We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveler rating
264
161
41
9
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
264
161
41
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taster menu amuse bouche scallops parfait main restaurant good size bar area an overnight stay special occasion large party course meal staff were attentive fine dining excellent food our room was spacious cooked to perfection both mornings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 485 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2019

We visit The Raven Hotel in Much Wenlock on the Sunday the 2nd June 2019 and all we can say is Fabulous what a Gem.
The food was outstanding, the service all i can say is 5stars.
The Portuguese gentleman was on his own and all i can say is that he provided one of the bests services that we ever had in a long time he made us feel at home.
Definitely will become our Sunday evening Restaurant.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HannahJ1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

22 May 2019, 4 of us were on a nostalgic visit to the birthplace of one of us. She had booked a table for lunch @ 13.15 hrs. On arrival, we were greeted in the bar by a charming Portuguese member of staff;. we then entered the dining room, occupied by 2 more tables only The same member of staff took our orders: 3 x ham, egg and chips + 1 x burger.

The 3 meals produced revealed some tasty ham,, but the eggs in each case were flat and dry; the chips were OK.. But the burger was something to behold! It resembled nothing shown on the menu! The burger was only warm; dry and tasteless; it was accompanied by some bits of raw union and some pickle which was equally benign.and unrecognizable.

The whole experience was less than poor; there was clearly only one member of staff dealing with the bar, the restaurant and the clearance of tables; moreover, as the restaurant was hardly under pressure, whomever was acting as Chef was certainly not under pressure,,but clearly needs either some instruction or supervision.

The whole experience was a serious disappointment to all 4, but particularly to the former MW resident; hardly credible given that they knew we were coming. I must emphasize that the Portuguese gentleman did everything to attend to our needs; however, it was unfair to leave him responsible for the whole business; he was clearly not in a position to exercise any form of quality, and the Chef''s lack of attention to detail was unacceptable

Unfortunate, and unnecessary! Shan't be returning!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here with friends for a couple of nights whilst exploring the local area. Very friendly staff, excellent good-sized rooms and fantastic breakfast. Lovely little town with various bits to explore and great location for getting out and about. Would very definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Clairebarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019

a
As usual the Raven was up to the usual high standard. Accomodation and food
excellent, The staff were nso friendly and helpful with a smile on their faces,
Needless to say we will be visiting again,

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmgharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019

My wife and I wanted to spend a few days in Shropshire around Ironbridge and its museums. But where to stay? We settled on the Raven Hotel in the beautiful old village of Much Wenlock, ideally situated to visit the many nearby places of interest. We were checked in very efficiently by a really welcoming receptionist and shown to our large, airy room which proved to be extremely comfortable. The bed was enormous and the relaxing armchairs made it a real home from home. One reason we chose the Raven was it’s culinary reputation and we weren’t disappointed! The menu was extensive and our food beautifully presented with flavour to match. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and made our stay the more enjoyable. Much Wenlock itself is a wonderful old English village with picturesque buildings and interesting individual shops, well worth a visit.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank KEVIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews