We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions.............”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Solihull, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First impressions.............”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

First impressions when arriving are of a tired old pub however once inside you realised this was a true traditional pub hotel. The warm welcome and attention from the staff throughout our stay made for an enjoyable experience The food was simply excellent with a good choice served well. As a group, we discovered that some bedrooms weren't too wonderful and the Mews room was disappointing. Compared with other hotels in the same price range, the accomodation was below par but the food compensated for this.

Room Tip: Avoid the Mews rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batts54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    41
    18
    6
    14
See reviews for
20
61
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We regularly use the mews houses when visiting family in this picture-perfect village. The staff are very friendly and helpful and they are always willing to help us configure the room to accommodate our family (which includes two children and Grandad!)

The breakfast and evening meals in the restaurant are lovely and our daughters always ask for Much Wenlock sausages when they get home. (There is a butcher in the High St who always has a queue outside - yum)

The gardens are ideal for sipping a G&T whilst the children play. All in all a lovely home from home for us when we visit our relatives.

Room Tip: We have not stayed in the pub/hotel itself but the Coach House has a kitchen downstairs with double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 223lisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Booked over the internet, so not sure what to expect, I was not disapointed, friendly staff, clean small rooms but had all the things you would expect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Do not expect to stay in this hotel if you book - the management cannot be trusted. I booked over the overnet in December of last year to stay in this hotel. I have just been phoned to say they have double-booked and have found me alternative accommodation a mile away from the centre of town - not within walking distance. When asked why they could not find alternative accommodation for the other guest, I was told it was not possible, as there were 14 of them!!! Obviously, the hotel saw a chance to make more profit out of a bigger party by kicking us out of our room, even though we booked three months ago, so as to make sure of being in the centre for the poetry festival. I think this is disgraceful.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 467srt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Much Wenlock hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Myself and husband stayed for 2 nights in December. Excellently located and nice building. Some of the interior decor could be upgraded but very comfortable throughout. Really good service the whole time we were in the bar & restaurant in particular the australian barman, a real asset to the hotel. We will be back

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Had dinner twice Valentines,and Annaversary in Aug.We arrived out of the blue having been let down near Telford.For a small hotel our reception was faultless,the cottage suite was so clean and well prepared(house keeper great fun).As before dinner was a delight,a different young waitress both nights,so wonderfully friendly!I guess the more relaxed and fun you put in the greater the return.Just enjoy,Wenlock is pretty cool,just chat around.

J.G & C.G

Room Tip: Go for a cottage,has its own Upstairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1iain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We felt that throughout our whole stay here that we were a nuisance to the staff from the time we arrived we received a cold welcome. The rooms are dated and it took a good 20 mins to get hot water from the bath tap...(wish I had read previous reviews more thoroughly).
Breakfast times are from 8-9 including Sunday, which is rather annoying if you are on a weekend break. We were told that this was because they had to get us out of the way ready for serving lunches. Our bedroom clock was set an hour in advance, probably to try to fool us into getting up in time.
We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAWWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
0.1 mi away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
423 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
934 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
890 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
6.3 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gaskell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gaskell Arms Hotel

Property: The Gaskell Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gaskell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Gaskell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gaskell Arms Hotel Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing