We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better place to stay”
Review of Mynd House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mynd House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

What can be said about the Mynd House B&b, that other guests have not said. We stayed for two nights in the Hazler suite. This is a large room with double spa bath and a lovely, light and airy sitting room, with fridge, which contained various bottles of wine etc., on a honesty payment basis and a small jug of fresh milk, complimentary water. Tea and coffee making facilities with lots of different herbal teas. We do not drink these so, once we had unpacked, I asked Fran if we could have more "ordinary tea bags", as I call them. No problem, loads of them when we arrived back in after walking into Church Stretton. We ate at the Ragleth Inn which was recommended by Fran, on the two nights, excellent food there. Breakfast at the Mynd is wonderful, any kind of cereal that you may want, fruit juice fresh fruit, and perfect English cooked breakfast with the most amazing sausages, THANKS MAURICE FOR THOSE.
Everywhere in this B&B is spotless, the bed linen is crisp & white and the towels lovely & fluffy.
However many stars Fran & Maurice have been awarded at this establishment they deserve more, I personally would give them 10. We will be back. Go there and then you will understand why every reviewer gives such enthusiastic reviews.Trouble was, I did not want to go home. THANKS FRAN & MAURICE, HOPE THE WEDDING WENT WELL.

Room Tip: Try any room, I am sure you will not be dissapointed.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Mynd House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 154 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Once again Fran and Maurice excelled with their hosting skills, well thought-out rooms, wonderful breakfast with plenty to eat and an extensive choice of local produce. We arrived on a hot, sweltering afternoon and invited to take tea (or coffee) on the terrace, fantastic! Rooms are spotless and have everything you could possibly wish for. We cannot praise Fran and Maurice enough for again making our stay so enjoyable. We revisited our usual Ludlow and area haunts but also a brilliant Antique 'superstore' at Church Stretton which was well worth a look around. Always plenty to see and do in the area and Fran/Maurice have an encyclopaedic knowledge of the area. We can't wait to return and hope to do so in the not too distant future. Stress free and real value for money, spot on. NB: excellent, well thought out, veggie breakfast as well as the 'full English' on offer.

Room Tip: All rooms are furnished to the highest standard, would recommend all.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshweekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Fran and Maurice were fantastic hosts and I very much appreciated the pot of tea and biscuits after a hot day walking and driving. My room was at the back so nice and quiet. Had a bath too which was very welcome!! The room was immaculate as was the rest of the premises. I was directed towards the two nearby pubs for evening meals although I only used the excellent Ragleth Arms. I was generally made to feel very welcome. No question where I will stay if and when I return to this beautiful part of England.
My advice: Go there and stay here!

Room Tip: The back is away from the main road, although that probably makes little difference as Little Strett...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed just 1 night on a cycling tour of Shropshire. A warm & friendly welcome (with tea & biscuits) from Fran & Maurice. They were very helpful with recommendations & advice on local facilities & offered to book a table for our evening meal at the nearby pub. Bedroom & bathroom were immaculate plus an imaginative well stocked mini bar with local ales & ciders (& fresh milk!). Lovely, well cooked breakfast with plenty of options & local produce. Mynd House is a beautiful Edwardian house with perfect hosts, in a lovely quiet village with TWO pub/restaurants only 5 mins walk. Would love to visit Mynd House again - strongly recommended !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

High quality accommodation, splendid hosts, exc. breakfast, perfect location, the two best pubs/pub restaurants in the area within 300 metres. Even the weather was v good. What more could you ask?

James, Angus, John.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Two friends and I stayed overnight at Mynd House as part of a cycle touring holiday of Shropshire. The weather was very wet on the afternoon when we arrived - Maurice & Fran couldn't have been kinder or more accommodating and helpful towards three bedraggled cyclists. Help with drying our gear, the pot of tea provided, and the assistance booking a table at a local pub for our evening meal were all deeply appreciated. The suite was excellent, and I'd recommend the area to anyone interested in walking or cycling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Everything you want in a superior B&B. welcoming even tho we were early. Provided gf food for breakfast. Booked restaurants for dinner. Great room with a view and nice breakfasts. Tidied up as well. Lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philperrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Stretton
1.1 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
245 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
787 reviews
10.5 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
453 reviews
11.0 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Bayston Hill
2.1 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 22 in Church Stretton
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mynd House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mynd House Hotel

Address: Ludlow Road | Nr Church Stretton, Little Stretton SY6 6RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Little Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Stretton
Price Range: $105 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mynd House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mynd House, an award winning Guest House, lies at the foot of the Long Mynd in the unspoilt village of Little Stretton, one mile from Church Stretton.An Edwardian house built at the turn of the century, it provides 8 spacious en-suite bedrooms with stunning views of the surrounding Shropshire hills - we are an ideal location for pleasure or business. We offer a range of Guest House accommodation options ideal for singles, couples, families or groups of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mynd House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing