We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, decent meal, good place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were in Much Wenlock for a sporting event and stayed overnight at the Raven. The staff were very accommodating as our room requirements changed several times. They added a spare bed into our room. Also we booked for dinner for 6 and ended up being 13! Despite it being a relatively busy Saturday evening, they managed to seat us all and dinner was good. Some of our party stayed in a big chain hotel in Telford and joined us for dinner and I know we made the better choice. Our room was a decent size and clean / tidy. Nice and quiet too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wills1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 426 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

We arrived a little early to book in,but from the word go we were treated like royalty by all the staff,
After a friendly chat ,we were taken to our room and to our amazement, room 2, 4 poster bed , full on suite, soft armchairs good quality T.V. tea and coffee etc.
Now the important bit ,the food,,,,,,,,,7 courses ,food to die for,beef that melted in the mouth,fab sweets. breakfast the following day was full English,locally supplied ...got to be one of the most friendly and welcoming hotels and staff we have been to so far 10 out of 10 all round.

Room Tip: With 20 rooms available which includes the old forge part of the hotel ,i would say all rooms would...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lordnorton_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Charming, individual definitely, welcoming as one would hope. The Raven doesn't conform in any corporate way and is pleasingly old fashioned. Our room was quiet and comfortable, if a little tired. That did not spoil a very pleasant overnight stay and I would not hesitate to return. Excellent food, a comprehensive wine list, and really nice staff. Thank heavens these establishments still exist and can make a visit to this delightful part of Shropshire a must.

Room Tip: The staff are pleased to assist and really helpful.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExperiencedBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A log fire welcomed us in reception, as well as the friendly staff! We came on a 'Living Social' voucher because it seemed like a good deal and it was! We were very pleasantly surprised. Cosy, clean, comfortable with excellent food. Pleasant areas for coffee in the bar or conservatory. Our deal included a seven course taster meal which was delicious and beautifully presented. The steak must have been one of the best i've ever had and cooked to perfection. Exactly as requested. The dessert exquisite.
The restaurant was very well attended and not just by the guests of the hotel, so it would seem it has a good reputation. Breakfast was very good with waiter service. Staff friendly and professional. Room was spacious, traditional with a modern bathroom with a high standard of cleanliness. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana2zeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Raven hotel , I can absolutely recommend this place if you are after a nice peaceful break , set in the most beautiful surroundings .The room was very spacious & bright very clean & comfortable . The food in the restaurant was top class , and the service was second to none ! Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely friendly staff . This is definitely a place we will be visiting again .

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just had a weekend at The Raven Hotel, Much Wenlock and what a super time we had. We can completely recommend The Raven Hotel. The accommodation was so comfortable and cosy in our beamed room. We had the seven course meal on Saturday night that was superb (Thank you Martyn). I am vegetarian and they went out of their way to ensure that I was catered for. The staff were very friendly but not intrusive.

Much Wenlock was a delight and we were very pleasantly surprised with the area. We drove to Bridge North and Ludlow both of which were quaint old towns full of character.

Brilliant!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willyNuneaton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just returned from a very pleasant, one night stay at The Raven Hotel. The hotel is situated on a picturesque street in Much Wenlock. The staff were welcoming and helpful - nothing was a problem and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The hotel has an inviting bar in which to sit and relax. Our bar meal was very good too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agj750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
0.1 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
119 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
943 reviews
13.9 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
788 reviews
16.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
903 reviews
11.4 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 30 Barrow Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Price Range: $136 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Raven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raven Hotel And Restaurant
Raven Hotel Much Wenlock
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing