We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bank Holiday Bliss!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday Bliss!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is a little gem. The standard of the accomodation is excellent, the room we had was bright and spacious with a very comfortable bed. The dining room was elegant and tranquil, the bar was very comfortable and well stocked.
We had the tasting menu on saturday night and the quality of the food was exceptional. The breakfast the next morning didn't disappoint either.
The staff at the hotel provided efficient, unobtrusive service. They were friendly and welcoming and made our stay very pleasant.
The location was central for many of the local tourist attractions and the village itself is very pretty. I would highly recommend this hotel and the restaurant too.

Room Tip: Rooms in the forge are across the car park from the main hotel, therefore they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    147
    34
    7
    8
See reviews for
30
265
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night break at The Raven.We stayed there a few years ago and love the location.The Hotel has had some refurbishment since we were last there,the bath room in room 6 was very well fitted out and a great improvement.The staff were all very friendly,breakfast excellent,but the 7 course taster menu was disapointing as most of the food that should have benn hot was cool and served on cold plates.We did complain and send back our main courses.We would certainly stay there again and recommend it to friends

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here with friends for one night whilst exploring Ironbridge. It was a lovely historic hotel and our room, room 9 was great. A lot of space, lovely bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits! Would definitely stay here again. We all had the cooked breakfast in the morning which was superb!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I used a livingsocial voucher to stay at the Raven Hotel and was pleased that I had chosen to spend a couple of nights there. The staff were all friendly and curteous from the moment we we greeted on arrival (by Kurt I think) I felt at home. The room was spotlessly clean and spacious (room 24 in the annex). There was no problem logging into the Wifi which is free.
The 7 course taster menu was outstanding. We thought that we might not have sufficient to eat with each course being fairly small but we were wrong. The Livingsocial deal was great value for money and if I got that offer again I would jump at the chance to return.
The hotel has it's own real ale Raven Bitter and if I have one negative comment it is that I didn't particularly enjoy the beer, it wasn't very bitter and was a little cloudy, ah well you can't get perfection in everything.

Room Tip: Ask for room 24, it is the one they feature in their own photographs and may well be the best room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break here (Living Social) what a lovely place. Staff and food absolutely superb. Food so good we ate here the second night although had planned to eat elsewhere.
One note of warning - check your bill. We didn't realise until we had left we were charged for two 3 course meals on the second night when in fact one was only a 2 course meal. (No dessert eaten either night by my wife). Also, addition error on the bill. Do not let this put you off still a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationsNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night on the 17th August and have to say we felt a little underwhelmed . As a few people have said the manner of the checking in staff was a little distracted and we felt a little like we were an inconvenience , when our friend asked about breakfast times the response was a finger pointed at a sign behind the counter .
We had room 14 ; the room was a good size and had a nice comfy bed , the decor was a little dated and not particularly to our taste , little too much chintz .
The bathroom lacked ventilation consequently there was a fair bit of mould on the tiles adjacent to the bath .
One of our towels whilst clean , and laundered smelt musty .
The breakfast was good but service a little disorganised .
All in all not a bad night , we felt it was a little over priced and lacking customer service .

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Priceysixtysixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Quaint hotel, however living social gourmet meal choices actually different from those printed on the menu. No wifi in room and reception staff unhelpful in trying to access it. Credit to the younger restaurant staff, who seemed more approachable. Impolite and unnecessary phone call received to preempt timely check out. Unsure if bedlinen had been changed, as a hair was found. Beware of hidden charges for newspapers ordered, which is not made clear upon arrival.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
3.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
6.2 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 30 Barrow Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Raven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raven Hotel And Restaurant
Raven Hotel Much Wenlock
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing