome our guests reviews. We are in the process of revamping many of the bathrooms in the hotel but as you must be aware this is quite a slow process as the rooms are almost always occupied especially with the busy wedding season upon us. We do hope to welcome you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Another excellent stay, the staff are so friendly it's like being at home. We had our favourite room which always pleases us, Steve deserves a special mention as I have a problem with my appetite, and they made special dishes for me, so a very big thank you . Sebastian and his team are excellent and nothing is to much trouble.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lintel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pics27, Sales & Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments on our staff & Managers. I shall pass on your kind words which is always a boost. We aim to meet all our guests expectations and can only do this by receiving reviews such as yours. We do hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were "upgraded", according to reception, to a better room on arrival. Room was tiny, no view and over a function room or bar. This was an expensive room for the size and decor. To be honest I have stayed in far better rooms for a lot less money. If this was an upgrade then I think I would have freaked out with a standard room at the price....even with a discount. Still...it is in town so bit the bullet. Wont stay again though.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pics27, Sales & Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay.

All our rooms are individually styled according to their size and being a Georgian Hotel, there is only so much renovation to enlarge rooms we can do.

I am sure the Manager would have looked into your reservations regarding your room and would have come to some arrangement with you.

We value customer feedback, good or bad, in the hope to improve our facilities to the standard our guests are expecting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Having family in and around Oswestry and Shrewsbury, this hotel is ideally located - it is easy to find with a large free cark park. We had a great weekend - I would recommend this. We stayed in room 105 overlooking the front of the hotel - bit noisy from the street during the late evening (but did not keep us awake) : room and bathroom rather tired but bed was very comfy and there were all the requirements for a good weekend. The staff are very friendly and helpful and should be complimented - they provided great service (and follow up the following morning) when I needed to see a doctor : couldn't ask for more from any hotel. Overall, we will be back when we visit the family next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimB1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pics27, Sales & Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments. We strive to meet all our guests expectations in making their stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible and we take a pride in all our staff's good work. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I have just been to the Coach house for there Mothers Day Spa Package. Had a wonderfull time. Used the lovely pool and Jacuzzi. then had a back, neck and shoulder massage which was very relaxing, i was then allowed the time to change before i had a file and polish, no smudging. Staff very welcoming and friendly. This was all followed my a very tasty lunch at Wilsons. The package was excellent value. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjh12136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pics27, Sales & Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Wynnstay's Beauty Suite.

We are pleased you enjoyed the Mothers Day Spa Package and hope we met all your expectations. Your kind comments have been passed on to our staff who strive to make your experience one to remember and we do look forward to welcoming you at The Beauty Suite again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I recently stayed and dined here while walking a few long sections of Glyndwr's Way with a couple of walking buddies. The Wynnstay Arms Hotel is a large, south-facing, white painted, stone-built hotel right beside the A470 Trunk road between Machynlleth and Carno and almost on Glyndwr's Way. It can trace its origins back to the 1400's in some parts, 15-something in others but from the outside frontage looks mainly Victorian and is tall and substantial with a carpark out front, a further car park over the road and its rooms are large and over three storeys. It has a small lively bar and a large quieter lounge with massive fireplaces and attractive exposed stonework, warm woodburners and plenty of warm radiators throughout.
This roadside inn / hotel / b&b is almost ideally suited to walkers and cyclists as the 6 b&b rooms (maybe 15 beds) are basic (no en-suites!) and at £20-£25 per night it is perfect for a crash-pad between cycles or walks, serves generous full breakfasts and dinners and the owners and locals are very generous in offering advice, information and local points of interest. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms ok and the communal shower is very hot and strong. The hospitality is great - Pauline the landlady is old school but very experienced and a font of knowledge having run this place for 30 years. Dont expect fluffy Egyptian towels, designer bathrooms or all mod cons - but do expect good old fashioned hospitality, down to earth manner and great value for money! As stated - an in deal base for group walking holidays, cycling tours etc. The staff are helpful and friendly as are the locals.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pics27, Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for commenting but I think you may have the wrong hotel. This is the Wynnstay Hotel & Spa in Oswestry. We also have many walkers use our hotel and facilities as a base due to our location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
3.0 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
1.8 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
460 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sebastians Hotel
Sebastians Hotel
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynnstay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynnstay Hotel & Spa

Address: 43 Church Street, Oswestry SY11 2SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: $111 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynnstay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wynnstay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynnstay Hotel Oswestry
Best Western Oswestry
Oswestry Best Western
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing