We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful and highly recommended!!”
Review of Caer Urfa

Caer Urfa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caer Urfa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hanwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 18, 2009

My partner and I stayed at this B & B on Friday the 16th October 2009 - Travelling from Manchester . Usual checkin was at 2pm however we had a wedding to attend at Rowton Castle at 2pm. Tom and Dawn were very hospitable and allowed us to check in at 12pm.
We can't fault this place at all. From our initial enquiry right through to the confirmation of booking Tom and Dawn were prompt in replying, very hospitable and very down to earth people whom you can have a decent ocnversation with. We stayed in the second room available at this lovely location, It was smart, luxurious, clean, comfortable and had all the home comforts you could wish for. T.V, DVDS (quite a good selection), Fresh milk for tea and coffees, Hand lotions in the bathrooms, a very comfortable bed....I could go on and on.
We often have little trips away and I would say this is the best B& B we have stayed in so far. It was a wonderful break from home yet it was like home away from home.
The breakfast was delicious and fresh. We had the personal touch and it was wonderful. We had planned to spend our Saturday walking in Shrewsbury and our only negative thoughts were that we hadn't booked this place for our second night.
This is one place we would definately go back to. It is a special and quaint little place with beautiful gardens and surroundings, an immaculate place Tom and Wendy should be proud of.
This B & B is the perfect place for time away, a walking break, fishing, relaxation, Romance........anything. Superb.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheshire29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 46 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2009

We recently stayed at Caer Urfa for just one night – it was actually a 50th birthday present from my colleagues at work! It was either that or a decanter apparently!!

Whilst the B&B doesn’t look anything special from the outside, once inside it really is a pleasant place to stay. The room we had (Poppy) was at the front of the house – the other room overlooking the rear garden was in the process of being extended – it was well fitted out with everything you needed for a short stay. Bathroom was fairly new and v nice. Everything was immaculately clean.

We ventured via taxi into the centre of Shrewsbury for a Saturday night out – drinks before and after at The Armoury and a superb meal in between at The Peach Tree (near the abbey). Taxi cost about £12 return – arrived on time, courteous service, about £12 return which we thought was pretty good value.

Breakfast is served in the dining/kitchen area and you look straight onto the rear garden which really is absolutely lovely. Great breakfast cooked to order by Tom. The hosts are an extremely nice couple and very friendly too.

So all in all we had a really good time – great B&B, good night out, some brilliant places to visit nearby too (Boscobel, Ironbridge, Wroxeter, Attingham Park, Bridgenorth, Much Wenlock) – even had good weather!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PjayP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Stayed four nights to re-visit Shrewsbury after 37 years! Caer Urfa is in a wonderful quiet location, and is very comfortable and clean, with nice touches like DVDs and books in the bedroom, and plenty of hanging and drawer space. Breakfasts are very good, lovely porridge etc., and even the cooked breakfast seems like a healthy option as it's not at all fatty. Tom and Dawn are lovely hosts, friendly without being intrusive. Park and Ride for the town is very convenient, but sadly the last bus back is at about 6 p.m.

We recommend La Dolce Vita in Hills Lane for excellent Italian food - a true family-run restaurant; and The Armoury has a real buzz about it and serves good food at a more modest price. The Three Fishes was a good lunchtime stop with fresh simple food and a good selection of real ales - we were even allowed tasters so we could decide which to have!

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and Caer Urfa was a lovely haven to return to each day.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pazzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed here for just one night - we were going to a wedding at the Rowton Castle about a 10 minute drive away. The room we had was a bit small but clean with all the usual facilities. Breakfast was excellent. The gardens that the room overlooked were really well maintained!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank commalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Just returned from a three night stay. Everything was absolutely perfect. The accommodation was excellent - very comfortable bed, well appointed bedroom and light and airy. The breakfast was second to none, and the whole place was very clean and tidy. The location is excellent for touring the area, and within walking distance of a local bus to Shrewsbury or three minutes in the car to the Park & Ride. Tom gave us good local advice of the most interesting places to visit. Definitely highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WightCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

My partner and I stayed for one night after attending a wedding at Rowton Castle. We were made to feel very welcome indeed and were permitted to check in exceptionally early to prepare for the wedding. The accomodation was very comfortable; the garden and balcony area were sublime made all the more beautiful by the glorious late summer weather.

The breakfasts were ample and delicious and the hosts very friendly. We will return, without a doubt!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank heanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Tom and Dawn made us feel very welcome when we stayed for one night prior to our son's wedding. They were kind and solicitous towards our elderly parents who were there with us, and served a delicious breakfast.

We were only sorry that our stay was so short, and therefore we had no time to enjoy the delights of the terrace looking out onto a truly magnificent garden. We hope to come back some day!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caer Urfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Urfa

Address: 46 Woodlands Avenue, Hanwood, Shrewsbury SY5 8NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Hanwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hanwood
Price Range: $86 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tom & Dawn welcome you to Caer Urfa luxury 4 star bed and breakfast accommodation in the village of Hanwood. The guest house is well placed for the Shrewsbury area. Walking distance to the pub/shops and only 5 minutes to the town centre using the nearby park and ride for a hassle free stay. Easy access to the ground floor rooms from your car with private and secure parking. Quiet and peaceful location. Free Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caer Urfa Hanwood, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing