We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cosy local” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ragleth Inn

Ragleth Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the lovely village of Little Stretton 12 miles south of Shrewsbury, The Ragleth Inn is set in beautiful countryside a quarter of a mile off the A49.Dating back to 1663, the Ragleth Inn offers all you expect from an English Country Inn. The village is just south of Church Stretton, lying snug between the hills on what used to be the main road to Ludlow before it was by-passed. To the east are the wooded slopes of the Ragleth and to the west rises the Long Mynd.The Ragleth boasts one of the best pub gardens in Shropshire, set in approximately half an acre of lovely shrubs and trees. With the Ragleth Hill to one side, and the Longmynd to the other, the surrounding views are spectacular.The garden itself has benches which can seat up to 70 and is ideal for younger children with two large trampolines. Just two minutes walk behind the pub is the Small Batch campsite, nestled at the base of Ashes Hollow.The Ragleth offers two lounges with seating for 40 between them. There is also a separate dining room, which overlooks the garden area, and which seats 30.The new propriaters took over as new owners of The Ragleth Inn in June 2005. They closed the pub straight away to completely renovate it. The first thing was to knock off the plaster and expose all the lovely old brick walls and sand blast the old beams back to the original. Having fitted a new log burner in one of the lounges, The Ragleth now guarantees a warm and friendly welcome.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great service and atmosphere. Particularly enjoyed the duck. Homemade steak and ale pie was good but did not really pass muster as a pie with a small piece of crust on top of a good portion of tender meat. Staff were lovely.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    70
    20
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

After a cold and blustery walk on the Long Myndd we stopped off for a pint and a quick lunch and were most impressed. Steak Sandwich was way above average with chips and a delicious side salad, likewise jacket potato and chilli. Nothing fancy just good food well executed and excellent value. Decent beer selection too. Also a delight to see an owner run business.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Good food well prepared fro a very good range of choice dishes. Excellent atmosphere generated by great locals. Wonderful hosts - Chris and Wendy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Farndalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Top meals and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I must agree with other reviewers here. Although we only live a few miles away, we'd never been to the Ragleth Inn before but, as we were staying at Small Batch Campsite (just up the lane) it was only 5 mins walk away which was ideal.

Fortunately we'd booked as it was Saturday night and the restaurant was full. The staff greeted us when we arrived and promptly showed us to our table. There were four of us, two adults, two kids. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The service was impeccable, both in the bar and in the restaurant. The meals were served in a timely manner and we all agreed was the best tasting food we'd had for a long time. There was a choice of real ales at the bar (if you like that sort of thing) and all drinks were brought to the table (as should be the case) The prices were good too - in line with what we'd expect to pay for what we consider to be a typical pub meal with drinks for a family of four.

Before we booked, we also had a look at the Green Dragon reviews (just down the road). These were also very good and I would imagine there's a bit of healthy competition between the two establishments. We will probably try the Green Dragon at some stage, but I think we made the right choice last night and will definitely be back at the Ragleth Inn in the not-too-distant future.

Well done everyone - a real welcoming and enthusiastic team!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gjlse546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Super pub in lovely area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very nice pub with high quality food. Main menu perhaps a little limited, but there are always specials to choose from. I had delicious pork medallions served on black pudding with a Dijon sauce - wonderful. My partner's salmon with prawns and crayfish equally good. Add to that a good selection of local real ales and amiable staff and you have a smashing pub, highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWalrus235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ragleth Inn also viewed

Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 
Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 
Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 

Been to Ragleth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing