We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lodge- ical choice for couples with pets”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Garden Lodge

The Garden Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Garden Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Garden Lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Oswestry, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve W
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lodge- ical choice for couples with pets”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed 5 nights and loved every minute. Great hosts Trish and Steve, great advice about where to go and places of interest. Lucy the Lab who welcomes you each day is great fun and got on great with our lurcher Tyger. The accommodation was warm and welcoming and you can easily relax in the fab garden with a cold beer. Perfect. Weather was great which always helps but there is lots to see and do from nearby Shrewsbury and the river walk to Llangollen which is also close by. The White Lion over the road welcomes the lodge guests and is really dog friendly - also the food was really good and varied from sea bass to burgers. Will definitely go back again and enjoy the peace and quiet in the iideal setting that is the lodge. Oh, and some great walks and views for you and your dog to enjoy on the common and nature reserve.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you all and we hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldhamman
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One of the most outstanding places we have ever stayed”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

It is hard to write a review with so many good aspects to applaud. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel totally welcome by Trish and Steve. The cottage itself was idyllic with beautiful gardens to sit out and enjoy the summer sun with a barbecue dinner and a few glasses of wine/beer.
Trish very kindly brought us some homemade Victoria sponge cake and was extremely helpful throughout our stay. Steve made me quite envious when he walked me round his woodworking workshop and all the projects that he is taking on.They were in a nutshell just fabulous hosts and are a role model for all others. Will we return? Indeed we will and can't wait

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Thank you and we look forward to seeing you both again,
Trish & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky D
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful Idyllic place”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A weekend away that wasn't long enough in such a beautiful place.
We were welcomed as soon as we arrived by the friendly owners, Steve & Trisha given the information about the property and local places of interest. When we walked through the gate to our accommodation we were really happy with the secret garden & lodge. The lodge had all you could need & more. Very comfortable and spacious. The garden is beautiful. The little stream & bridge outside the lodge door is adorable.
It was great for our dogs they settled in no problem.
We can honestly say there is not one thing that you can fault about this place.
We can't wait to stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2017
Thank you and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you all again,
Best Wishes,
Trish, Steve and Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
val40some...
wirral
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little bit of heaven”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The garden lodge is the ideal place to unwind and think of nothing but the birds and beautiful flowers in the garden listening to the stream . Trish and Steve where so friendly with their gorgeously Lucy . The lodge is immaculate with everything you need will be revisiting again and will bring our dog along

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Thank you and we hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C
Isles of Scilly, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful dog friendly place in the country”
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This lovely lodge set in a Japanese type garden is very well appointed and welcoming. The owners cannot do enough to make your stay a pleasant one.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2017
Thank you so much for the review and we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Hopefully we will see you again,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands england
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to seeing you both again. Also keep up that speedy recovery
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Phil E
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very quiet comfortable lodge with all conveniences you need”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Owners of the lodge welcomed us and explained the amenities of the lodge and what was available in the near vicinity The property was very quiet, situated in pretty gardens and close to the local pub. The lodge was comfortable warm and very well equipped. The owners made it there quest to ensure that we had all we needed. We were very well situated, close to Shrewsbury, a delightful town, as well as Mid Wales

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The quiet location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing