We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Acton Arms

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Acton Arms
Ranked #3 of 3 Morville B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had drove passed the Acton Arms a few times on our way to Bridgenorth and mentioned we must try the food as we heard excellent feedback from friends and family. We were very impressed with both the service and food. My husband and myself had the " Two for one offer " and we were very pleased with are choices, off the " spoilt for choice menu ". The pub was busy on are arrival which is good to see in the climate we are living in now. Well done Acton Arms keep up the good work its good to see a pub working well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    6
    8
    13
See reviews for
23
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rainford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We met 3 members of the family for lunch Wednesday 19th September. We were all pleased with the overall experience. The food was good as was the service with very little wait.
To the rear of the pub there is a large beer garden and children's play area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLSmithRainford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I was very impressed when i visited the acton. The staff were helpful, polite and curtious. The pub itself is extremely clean and well maintained and the facilities were outstanding. I found the prices to be more then reasonable for both food and drink. The catering itself was top notch with the steak being cooked to perfection. Over all really impressed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Called in by chance, Friday evening 31.08., en route from a family funeral in North wales.
Found a "Two for One Offer" - with an excellent choice of dishes.
Premises were quite busy, but we were served very quickly shown to a table, ordered our meals and these appeared within 10 minutes.
The Restaurant area was very well set out, clean, airy and with quality cutlery, linen napkins. Very helpful and attentive staff, and three "Hand -Pulled Ales" on the Bar.
Congratulations to all the staff and eveery good luck for the future, you deserve it.
We were delighted and will return when passing this way again, and decided to, put an entry
on Trip Advisor.
Imagine my suprise to see the "Poor" reviews - were these at the same premises we visited last night?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Me and my husband tried out the acton arms a couple of weeks ago, we were mesmerised at how professional the staff were. Three young ladies were working on a Sunday lunchtime, each one greeted us and smiled, the blond lady took us to our table and was very informative and polite. The service for food did not take too long at all and the food was delicious! A very satisfying visit indeed. 10/10 all round! well done acton arms!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Me and my mother returned to The Acton Arms again recently for the third time. The two previous times the waiting staff were slow to take orders, left us waiting at the bar and struggling to get the bill & the wait for food ( regardless what you order has been a minimum of 30 min ).
We thought we would give them another chance!! Never again-it was worse....

This time we didnt order hot food after waiting 30 min first visit ( when we only ordered soup ) second time round it was slightly busy and we ordered fish and chips ( 40 min wait )

This visit we ordered sandwiches, thought maybe ten min wait. Try 55 min!!

There were 3 other people who left after waiting 40 min for salads and we complained after 45 min. the waitress was brill- very apologetic and sympathetic and kindly offered us half our money back ( we accepted ) but unfortunately it didnt make the situation acceptable.

Something really needs to change here.. the food comes out far to slow.. Im not chef but i have worked in a kitchen & it is obviously something is very wrong here..

If you are not in a hurry and dont mind waiting ridiculous times for simple food then go here otherwise dont waste your time (literally ).

We wont be returning again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyfrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morville hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I visited the Acton Arms taking our 2 young children, we were planning on just having a couple drinks but our girls were having such a lovely time playing in the secure & well equipped beer garden that we decided to stay longer & eat.
We walked into the restaurant where we were greeted straight away by a very polite young lady. We were seated & asked if we would like a drink, on her return she bought some pictures & crayons for the girls (such a lovely thoughtful touch!!)..
The food was excellent value with it been two for one & was delicious!! We will definitely visit their again soon as we couldn't fault a thing. Thank you Acton Arms, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morville
0.8 mi away
Wood Cottage
Wood Cottage
#1 of 3 in Morville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#17 of 30 in Bridgnorth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#5 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#12 of 55 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Down Inn
The Down Inn
#2 of 30 in Bridgnorth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Acton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Acton Arms

Property: The Acton Arms
Address: Naughton lane, Morville, Bridgnorth WV16 4RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Morville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Morville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Acton Arms Hotel Morville
The Acton Arms Morville, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing