We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Grub, you know what you are getting”
Review of Oswald's Cross

Oswald's Cross
Ranked #38 of 119 Restaurants in Oswestry
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A Restaurant that provides food and drink for all occasions,We also cater for Buffets for Birthdays,Christenings Weddings and Funerals. we are also open for breakfast from 6.30am-10.30am Monday to Friday and 7am-11am on Saturday and Sunday. 2 Kids under 15 eat free at Breakfast with every full paying adult.
Taff in Transit
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pub Grub, you know what you are getting”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good quality food, been staying at the Premier Inn on business for a while and have eaten probably 90% of the meals on the menu.
Only ever had one poor meal, T-Bone steak which was a little too tough for the price charged.
Recommend Calamari, Hot Buffalo Wings or Garlic Mushrooms for starters, mains, Any of the fish dishes, Chicken and Ribs and Gammon all reasonable quality.
Breakfasts are eat all you can, both cold and traditional fry up, after several week I have not had cause to complain about the cheeriness of the staff ( especially at 06:30 every day) nor the food provided
Staff overall are pretty good but if you expect anything more than basic pub grub, you aren't going to be happy - on a par with Brewers Fayre, Wetherspoons and that genre of pub

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Red_Admiral_R06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    93
    90
    71
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Quick meal”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Good place if you want a quick meal. Food average but reasonably priced, no need to book a large venue always plenty of tables.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little overpriced for Microwave food”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Waitress was friendly and the place is nice enough, the menu is what you would expect from this type of pub; burgers, pasta, easy pre-made dishes that can be served fast I presume.

There's nothing wrong with this type of easy-going menu on days when cooking seems too much but the bill came to £30 for two. We only had one small drink each and the food was below average for the price. (May not seem like a lot of money to most but you can get two 3-course meals with a drink for the same price at nicer establishments with much tastier food)

Not amazed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hlmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just BAD”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Been here twice now for a meal. The first time was really bad the service was awful and the food was good. We decided to give it another go because we thought the interior and style of the place was really nice but I'm the same again the food wasn't very nice and service was slightly better but we had to chase someone down to take our order and then chase someone to pay the bill. It's a real shame with this place because it really is well designed and looks really nice...i

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nothing special. Flat lager. Bland food.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a meal here with my wife. My lager was flat. Had a bottle in the end. Had veggie lasagne. All mush and bland. Nothing special. Won't rush to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oswald's Cross also viewed

Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to Oswald's Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing