We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Relaxing dinner on a canal

I was very surprised the fish and chips meal was HOT and delicious having been collected along the... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Wander799051
,
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
via mobile
Overpriced but nice trip

I bought cream tea for two from Groupon, and followed up with another two direct from the Wharf... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kim L
,
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Read all 288 reviews
  
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
178
46
21
22
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
178
46
21
22
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips narrow boat the shropshire union canal cream tea canal trip fantastic week the pub hour trip piping hot canal side narrowboat holiday an engineer tea room be booking again lovely evening staff were very helpful couldn't do enough
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a holiday for a week on the canal from Norbury Wharf on Phantasy. We found the boat inadequately equipped with dirty bedding and the interior of the boat not very clean found chewing gum stuck on the inside of the boat. Kitchen area unclean dirt and grease on work surfaces and a disgusting dirty grill pan. The toilet smelt when we set off and got decidedly worse appeared that no chemical cleaner in it and the seal broken. Also the weed box on the boat in bad repair we had to do a temporary repair. We put a complaint in after the holiday with no apology or response didn't seem to be surprised when we took the took the boat back and advised at the office of the state of the boat. We are very disappointed with this company and we will not be using them ever again.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank vanessa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D53976, Public Relations Manager at Norbury Wharf Limited, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning Vanessa h and thank you for taking the time to leave us your review here on TripAdvisor. We are extremely sorry to hear that you found that the cleanliness of the boat did not meet your expectations. Each winter the boats have a thorough deep clean and then they are cleaned upon each turn round. Unfortunately it appears that the grill pan was missed on this occasion although the boat was checked by our house keeper. As we explained upon your return we want to meet all of our customer expectations and if you had given our office a call we would have replaced the grill pan and bedding immediately. Unfortunately you didn't do this and enjoyed the term of your holiday on Phantasy. You brought the grill pan to our attention when you returned the boat and two members of our staff apologised to you in our office. We are sorry that you will not be using us in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was very surprised the fish and chips meal was HOT and delicious having been collected along the banks of the canal en route by the skippers assistant. With friends from Australia after a long hot day of touristing it was the only concern I had when pre planning. Hosts were efficient and charming, cafe check in was efficient and well stocked. On the boat cutlery glasses etc all clean, the bar a little pricey but to be expected. We spotted a kingfisher and probably the resident heron. As the return journey is in the dark at end August I suggest a phone pub quiz, pack of cards or something to keep you entertained. This could be provided by the host and it's the only reason I didnt 5 star it. It's a dinner cruise that forces you to relax which we found lovely.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Wander799051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a great week, the staff were friendly and helpful when we booked and on the day we picked up the boat. When it broke down after 1 1/2hrs they couldn't do enough to help. Swapped our boat and carried on, they even chucked in a couple of bottles of wine for free. Boat was comfy and had all you needed for a week away. Thanks to Dave and the team for a great week away making dreams come true.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

We hired a day boat for 10 people which we found to have more than enough room for everyone. We were booked in swiftly and found the customer service both with booking in and the instructions on handling the boat first class. Left at 9.15 and headed back for 4.30 enabling us to have a drink at The Hartley Arms in Wheaton Aston and a meal at Norbury Junction on our return. The countryside that surrounds the canal is beautiful and we even saw a kingfisher will be booking again in the future. Thank you everyone concerned for a fabulous day out.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank horns73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

We booked a canal boat holiday from Monday to Friday and my family were really looking forward to a relaxing and unusual trip. The weather was amazing but the barge was far from. What a huge disappointment. The interior of the barge called Planet was very dated with dull pink curtain that kept falling off the runners. One bed didn't have a sheet and the so called double has a single sheet not only that two sheets were stained. The whole barge smelled filthy to the degree that the second day of our 'holiday' we had to go to Lidl and buy cleaning products of which should have been included on the barge but were nowhere in sight. The glasses and crockery were filthy and the kitchen badly equipped. The toilet was disgusting and smelt really bad all time and the bath mat was unusable. If it wasn't for our families sense of humour and positive outlook this trip would have been dreadful. I'd image for a few hours or even a day trip Norbury Wharf would be ok to book but not for an overnight stay or longer. Holiday makers deserve much more than Norbury Wharf seen able to provide. Disappointing trip indeed.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews