We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food”
Review of The Waterdine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Waterdine
Cheshire Uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were staying in the locality - but not at The Waterdine. The people running the self catering cottage we were staying at said that they had eaten at the Waterdine and that the food had been excellent. We decided to book and we were not disappointed. We had a very warm welcome when we arrived and everything was freshly cooked and tasted delicious. The night we were there a number of local people were also eating and they said they ate there around once per month. We had a three course meal of excellent quality and would make a point of eating there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgucatingtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments we are both happy that you enjoyed your meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We met a friend here for lunch, having been warned that one had to book in advance as they cannot accomodate casual callers. We received a warm welcome and had an excellent meal, with vegetables all from the kitchen garden. Despite being the only ones there service was not very speedy but we were not in a hurry so it didnt bother us. Although it is no longer a 'village' pub it is nice to see old buildings being given a new lease of life as a place to eat in a lovely art of the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GulliverT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterdine, General Manager at The Waterdine, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments, you are right we do not like to rush our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We returned here recently for a short break for our 42nd wedding anniversary. Great food and hospitality, a comfortable bed and quiet surroundings characterises this restaurant-with-rooms. The local walking is also excellent on Offa’s Dyke, wonderful views on the days we were there. Ken and Isabel are still the hosts as they have been for over 12 years. A wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkesTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Thank you so much for you kind words. Hope to see you again perhaps on your 45th ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I had visited many years ago when this was a local pub at the very heart of the community. The restaurant did wonderful food, they did bed and breakfast and you could still just pop into the bar for a drink. I am sure the new owners think they have turned this into a wonderful foodie paradise but to he honest they just seemed to have ruined a tradition that was 100s of years old. When I returned I was told that the locals do not go there any more and it is just people travelling through. A real shame as it was such a nice establishment.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank florence49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your interesting comment especially considering the restaurant still does wonderful food, we still do bed and breakfast and you can still just pop into the bar for a drink. One salient point, we are not the new owners we have been here for 12 years.

With so many village pubs closing due to lack of trade at least we have so far managed to stay open, however the pub of your memories was long gone before we took over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Spent a night at the Waterdine early December and had an excellent welcome, friendly hospitality and a wonderfull meal in the evening. Hope to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ansellini14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for you comment we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay and an even better place to eat. Afternoon tea came with delicious home made scones and dinner was as good as you'd find in a 5* restaurant. The only improvement my husband would like is draught beer in the bar. Good wine list. By the way the portions are generous, how anyone could say they are small is a mystery.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CallyMumbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review, both Isabel and I are please that you enjoyed your visit. We regret that we had to discontinue draught beers in order to control the quality on low turnover. I know that the alternative bottled local ales will not meet the expectations of a real draught ale aficionados.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I don't normally write reviews, but I can' believe that anyone could leave this place hungry or find the food unsatisfactory. The portions are plenty big enough and the food is fabulous. This is an independently owned hotel in an old building and so it's quirky. I'ts not going to be the same as every boring chain hotel you walk into, but therein lies it's charm.
This is a lovely place to stay and I go back there whenever I can.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olivebranch23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfair Waterdine
9.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
770 reviews
4.0 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
195 reviews
16.8 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Brandy House Farm
Brandy House Farm
#1 of 1 in Felindre
131 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Inn
The Horse & Jockey Inn
#5 of 11 in Knighton
72 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Knucklas
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterdine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterdine

Property: The Waterdine
Address: Nr Knighton, Llanfair Waterdine LD7 1TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Llanfair Waterdine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfair Waterdine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterdine 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterdine is a 15th-century Welsh long house originally built as a drovers Inn, and extended 100 years later. It still retains many of its original features leaded windows, slate floors, the original brick floor in the old tap room, open fire places - now with wood burners installed. Each of our bedrooms is individually decorated and furnished, to create a warm and welcoming cottage style atmosphere. Every room has en-suite bathroom or shower room Satellite television tea and coffee making facilities etc. All have views of the surrounding countryside. Ken, who is in charge of the kitchen, is an internationally renowned chef - he was the first chef to open a restaurant in Ludlow in 1994, gaining international recognition and many prestigious awards for his cooking at the Oaks. Our menus, based as they are on home grown (from Isabel’s garden) and local or organic produce, evolve with the seasons as the produce becomes available, seafood is delivered fresh off Cornish day boats. The restaurant is open to non-residents as well as house guests offering lunches and dinners throughout the year - please note bookings only. The Waterdine is set in mature gardens, which during the summer make a wonderful place to sit with your pre-dinner drinks whilst you choose you dinner from our seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Waterdine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing