We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay fantastic food funny bloke who owns it”
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Much Wenlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Realy excellent food. Rooms are amazing. John the owner is friendly funny and helpful. There's loads to do in the local area. Two other great pubs in the village. Really enjoyed our stay here! Met another couple of scouses from the Wirral and had a great breakfast chatting to them in the lovely restaurant which is beautifully decorated. Bar man is really friendly too!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PabloandLisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 335 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

stayed at the Fox recently with a groupon voucher and after reading some reveiws that said they felt uncomfortable because they were using the voucher, yes we had a couple of comments but said it was better to have 60% of something rather than 100% of nothing which john agreed. we chatted to john who seemed ok but he did make a few remarks about my accent which i laughed off but did not take offence at, but be warned john some people might be more sensitive than me.
The rooms were very nice, breakfast lovely and we ate in the restaurant and really enjoyed the food, we had the £12.50 menu which had three courses , drinks were reasonablely priced, yes we would stay here again (with or without the voucher)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ended up staying here because the place we'd originally booked into (Wenlock Edge Inn) had closed down. Luckily we found out before we turned up. There were four of us and we were after 2 rooms. My friend called the owner and he was very accommodating at such late notice, managing to shuffle things around to fit us in. Our rooms were lovely, and the building itself is interesting and nicely decorated. Beds were comfy. We were lucky to find someone so late and it ended up being an excellent stay!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found ourselves travelling through Shropshire quite late at night on Easter Saturday and on impulse asked for a room at the Fox! We were made very welcome and had a lovely room with much appreciated tea making facilities and a great en-suite bathroom. Breakfast was adequate and we enjoyed our unexpected stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked a Groupon stay here in November 2011, and the first available weekend when I called to book a week later was Easter weekend in 2012! We arrived on Saturday afternoon and were greeted by John, the owner, who was friendly and gave us lots of recommendations for our stay.

Our room was room 1 I think, very cute and nicely done, very creaky floorboards though! The bathroom was also lovely. Our stay included dinner in the hotel which was really good and we were given a table tucked away so nice and romantic, and afterwards we had some drinks at the bar.

The next day, Easter Sunday, we got up and went for a lovely walk in Church Stretton nearby, which was where we then got engaged! We went back to the Fox Inn later for champagne to celebrate and John made us a roast dinner later on after most people had eaten. The roast was nice, but we could tell it was just what was left at the end of a Sunday serving. We imagined therefore, that we wouldn't pay full price for it, and were shocked on the Monday when we received our bill and were charged £15 per roast! Although John had seemed helpful on arrival we couldn't help but think our stay might have been made a bit more special had his wife been around. From reviews we had read previously, we were looking forward to her hospitality and felt a bit let down to some extent - of course this didn't spoil our engagement weekend, but having worked in hospitality myself, I know I would have made more of a fuss of a couple had they just got engaged whilst staying in my hotel. John even hinted that we had to leave him a tip when giving us the bill, which we found quite rude!

We will return here as it will always be a special place for us, it's a lovely, unique hotel in a lovely part of the country so would recommend a stay. Just hope that next time we're made to feel a little more special!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Visited in December, so hotel quite quiet with regard to guests but restaurant popular. A three course dinner for around £12.00 was very good value and most enjoyable.

We had a very friendly welcome and were given a large comfortable ensuite room with attractive furnishings and individual touches. Everything you might need was made available, even if it was not in the room it was easily accesible. Lovely old building, wealth of beams, very helpful and friendly staff.

There is some parking to rear of hotel but you may have to park just outside on road if busy. Much Wenlock is a pretty village with many surrounding points of interest. A good place to stay to explore the region. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleJamJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A really nice change from the run-of-the-mill accommodation. The room was very comfortable, with perfectly nice en-suite facilities.
Breakfast was all freshly made from locally-sourced ingredients and was delicious.
John was very helpful and let us use the washing machine - always a joy when you are travelling for a few weeks.
Parking is straightforward and the location is great if you want to walk around the village or drive to the local attractions. Ludlow and Shrewsbury are easy to reach and the countryside is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
0.2 mi away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
436 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
986 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Shakespeare Inn
Shakespeare Inn
#11 of 21 in Telford
208 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Plume of Feathers Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Talbot Inn
The Talbot Inn
#3 of 6 in Much Wenlock
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Address: 46 High Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Much Wenlock
Price Range: $95 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Much Wenlock
Fox Hotel Much Wenlock
The Fox Inn Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing