We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly Pub!”
Review of Cross Guns Inn

Cross Guns Inn
Ranked #41 of 119 Restaurants in Oswestry
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: You'll find us on the A483 to/from Welshpool and we provide an excellent 2 meals for £10 range 6 days a week in addition to our full menu: including snacks, smaller portions, great grills and puddings. we stock a range of draught products and always have 2 cask bitters on tap with a rotating guest beer every 1-2 weeks with tea, coffee and soft drinks for the designated driver. We have an extensive children's menu and we do have high chairs. When the weather is good please come and visit our large beer garden. We welcome dogs both outside and in, within the bar and games room area, where you'll find a pool table and dart board. If you are coming to dine it's best to book! We look forward to seeing you.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly Pub!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Called in at The Cross Guns on the way home from North Wales, having seen that it was dog friendly. The pub has recently had a change of management, and we found the couple running it very friendly and engaging. Food is served all day until 9 PM, our meals were very good and excellent value for money, would highly recommend this place for travelers along the A483!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlelynnie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alison f, Owner at Cross Guns Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Nice to meet you guys..hope you get some more time off soon to come and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    40
    13
    7
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“never had a good meal here”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I dont know if it has changed recently but under two different owners I have had really awful meals. Sunday lunch especially bad even if you go early. Overcooked meat, damp potatoes, hard as a rock peas and absolutely no imagination.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank janeysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alison f, Owner at Cross Guns Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hi all T.A visitors my name is Alison, myself and my Partner Iain (both chefs) have recently taken over at the Cross Guns on 25th March 2013. We would like to encourage all customers both potential and previous to come and give the 'Guns' a try. You will get a friendly welcome and a great value for money meal with portions to suit most appetites... offer evenings 4 nights per week and we do a fab Sunday Roast!! Why not give us a call on 01691 839631 and give us a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Brilliant food in a village setting”
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

I eat here several times a year and the food has always been well cooked and presented. The portion sizes for me are too big but for most people they offer good size portions . The veg are hone cooked and the fish dishes are exceptional .

For family or business lunches this is a great place. Best to book though!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cchristinej9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pant
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Relaxed atmosphere with good value well cooked food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andover
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Dinner”
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I went to this pub/restaurant for Sunday dinner and it was fantastic.
situated on the welsh border near Oswestry, a good location.
The atmosphere was fantastic and there is a large garden for the kids or to enjoy or to relax on a warm evening, plenty of room to park the car.
however it is a good idea to book in advance as it is very popular and is always busy at meal times.
we waited for 20 mins max for our food and it was still piping hot, I had beef and it was cooked to perfection and the veg was lovely no complaint.
Overall well situated good atmosphere and superb food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank roller469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Guns Inn also viewed

 
Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to Cross Guns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing