We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Oswestry”

Lepone's Restaurant Italiano
Ranked #12 of 120 Restaurants in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Lepones Italian Restaurant and Cocktail Bar. Open every day from 9.30Am - 11.30 Pm Sundays from 10am Serving fresh Italian Lavazza Coffee and assorted pastries light lunches and snacks, afternoon teas, real Italian ice cream, Italian Restaurant/pizzeria and cocktails. All served in our beautiful restored and completely refurbished church. From April/May outside seating on the terraces is available with pram and wheelchair access. Italian run and owned.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best place in Oswestry”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went to Lepones a few weeks ago and I must say I was impressed. The decor is a little overwhelming and the music a little cheesy, but you go along with it and I am thankful I did.

A lovely, hidden secret, with amazing authentic Italian food and you can see the owners passion is not fake, Paolo really does love what he does, it cannot help but rub off on you a little.

The pizza and pasta are all made fresh, along with the desserts and bread. I cannot tell you how nice a basic pizza is from this place and so cheap too.

The best place to eat in Oswestry and by far the most well kept secret.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    73
    34
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lovely food and great service (bit pricey tho)”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

we visted here for a friends birthday meal in july 2013.

i will start with the bad points first:-
they didnt have any house rose wine (in the middle of summer and a heatwave)
They didnt have any cider
No drinks on daft
Kept refilling wine glass without asking if we wanted it to be
and some of the food was very pricey £21 for a steak

Good points:-
food was stunning
waiter service very good
good choice of food
clean
good atmosphere
anyone welcomed

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank calloway99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food but. . . .”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A friend and I decided to have a catch up meal here. Very friendly and welcoming. Extremely uncomfortable chairs and the tiniest table. We had a main course each, a pudding and a bottle of house wine. My fish was fresh and beautifully cooked my companion's main was also delicious.
Waiting for pudding was excruciating. Almost threw in the towel. It wasn't even busy!
The bill was over £50 which was pretty steep. Wouldn't return as despite lovely food, it was too uncomfortable and service too slow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatJayO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A nice authentic meal”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Visited Lepones after reading the reviews on trip advisor. A small restaurant but good service and food was good too. Myself and my wife both had garlic bread starters, was absolutely gorgeous. Main courses we opted for pizza. I chose the diavolo. Again it was very nice, although 5 small pieces of pepperoni I thought was a bit on the stingy side. But a good restaurant and nice food. Would recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good authentic food”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Visited with 6 teenagers , all had a faultless meal. Great menu, friendly service. Really good authentic food. Would definitely visit again. Far better option than trendy mass produced chain restaurants. Long live small passionately run individual eateries such as this!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dickydav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lepone's Restaurant Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Lepone's Restaurant Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing