We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were given bed breakfast and dinner...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We were given bed breakfast and dinner here as a gift so didn't know what to expect. And what a night!! Wonderful hospitality, delicious food, a great welcome, good service and a lovely room. Nothing we would have changed and we will definately be returning annually from now on. Great!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 436 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Raven hotel for a relaxing weekend. On arrival we received a warm welcome and were shown to our lovely bright room. The town was fantastic for a wander with many shops for browsing and the Abbey was well worth a visit. The history of the Olympics in the town was interesting too.
We had also booked a meal in the Hotel. We started with a drink in the bar area and were taken through to the stunning restaurant area for the meal. As a vegetarian sometimes the options can be limited- not the case here I really enjoyed the meal as did my partner- the chocolate puddings were to die for!!
Greatly enjoyed the stay at the Raven- great personal service, food and accommodation and came away refreshed. Will look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancsstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

rooms and interior were very very shabby even a bit grubby, shower was broken and room was chilly

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotty500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

This was our second visit, having stayed in 2007. Not much had changed except the staff. On the plus side the food was excellent, the staff were friendly and efficient, the room although small had everything one needed. Indeed the shower (a bath/shower combi unit) was excellent and you could see to read in bed, both things which more expensive hotels sometimes fall down on. On the negative side the hotel was looking a bit tired even for one of the traditional type. Outside there were areas of peeling paint and rotten window frames and the garden was neglected. This was a shame because it would not take much to fix and spoiled what was otherwise a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Recently booked a room at The Raven with dinner. The room was nicely furnished but the carpet was stained and there was a large crack in the plaster which was a bit off-putting. Houskeeping could do with looking at as there were 'personal' hairs visible in the bathroom and a blood stain on the floor by the toilet. Also carpets had not been fully vacuumed as there was dust etc in evidence around the edges and more particularly behind one of the chairs in the room. It was a shame, because the dinner was first class and service in the dining room excellent. Staff overall were lovely and very polite, however, I waited some time for my cooked breakfast to be served and had to remind the waitress that I had been waiting some time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choosethebest12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Have just returned from a lovely 1 night stay at the Raven. We recieved a very warm welcome and shown to a lovely bright and airy superior room. As many others have said though the bathroom was a little tired and would benifit from a revamp. The food was excellent and we were not rushed with our meal, which can happen in some hotels. The drinks were very resonably priced for a hotel and the bar area was very comfortable. We will definately return in the future and would like to have stayed for a little longer, though please Raven hotel revamp your bathrooms a little more and this could be a really excellent hotel.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank MildredandGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

With a little bit of money spent on the bathrooms and a bit more attention to detail on the housekeeping side The Raven would be a very good hotel.We had a standard room for two nights on their Summer Special deal which was great value for money.The food was excellent with no evidence of cost cutting because of the deal and the staff are very attentive and friendly.The bedroom was a bit 'tired' and the bathroom needed updating.There was nothing wrong with the main fixtures but the tiling needed re-grouting and the taps were very shabby.I didn't notice the dust on top of the mirror and behind the pedestals but my hawkeyed wife did!Small things I know and not enough to stop us going back but for a relatively small outlay it could be outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
0.2 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
127 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
987 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
23.2 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
690 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 30 Barrow Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Price Range: $140 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raven Hotel is a former 17th century coaching inn where we delight in offering our guests a friendly service, truly tasty food, fine wine, local ale and individually styled, comfortable accommodation. Our 2 star AA Rosette rating for food means that we have a loyal local following as well as playing host to business and leisure guests who return time after time to enjoy modern British cooking. Surrounded by stunning walks and beautiful countryside, Much Wenlock has much to offer visitors, with historic streets, local market towns and the World Heritage site of Ironbridge only 10 minutes away. Visit, stay over, dine, relax and ENJOY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Raven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raven Hotel And Restaurant
Raven Hotel Much Wenlock
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing