We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B and B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Much Wenlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Quarry Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 8 Much Wenlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We stayed one night in the lovely twin room room, spacious and comfortable, we then stayed 2 nights in the coach house apartment on a B and B basis. This was excellent as it is very well equipped and extremely comfortable. We were able to make a meal in the evening and still have the luxury of a lovely breakfast being prepared for us.
Brockon is ideally situated near Much Wenlock and within easy reach of Bridgenorth, Ludlow and Church Stretton.
We really enjoyed our stay, Tricia and Tony are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekender17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Old Quarry Cottage B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 85 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2010

The most charming accommodation we have stayed in. Anthony and Tricia were wonderful hosts who's attention to detail is second to none.
We looked forward to our breakfasts each morning and the cake on arrival was delicious!
The area is a wonderful base for some brilliant walks and interesting places to visit.
The food at the Feathers pub down the road was excellent.
We shall look forward to returning with our friends and would definately recommend Old Quarry Cottage to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

What a find! Old Quarry Cottage is one of those B&B's you will return to again and
again. We can't think how it could be bettered – the rooms we stayed in were spotless and beautifully furnished, the welcome from Tricia and Anthony warm and friendly.

Breakfast is a joy – everything is sourced locally, Tricia's own jams and marmalades are delicious and her porridge (made on the AGA) deserves a special mention! We have stayed in many B&Bs but Tricia's breakfasts are the tops.

We have also stayed in the adjoining Coach House which can be either self-catering or an extra B&B suite for the Cottage. Again, superbly furnished.

For evening meals, the Feathers (a gastro-pub at the bottom of the lane) is always enjoyable, and the 'early-bird' menu is very good value (as is the fare at the Wenlock Edge Inn, a few minutes away by car).

This is a good base for exploring Shrewsbury, Ludlow, Bridgnorth (Severn Valley Railway), Ironbridge and Much Wenlock.

Thank you, Tricia and Anthony, for yet another delightful stay. Jan and Paul

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJLR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

From booking the moment we enquired about staying at the Old Quarry Cottage, the service we received was outstanding.

On arrival we were greeted with a very warm and friendly welcome from the owners Anthony and Tricia.

The room we stayed in was very spacious, with a king size bed. The decor throughout was warm and welcoming. There was always hot water when we needed it and the ensuite came complete with shampoo, shower gel etc.
The room also had an area to sit and relax, there was tea, coffee, specialist teas and cocoa in the room.

The breakfast is served in a conservatory over looking the garden, there was so much to chose for breakfast and it really sets you for a good day walking.

We were provided with information on the area for walking and there were loads of books and maps to use during our stay.

In summary this is a fantastic place to stay, and is relaxing, homely and really well located for many things in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikerGirlCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Fabulous accommodation with all needs catered for and lots of little thoughtful extras. Extremely comfortable beds and great showers. Breakfast utterly delicious with lots of home made preserves and nothing too much trouble.
Great central location for touring round Shropshire - lots of interesting places on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hebrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed in the "Coach House ' for 2 nights on a B&B basis. This gave us total privacy, but still the chance to sample the amazing breakfast, which was absolutely top quality. Tricia and Anthony were extremely friendly. The Coach house was spotlessly clean, and fully equipped as a self catering apartment.
Brockton is so peaceful, and also has The Feathers, a 5 minute walk from the cottage. We had a delicious meal there the night we arrived. You would be well advised to book a table, as it was very busy.
We will definitely stay at the Old Quarry Cottage when we next come to Shropshire

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puffinsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed at the Old Quarry cottage in Brockton the august bank holiday weekend. What a fantastic place. A real getaway from it all hideaway. Tricia and Anthony made us feel extremely welcome. The room we had was on the ground floor and had a superkinsize bed in which can be split into two twins. There was tea and coffee available in our room, and even hot chocolate, but noneof the normal variety you would find at another hotel. There was a proper teapot and cup and saucers. Excellent. Breakfast each morning was great, there is such a variety both Tricia and Anthony were very accommodating, You can eat as much or as little. Coffee and toast were constantly topped up. You have to try Tricias porridge, it was heavenly. A short walk from the Old Quarry was the feathers inn. The food was excellent, but be warned you will need to book a table.

Would we stay there again, without a moments thought. Excellent value for money, we have stayed in more expensive places and they do not compare to this little hidden Gem.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kh325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
4.7 mi away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
425 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
118 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#1 of 8 in Much Wenlock
323 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Plume of Feathers Bed & Breakfast
8.3 mi away
Bridge View Guest House
Bridge View Guest House
#1 of 9 in Ironbridge
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Quarry Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Quarry Cottage B&B

Address: Brockton, Much Wenlock TF13 6JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Much Wenlock
Price Range: $92 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Quarry Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming B&B en-suite rooms in a lovely stone cottage with a superb adjacent Coach House apartment suite. All within a quiet and relaxing village setting yet within easy reach of Much Wenlock, Ironbridge, Shrewsbury, Church Stretton and Bridgnorth. Award-winning breakfasts using the best local produce cooked on the Aga are served overlooking the prettiest garden, and we now provide delicious in-house suppers on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Quarry Cottage B&B Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing