We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't stay here to play rugby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Young people taking part in mini rugby tournament were staying at the hotel. They rampaged, unchecked, running along corridors, shouting and banging doors.

I kept hoping things would calm down - there were occasional quiet moments when I'd think they packed it in for the night. I gave up hope at 3am and rang reception.

I did get the room fee refunded, as per Premier Inn's guarantee. But that's not the point really. I'd prefer to sleep than have a free, but very uncomfortable and disturbed night. That is not good value at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Llangatwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations due to the noise you encountered during your stay. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 601 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights visiting friends & family. Hotel was perfectly clean & comfortable, parking good, only 1.5 miles to town. Receptionist was very welcoming, friendly & informative.
However, it was very frosty in the bar - we were sharing some wine relaxing around the fire after a 250 mile drive to re-unite with family & friends. It was very quiet, no music & at 9.45pm the fire was switched off in front of us! We were told the bar closed even for residents at 11pm but at 10.15pm we were asked if we were likely to want more drinks as the bar manager wanted to cash up!! We said we were not sure yet (still had wine left in bottle) so she proceeded to vacuum & clean around us & at 10.45pm rattled the keys & asked us to leave as she wanted to lock up!! This ruined the evening & a highly anticipated re-union with our loved ones. We therefore decided to eat & socialise in town the 2nd evening even though it was wet & windy & necessitated a return taxi fare.
We have regularly stayed at various Premier Inns & never had such an experience before!
However we cannot fault the actual hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy B, Manager at Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Oswestry Premier Inn.
We are very pleased you found our hotel clean, comfortable and the receptionist welcoming.
We will pass on your comments regarding your restaurant experience to the General Manager.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to break up our journey from Birmingham to North Wales. Although we arrived an hour early, our room was ready within 10 mins. Although waiting wouldn't have been a problem as there was a lovely pub next door where we ended up having lunch, dinner and breakfast! The hotel staff were very friendly and always spoke to us when passing. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. Cannot fault this hotel at all and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy B, Manager at Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Oswestry Premier Inn.
We are pleased that you found our hotel and clean, had everything you needed and the staff were friendly. We will pass on your comments regarding the restaurant also.
We look forward to your next visit when passing through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed as a couple for the weekend of my birthday while visiting the Welsh borders and Shropshire AONB, for which this is an ideal base. I always find Premier Inns to be spotlessly clean with good quality, functional rooms and pleasant, helpful staff, and the Oswestry hotel is no different. Great value for money at £59 in total for two weekend nights, booked on the advance rate. The breakfast at the pub next door was good and the evening meals there were fine, though nothing special. The service in the pub was efficient and very friendly though.
All in all a comfortable stay, but I did have one unexpected niggle: the mattress on the bed was a lot firmer than at Premier Inns I've stayed at before; I like a firm bed but this one was too firm even for me and did bother me a bit, though not enough to deprive me of too much sleep - it just made my back ache a little come the morning. This is the only reason I've given 4 and not 5 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachyRach69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy B, Manager at Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback regarding your recent stay at Oswestry Premier Inn.
We are pleased you found our hotel clean, good quality and staff helpful. Our great customer service is what we are proud of.
I will give your feedback about the beds to our development team. It is because we have feedback like yours that we can give the best to our guests in the future so thank you.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After a road accident and a lengthy stay in hospital, this was my first night out for two years. I was very apprehensive. I am now in a wheelchair and really didn't know what to expect. Tthe hotel facilities are excellent. The beds are wonderful. The staff more than helpful. The breakfast gorgeous. All round, a top stay. I had not used a Premier Inn before, I was amazed!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy B, Manager at Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Oswestry Premier Inn.
We are pleased that you found your fisrt visit to a Premier Inn "amazing". We strive to give our guests the best possible stay and are glad that we provided this for you.
We look forward to your next visit to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we stayed for 5 nights including a weekend. Couldnt fault it for cleanliness or facilities. Breakfast at Oswalds cross next door was very good quality and value. Will definitely stay again when in the area

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy B, Manager at Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Oswestry Premier Inn.
We are please you found our facilities and cleanliness faultless. We will pass on your comments to The Oswalds Cross General Manager.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have stayed at Premier Inn Oswestry many times but on a visit during the Christmas period of 2012 we were made to feel like asking for extra pillows was hugely inconvenient and when they did arrive they were almost chucked in the bedroom door.
We needed to return to Oswestry in February 2013 and I emailed in advance to ask for extra pillows. Sandie, the manager, was very helpful and was happy to help. Our needs were met and a complimentary box of chocolates provided on arrival.
Previously, the staff at Oswestry Premier Inn had been quite unfriendly and unhelpful but this seems to have changed and I'm pleased to say that our stay in February 2013 was good.
Room 102 is above the service entrance and large Premier inn lorries start arriving before 7am right outside the window. This didn't bother us because we are early risers but if you want a sleep beyond 7am, you might want a room at the opposite end of the Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy B, Manager at Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Oswestry Premier Inn.
We are pleased that your needs were met on this visit to us. We always strive to maintain this standard at all times and were very sorry we didnt on your previous visit. Its good to know we have restored your faith in us.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
428 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
4.4 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sebastians Hotel
Sebastians Hotel
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel

Address: Maes Y Clawdd Maesbury Road | Maesbury Road Industrial Estate, Oswestry SY10 8NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: $60 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned for exploring the historical market towns of Oswestry, Shrewsbury and Wrexham ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel Oswestry
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing