We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for visiting Ironbridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good base for visiting Ironbridge”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Checked in here for a two night midweek break. Originally an old inn in the middle of Much Wenlock it has been updated, whilst preserving the character of the old building. Stayed in room 2 on the first floor, well furnished and nicely decorated with a four poster bed and well equipped bathroom. Had dinner in the restaurant on both evenings, first night a 7 course dinner with canapes, starter, fish course, sorbet, main course, dessert followed by coffee and petit fours, all well cooked and nicely presented. On the second evening we had a lighter one course meal from the bar menu which again was first class and very modestly priced. Breakfast on both mornings was waiter service with the usual cereal starters and fruit juice thro' to a wide selection of main courses all nicely cooked to order and well presented. We also called in for a light lunch on day 2 and this again was nice quality food, well cooked, with good presentation served by pleasant, friendly staff. Whilst being a small hotel, standards all round were extremely high, with a high profile "mine host" ensuring everything flowed smoothly and a great source of local information, current and past. With outside single digit temperatures and heavy rain during our stay the numerous open log fires burning in most of the public rooms were very welcome, giving a nice "cosy" feel to the hotel. The hotel has its own car park at the rear of the hotel, so no problems with parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    148
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
31
270
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a very enjoyable relaxing bar meal, the staff were attentive but not intrusive. Prices were what you expect for a good quality meal, enjoyed relaxing next to the fire with our coffee. The restaurant is in a good location for anyone visiting the area. The hotel has it's own car park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have just returned from a two night break at this lovely inn. We were warmly welcomed by friendly and efficient staff; our very comfortable bedroom with four poster bed and spacious, well equipped bathroom were a delight and the food was outstanding. What a find in this lovely Shropshire town.

Room Tip: Room 2 has four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaretsupply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Recently stayed at The Raven Hotel and it was the most pleasant stay we have had in a long time. The rooms were beautiful and smart, the bathroom was modern and had a lovely finnish. We had one meal in the restaurant which was perfect and a good portion! Customer service was a delight, really made us feel welcome! overall lovely stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We recently visited The Raven for a 'Special' Birthday Party. We visited prior to the date to make arrangements regarding choices of wine/menu and were provided with samples of the wines to aid our decision. We also asked if we could provide our own table decorations and Birthday Cake, for which there was no charge. It was clear from the outset that The Raven wanted to make this a memorable evening for us.
On the actual evening after drinks in the warm and cosy lounge we were shown to our perfectly laid table and although the restaurant was full there was plenty of room on the long table for everyone in our party, as well as between other patrons. All our food arrived at the same time and it was a pleasure to see all the waiting staff emerge with military precision from the kitchen with the food for our table. It shows that the care, commitment and professionalism extends to the Kitchen as well as to front of house. The food was as always excellent.
All the staff went about their duties in a cheerful and professional manner and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Thanks to The Raven a wonderful evening was had by all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed at the Raven on numerous ocassions and the food and service cant be faulted. Our gripe is with the general look of the hotel which needs improving as it effects its value for money.
The cost of the best room is quite high when you compare with similar hotels as it doesnt have the wow factor.
A general spruce up would make a huge difference

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksonccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Had a one night stay here with friends to celebrate a special birthday.
We arrived early on the Saturday to have the Welshrarebit at lunchtime ,as we had enjoyed this on a previous visit and it met our expectations.
Stayed in the Forge rooms and these are behind the main hotel in a quiet annexe, the rooms are spacious , well fitted out and warm.
The duvets are on the heavy side ( maybe the winter ones had been supplied ) , but during our visit it was exceptionally mild .. So we were roasting!
There is a nice selection of Shropshire Ales , a German lager on draft and a wide choice of spirits in the bar/lounge.
Had a lovely meal in the restaurant on Saturday evening , all of the choices on the small menu were of adequate size and delicious.
We didn't have a huge amount of vegetables served to us , but when asked the waitress brought us more quickly.
We opted for the treacle brandy basket with ice creams and fresh fruit for pudding, this was gorgeous.
Breakfast of full English was reasonable , though we were disappointed not to have fresh orange juice.

There are lots of memorabilia on display regarding the inspiration and founding of the modern Olympic Games that was interesting.

The staff here were friendly , efficient and very welcoming.


Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank skilegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
3.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
11.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
6.2 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 30 Barrow Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Raven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raven Hotel And Restaurant
Raven Hotel Much Wenlock
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing