We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to our next visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Looking forward to our next visit”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was our third stay here this year and every times it gets better, the staff are excellent, at lunch time I ordered a Campari & Soda, unfortunately they had run out, when we went in the bar in the evening there was the Campari waiting for us, definitely service with a big smile. The food is excellent in the bar and the restaurant. The breakfasts are amazing, cooked to order with very fresh produce which is no comparison to the buffet style offered in most hotels. Wilsons which is a modern bar attached to the hotel serves excellent cocktails with live music, is worth a visit. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lintel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    133
    55
    22
    15
See reviews for
91
173
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I arrived late so didn't see much of the hotel but room was fine, nice and clean.
Good size TFT
Bar looked nice
Breakfast, probably one of the nicest sausages I've eaten in years !
Quality bacon and a REALLY fresh egg - not a massive fried breakfast but definately top quality.
Staff very helpful even late at night
Easy parking
Keen to go back and stay longer

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatdadkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tean
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We've often eaten at The Wynnstay and also stayed there a couple of times in the past. It is sufficiently different from the 'chain' hotels to be interesting! The hotel retains some of its old character and charm - including the bowling green at the rear but has good modern facilities too.This weekend visit was for a family wedding and we were very happy with everything. The food was excellent - and our rooms were comfortable and spacious. The male 'gym fan' in our party said that the gym was first rate and I enjoyed the small but pleasant pool. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Positioned at one end of the main street in Oswestry the hotel is in an ideal location for visiting the town and the beautiful countryside around.

Room Tip: The age of the hotel inevitably means a rambling layout with lots of stairs so the less mobile shoul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackbird1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip passing through Wales. On arrival I was greeted with a receptionist who was either too tired top greet me or could not be bothered, Once checked in and advised that she knew of no where I could get something to eat at this time of night (9:30-10PM).

I went to the room and although clean it was clearly dated and in need of decoration.

The next morning breakfast was served from 7am and was ok although the full Shropshire breakfast was very small and the scrambled eggs were swimming with grease.

The hotel is ok but I wouldn't look to stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for just one night last week. Our room was really lovely and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Breakfast was delicious and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. This place has an old fashioned charm about it, something lacking today in many hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmamam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast deal and this hotel offers superb value for money. Food in restaurant was superb, staff very pleasant and room clean and tidy. We used the Spa facilities and again very pleasant surprise, great massage and facilities good. Looking for a value for money hotel and spa then highly recommend, very very good

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelling50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at this pleasant hotel. Our room was comfortable and clean but a little small. In our first room, we were inundated with wasps but our change to another room was without fuss. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We had two dinners in the hotel, one a bar meal and the other in the well appointed restaurant. The menus were the same for both venues and the dishes were delicately prepared. We also had two breakfasts that were again really tasty and well presented. Overall, the meals were very good and excellent value for money. Having been to this hotel several times over the last 40 years, my wife and I felt that the ambience, quality and presentation of meals and general attention to detail were better than our previous recent visits. It clearly deserves the high rating given by trip advisor last year. Our only recommendation would be to stay midweek since the wedding receptions at weekends can be a little noisy. We will certainly be staying here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CriticP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
1.8 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
452 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
4.0 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sebastians Hotel
Sebastians Hotel
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynnstay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynnstay Hotel & Spa

Property: Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Address: 43 Church Street, Oswestry SY11 2SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynnstay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Wynnstay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynnstay Hotel Oswestry
Best Western Oswestry
Oswestry Best Western
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing