We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

The Jack Mytton Inn
Ranked #12 of 117 Restaurants in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $38
Cuisines: American, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Jack Mytton is a canal side Public House and Restaurant in the hamlet of Hindford North Shropshire set in grounds of nearly 3 acres bordering the Famous Llangollen Canal where it houses 6 private boat moorings. Popular with Locals over a wide area,The Jack Mytton relaunched in 2015 under new ownership after an extensive refit to create a cosy timeless Inn atmosphere with a contemporary twist. The Jack Mytton features a Tap Room, Snug Bar with log fire and Lounge with a Dining Room and a conservatory .The Pub offers a broad selection of popular pub classics featuring a British led menu with its own twist incorporating French and American cuisine influences made to our own recipes from locally sourced produce.. Our Menu runs all day on the weekends from Fridays with A Special Sunday Roast Lunch from £13.50. The Jack Mytton features Real Ales with a regularly changing Guest Beer and featuring its own House Ale, "Growling Bear", a 4.5% Mahogany Session Ale with a creamy texture brewed exclusively for the Jack Mytton by local microbrewer, Joule's Brewery. Check our website and TripAdvisor for winter opening hours.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you want to eat the best food available, in a fabulously convivial setting, then this is it. The Landlord is a character, the beer is brilliant and the food........... exceptional. They use only the best they can get their hands on. The T bone seaks are welsh black, the veg is locally sources, the chips are proper chunky home cooked, and everything is absolutely fresh.

This has to be one of the very best canal side pubs in the country. Simple.

Eve the 121 entry think so.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilRoberts144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    78
    48
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food and some excellent value specials”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Moored up outside on a wet and windy night. Bar is on the small side, but the restaurant is huge with tables nicely spaced out.
Food was excellennt - two of us ate from the main menu (the rack of lamb recieving sighs of ecstasy!) and two of us from the 2 courses for £10.
All beautifully served, plenty of veg served in dishes, and a good selection of ales on tap.
Would return

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jacames2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quirky, but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We dropped in for lunch on our way to Portmeirion. It looked shut, as it was dark and cold, but the landlord was soon there to switch on the lights! They had a full and extensive menu. The food was homemade and good, but it was so cold, I had to fetch my coat from the car. The landlord was very friendly, if a little eccentric and the pub was very 'lived in' ... which we liked, despite the cold, if there was a log fire it would have been perfect.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulienneX9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Moor your narrowboat to enjoy a full and varied menu.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

A group of eight of us visited here on a narrowboat. The pub came so well recommended by online canal forums and the local boatyard, we decided to stop here for lunch - something we've never done before, preferring to press on during the day and only stop to eat in evenings.

We arrived towards the end of lunchtime and feared the kitchen may have stopped serving, but nevertheless were shown to a big table where we could all sit round in comfort - which made a big difference to us as a group.

The beer was good, the menu was vast and very varied, with a wide variety of prices, but everything we ordered was excellent.

And just to make it easy for boaters - there's a concrete path up to the canal edge with mooring rings set in for easy use. I've no idea what it's like in the evening - but if you're seeking an interesting place to stop for a special meal I'd say it's well worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DevonshireMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely bar and restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Called in for a meal during a narrow boat holiday and were pleasantly surprised. Cosy and intimate pub with local ales, comfortable sofas and a log burning fire, lovely atmosphere. The restaurant is very attractive with a polished wooden floor and spotlessly clean. Good menu with a choice to suit everyone, I opted for the Welsh half rack of lamb with a crust, tasty but I was not asked how I would like it cooked, neither was another of our party who opted for the duck. Nice to be offered new potatoes and deliciously cooked vegetables instead of the usual chips with everything! Total bill for four (main courses, three puddings and a bottle of wine) was £87. Service was good, very pleasant staff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Critchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jack Mytton Inn also viewed

 
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to The Jack Mytton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing