We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better stay than last time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed two years ago and loved this hotel. Returned last week to find the bedrooms beautifully renovated and lovely new bathrooms in place.
The customer service was once again brilliant and the food as excellent as two years ago.
This is a lovely relaxing hotel that manages to be both very professional and very friendly in its approach to guests.
Would thoroughly recommend it again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 427 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We love this hotel, rooms, personnel and have been coming here for years..for the hotel, village, Priory and peace and quiet. However we were very disappointed with the evening menu. It is billed as a "Sunday supper club" and we have been here previously on their "Sunday special deals" which are good value for money. The menu has a lot of choices but we would say " extremely lazy "..shepherds pie, fish pie, steak sandwich, burger and chips,fish and chips (extremely unpleasant), although the starters looked better. On asking for the A la carte menu...this was a re-vamp of the other menu with the addition of a chicken breast. We have previously eaten here to a superlative standard but this was dreadful.

The breakfast remains absolutely fantastic, cooked by Jenny, who can produce a full English breakfast without a spot of grease. The waitress, poor soul, albeit much younger than me needs pensioning off with some hearing aids.

Room Tip: We like room 4 but it has a lot of windows and in the chillier seasons make sure the heating is on...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank provence1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at the Raven for three nights last week - we were attending a friend's wedding nearby. And where we were going to stay wasn't really that important - we just needed somewhere to sleep. Quite honestly hadn't given it much thought.
But we loved it!!
From the lovely welcome we received from Shirley just after mid-night, to checking out on the Sunday morning it was all perfect!
The website shows every room they have and we chose forge room 3. The forge rooms are in a separate building altogether across the car park. We chose well - it was a lovely big room, light, newly decorated with a big bathroom. We peeked into a few other rooms and they looked lovely too.
The rooms were exceptionally clean and well-equipped. Good hair dryer, nice bedding and toiletries.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Karl served us breakfast each morning and he was a delight.
We had dinner one night which was excellent. A good menu, tasty, well-presented food. And the breakfasts were great too. Lots of choice and very well cooked. I even had a couple of double-yokers!!
All-in-all we were delighted with our stay.
Much Wenlock itself was amazing...again another surprise. Wonderful old town, beautifully preserved. Would recommend a visit.

Room Tip: The Forge rooms are all newly decorated and spacious. And bedroom 15 looked amazing!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HazeyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Only ate in the restaurant & bar areas. Decor is dated, tired (woodchip wallpaper, some wall light trims hanging off) and in some areas not that clean (dried- in stains on lounge chair.... Was probably split liquid... I hope!). The quality of food was average and a little overpriced for what it was. Could do with an overhaul. Some of the staff were very friendly though and it is in a good location in the village.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBarrettFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We got two very spacious rooms at this hotel for our family of 5. The staff was helpful and the owner/manager was there to make sure people had a good time. Food was delicious. Location is excellent. The only suggestion is for the hotel restaurant to include a kids' menu.

Room Tip: booking.com has good deals for this hotel
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KensingtonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I visited Much Wenlock today with eight friends. I had prebooked lunch for us at The Raven as we planned to walk the Olympian Trail and it is en route. We arrived early in order to view the Olympic artefacts in the hotel and we were then shown to our table. From our arrival in the hotel to when we left almost 2 hours later we could not have been better looked after. We had an excellent lunch beautifully served and the whole experience was quite delightful. If you are planning to visit Much Wenlock (and I recommend you do) then The Raven is the place to eat lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We virtually took the place over for our annual family get together for the weekend of the Much Wenlock Olympics. There were about 26 of us for dinner on Saturday night ranging from 94 down to 2 years old. The staff were wonderful, friendly and efficient and coped with all our diverse requirements with smiles and good humour. The food was excellent and the portion size was more than adequate.This is not some big corporate and impersonal hotel where everything is perfect decor wise. The Raven is a family hotel and it has its quirks and imperfections but that just adds to the character and charm of the place. Highly recommended- we'll certainly be going back, possibly as a base for a walking holiday or for our next family reunion.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philiplord13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
0.1 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
119 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
944 reviews
13.9 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
787 reviews
16.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
904 reviews
11.4 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 30 Barrow Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Price Range: $136 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Raven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raven Hotel And Restaurant
Raven Hotel Much Wenlock
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing