We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring Shropshire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Certificate of Excellence
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Shropshire”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is very well located for Ironbridge and a number of attractions in Shropshire. We arrived Friday afernoon and dug our way out the snow Sunday morning! We were made to feel welcome and had a nice room. The only problem being that we were woken early both nights due to the noise of people battling to get up the snow covered side access. We ate in the hotel Saturday night and its not hard to see why it's highly rated. Very good quality food and a nice dinning room. Service was friendly and not at all pretentious). I would have ranked this hotel 5, but its a bit untidy in parts (threadbear stair carpet) and could do with a bit of redecoration. I'm surprised our shower didn't leak as the sealant needed replacing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Steward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    148
    37
    8
    8
See reviews for
32
271
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Although the weather conspired against us with snow closing the Ironbridge museums and making travel difficult, we found The Raven an excellent place to be marooned in! Our room was lovely, very light and bright and with a very well-appointed en-suite bathroom. We booked a seven-course tasting menu for our first night which was delicious and more than satisfying. The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Gill, who struggled to get to the hotel in hazardous driving conditions to look after us at breakfast, get the lovely open fires going and couldn't do enough for us. Other members of the staff helped dig cars out of snow drifts in the car park and helped negotiate the hill from the road into the car park! We intend visiting Much Wenlock in better weather and would love to stay at The Raven again!

Room Tip: Look at the hotel website and go through photos of the rooms one by one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at The Raven Hotel from 15th to 17th March. Our first impression was one of a welcoming ambience. The greeting from the staff was very friendly and a lovely open fire was burning in the reception area. We were promptly shown to our room which was situated in a building across the car park to the rear called The Forge. We had a lovely large room with TV and sofa. The en-suite bathroom was a good size too. We had a wonderful seven course meal on our first night and the staff were brilliant! Each morning,we were greeted by really friendly staff who provided us with a fantastic full English breakfast and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. We will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmacsmallfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a small hotel set in a Shropshire gem - Much Wenlock. The rooms are well appointed and welcoming. The beds are comfortable and the showers/bathrooms work well and are, in the refurbished rooms, beautiful.
From the moment you open the door to the smell of woodsmoke from the lobby fireplace the friendly staff will do everything they can to make your stay perfect. The bar is warm, the beer is cold and the selection of wines by the glass would put many a larger establishment to shame, it enables you to have the right wine with the right part of the wonderful meal you will have if you choose to dine there. There are two restaurants, one for the bar area wonderful food but, of course, not quite as extensive a choice as that offered in the main restaurant. We have eaten in the Raven every time we have stayed there and have never been disappointed, the service is enthusiastic but not intrusive and the food is generally superb, for anyone who like steak I urge you to try the Morville beef fillet, it was simply the best steak I have ever had!
It would make a good base for exploring Shropshire or the wonderful Ironbridge Gorge but beware you will have to do a lot of walking to burn off those irresistible breakfasts and dinners.

Room Tip: Choose one of the refurbished rooms either in the main hotel or in the 'Old Forge'
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillWalkerCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Checked in here for a two night midweek break. Originally an old inn in the middle of Much Wenlock it has been updated, whilst preserving the character of the old building. Stayed in room 2 on the first floor, well furnished and nicely decorated with a four poster bed and well equipped bathroom. Had dinner in the restaurant on both evenings, first night a 7 course dinner with canapes, starter, fish course, sorbet, main course, dessert followed by coffee and petit fours, all well cooked and nicely presented. On the second evening we had a lighter one course meal from the bar menu which again was first class and very modestly priced. Breakfast on both mornings was waiter service with the usual cereal starters and fruit juice thro' to a wide selection of main courses all nicely cooked to order and well presented. We also called in for a light lunch on day 2 and this again was nice quality food, well cooked, with good presentation served by pleasant, friendly staff. Whilst being a small hotel, standards all round were extremely high, with a high profile "mine host" ensuring everything flowed smoothly and a great source of local information, current and past. With outside single digit temperatures and heavy rain during our stay the numerous open log fires burning in most of the public rooms were very welcome, giving a nice "cosy" feel to the hotel. The hotel has its own car park at the rear of the hotel, so no problems with parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a very enjoyable relaxing bar meal, the staff were attentive but not intrusive. Prices were what you expect for a good quality meal, enjoyed relaxing next to the fire with our coffee. The restaurant is in a good location for anyone visiting the area. The hotel has it's own car park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have just returned from a two night break at this lovely inn. We were warmly welcomed by friendly and efficient staff; our very comfortable bedroom with four poster bed and spacious, well equipped bathroom were a delight and the food was outstanding. What a find in this lovely Shropshire town.

Room Tip: Room 2 has four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaretsupply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
0.1 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
111 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
745 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
869 reviews
11.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
617 reviews
11.4 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 30 Barrow Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Raven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raven Hotel And Restaurant
Raven Hotel Much Wenlock
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing