We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shropshire Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Shropshire Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2009

We booked two nights at this hotel at the last minute. Our intention was to pick somewhere nice for bed and breakfast only, however, the room rates at the weekend do include both breakfast and dinner for both nights, and therefore we took advantage of this deal and were glad that we did

As previous reviewers have commented, the food is excellent and the morville beef is highly recommended - so tender. They have a decent wine list, which isn't ridiculously priced like some places, and in addition they offer a couple of local draught beers, which for a small bar is very commendable (decent beer as well)

On both nights the restaurant was pretty busy, especially since there was a large family party in the region of about 20 people dining each night, however, the restaurant staff dealt with the volume of people impeccably - it would have been easy for them to devote all of their time to this large party, but instead they provided excellent service to all diners

The hotel is centrally located in this small village and has ample parking. Ironbridge and its many museums are only a few miles away

The staff throughout our stay were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient, which is a refreshing change

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangerines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    147
    34
    7
    8
See reviews for
29
265
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

Decided a bit of walking in the country was needed to burn off the Christmas flab and have happy memories of walking in Shropshire. Found the Raven and booked via the web and got a fantastic rate for DBB.

First impressions, well the town is lovely and the Raven is well suited to the place, found it easily with a car park on the side. It seemed a popular spot for lunch as the restaurant was full - a good sign on a saturday. Friendly staff booked us in and then took our luggage up to our room (can't remember the last time that happened).

The room was 'quaint and quirky' as befits a historic building (don't expect a modern square room) the floor creaked a bit, but it was clean as a new pin, soundproofed, excellent linen on the beds, chairs that you'd actually want to sit on and a spotless bathroom.

We nipped down to the bar for lunch drinks and a sandwich. An open fire burning in the grate gave a warm glow to the room. Again, exemplary service even though the staff were young, and the vittals were first rate. Went and did a bit of shopping.

Now for the best bit. Dinner was superb. Local produce imaginatively cooked, presented impecably and served with care and pride. I think they probably undercharged us as we went for the 4 course option and expected to pay a supplement but it never appeared on the bill. Breakfast next day was equally impressive. I don't usually go for the full monty but the previous night's meal encouraged me to try it. Just perfect, an empathsis on quality not quantity.

Alas, after a trouble free check-out, found that I'd left my walking boots at home and had to settle for a wander around Ironbridge and Blists Hill - Well worth a visit if only to fully realise how far we've come in modern industrial life. All in all a wonderful find and a true credit to the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arthurkeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

We went to the Raven, an old coaching inn, for a weekend for my 60th birthday. It was an excellent stay from start to finish. Our room was in the Forge, a recently refurbished annex which was across the car park from the Hotel. The room was large and well  equipped with a sizeable ensuite bathroom.The Hotel itself is over 300 hundred years old with a very pleasant bar lounge and a restaurant that seats about 30 people. It is a family-run concern with the owner playing a major role at all times. All the staff were very helpful and courteous.We ate dinner both nights in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent! They fully deserve the two AA rosettes that the restaurant has. The menu was not extensive but all the dishes my wife and I had were prepared to the highest standard. Indeed, the slow cooked Morville beef I had on the second night was the tenderest meat I have ever tasted!I can recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys well-cooked food and good service. We hope to return in the future.

  • Liked — the hotel restaurant
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanbiggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

Three Days at the Raven Hotel and I left happy . I was on vacation from the USA and travel frequentlly for business and found the hotel above normal for accomodation , food, style and friendliness. Its a place for mature couples , I dont recommend bringing your children .

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — internet access was difficult
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Deadfreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, KY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2007

Stayed for two nights in Dec 2007. Arrived very early on a Sunday morning after a trans-Atlantic flight. Room was not ready (why would it be at 8 am?) but staff were very courteous and brought me coffee.

Room was fine, quite large by European standards. Comfortable, limited telly, but hey, thats the UK for you!

I found the food to be quite good, and they had a new menu for the holiday season. Not sure why others made comments about limited choices. The canapes offered were unusual, but very good. Cold blueberry soup, venison tart, parsnip and walnut soup were some I tried.

I found the village to be quite charming, carollers were singing in the square.

Definitely will go back when I am in the area.

  • Liked — Meals in the restaurant
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2007

The Raven is an historic coaching inn type hotel in the very pretty and pleasant country town of Much Wenlock. It is a very convenient base for either a walking break or the numerous Ironbridge Museums a few miles away. It is comfortable, and well appointed for a three star establishment. As other reviews confirm, its greatest strength is the food, and the two AA Rosettes are well deserved. The menu is apparently fixed "for the season" so while it is extensive and varied, it might start to look very familiar during a longer stay!

The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and the owner was very much in evidence and is clearly a "hands-on" type which is very reassuring. Our double room was very nice, good sized and tastefully decorated, Quiet too. The bathroom had seen some better days, and on our second night- we were with a party that took up 8 of the rooms- the water ran cold midway through the end of day shower/ soak sessions. It seems this is not a one-off occurrence. Moral would be, don't leave your bath or shower too late in the morning or evening!

The hotel offers DBB inclusive tariff, and special weekend breaks, and though there are a few other eating palces in the small town, I would predict none comes up to the standard of the Raven, so sign up for one of these packages for better value.

Plenty of car parking at the side and round the back, and a short stroll into the town centre. Take in the ruined Abbey if you have time.

Very happy to recommend the Raven for both couples and mature groups like ours too. The staff seem well able to cope, though I need to forgive them some confusion over breakfast orders!

  • Liked — Freindly, caring and attentive staff. Very good food, well presented.
  • Disliked — Not enough hot water at busy times. Breakfast croissants seemd to be microwaved from frozen.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elton_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2007

My wife and I spent a Saturday night at the Raven whilst spending the weekend walking in Shropshire. Much Wenlock is central for the Wrekin, Wenlock Edge and the Long Mynd. The Raven is a well looked after 3 Star hotel with spacious bedrooms. We had a double that also contained a single bed. The bed was firm and comfortable and the room spotless. British hotel showers often represent more of a trickle than a shower but the Raven's are hot and powerful. The bar is pleasant with two real ales available. The food was excellent with a choice of 5 or 6 mains from a set menu. Cost for Saturday night was £165 for double B&B and 3 course dinner. Drinks are somewhat pricey with beer at £3 per pint and a bottle of house wine £13. Service from the friendly and attentive staff was very good. Breakfast was up to the same high standard as dinner. Defintely recommended.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Price of drinks
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheObserverWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
3.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
6.2 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 30 Barrow Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Raven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raven Hotel And Restaurant
Raven Hotel Much Wenlock
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing