We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tontine inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tontine inn
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Description: Local country pub for walkers and visitors
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food and drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed at the big bear lodge and went here for food and drinks. Good pub grub. Good selection.
10 minutes walk with plently of parking.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

The service was good and staff very friendly, nice place to have drink as well as meal with some big comfy sofas in the lounge area and a pleasant beer garden. The food is well presented and of a high standard, all cooked fresh and lots of local produce used. We will use again when we visit the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrisbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
338 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Good grub in a lovely setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We popped in here to meet up with a friend who was kayaking around Wales (honest!). The setting is lovely, and while you're there try to find time to pop into the church, which is gorgeous. The pub looked newly refurbished and had a nice comfy sofa section where we settled to wait for our friend.
Once we were all there we moved through to the restaurant, which again is tastefully decorated in a modern style - but not too modern for a country pub. The starter of garlic bread came out quickly and was delicious with cheese and sun dried tomatoes. We had a little wait for our main course, but this was because there had been a gap between ordering starters and mains, and it really didn't bother us. In fact the landlady seemed more concerned and did apologise for the wait - even though it wasn't that long, and there was no real need to. Service from all staff was friendly though-out.
Our main courses were plentiful and tasty. Not stunning (hence 4 stars) but certainly nothing to complain about, and we would re-visit if we were in the area again.
All in all, if you're in the area we would recommend The Tontine and we wish them every success for the future.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fillyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere. Comfy seats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had an evening meal here whilst meeting a friend who was kayaking round Wales. (Yes you can do it via canals, the Vyrnwy, down the Severn etc)

Like one of the other reviews, when you enter the car park it does not look very impressive. We entered the pub via the bar entrance and it was immediately obvious this was a nice place. Well decorated.

We walked through to the lounge and what a surprise. Comfy sofas and a dining room in the conservatory. We ate of the main menu and the Welsh Black Rib Eye was superb. Good chips, veg and friendly service.

Unfortunately I was driving so can't comment on the beer :( but I would recommend the Tontine. An easy walk down to the river past a very delightful church.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ_Hore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Knocking on the door....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Been popping in for a meal now and again. But last time WOW...
I had black pudding starter and meat fa*gots main course plus a drink all for about 14 quid. My southerner friends entered the car park a bit sketchey because they felt it didn't look amazing BUT they were really impressed from the comfy chairs to play "connect 4" or chess on to the hearty food. Well worth a regular visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tontine inn also viewed

 
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing