We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caer Urfa

Caer Urfa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caer Urfa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hanwood B&B and Inns
WALES
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Little Gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2008

MARCH 2008. We have just returned from a four night stay in the peace and tranquility of this lovely B&B. The owners, Dawn &Tom, have achieved that wonderful balance of friendly hospitality and a lovely welcoming enviroment that would suit all guests.

The home cooked breakfasts get a 5 star rating from my husband (and he has tasted many ! ).Breakfast is served overlooking the beautiful ,tranquil garden, that has to be seen to be appreciated.

Caer Urfa is only a few minutes away from the Park & Ride into Shrewsbury, which we found so conveniant. It is also ideally situated for visiting the surrounding areas .

Tom & Dawn also recommended excellent places to have our evening meals, and we were not disapointed.

  • Liked — BEAUTIFUL SETTING
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELALOTWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horrace, owner at Caer Urfa, responded to this review, May 3, 2008
Great news both---just been assessed by the tourist board and we were given 4stars

kind regards

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
29
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tralee , co kerry , eire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

excellent place to stay , no stairs to climb either !!!

garden beautfull, hats understatement !!!

tom & dawn make you feel very welcome indeed ,

i stayed for 4 nights would have stayed longer but booked up ,

cant praise it enough ,

paul woods , tralee ,co kerry , eire .

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank bugs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2006

Fabulous warm and welcoming b&b in a great location. Tom and Dawn, the owners were very welcoming. Fabulous 'enormous' local produce, breakfast.
We only stayed one night as we used it as a stopover on our way to North Wales. But we would stay again, it was lovely and clean and had all the comforts of home and the garden is beautiful with a river at the bottom.
Use the park ' ride facility at Meole Brace to get into central Shrewsbury, not only do the buses run every ten minutes but it is only £1 return on the bus, so cheaper than car parks and less hassle too.

  • Liked — Very clean and friendly
  • Disliked — No lock on the bedroom door
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank getofftoday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2006

I went to Shrewsbury for buisness reasons and stayed here at Caer Urfa, after 2 nights here i didnt want to go home.
It was extremly clean and comfortable.
Tom and Dawn were very welcoming, and i would reccommend to everyone.
The breakfast was lovely and the views, well, you need to go to see for yourself.

It was so good i returned just a few weeks ago so i could treat my boyfriend to a weekend away, needless to say we had a perfect weekend to remember.

This is most defonatly a top B&B to visit.

  • Liked — clean.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2006

We stayed at this wonderful b.b in Hanwood Shewsbury on our recent visit to the U.K.
Caer Urfa, 46,Woodlands Ave Hanwood Shewsbury.

The hosts Dawn and Tom Meeks,where just great,they made us feel at home , and Tom's breakfasts where fantastic they were also very helpful in advising us places to visit. I would advise anyone to stay at this lovely B.B.

While there,we drove to a park and ride,which was great just park your car for free all day , board the bus and pay the driver one pound return into the city centre. GREAT VALUE.

While you are in Shewsbury,go to a pub called the ( wheatsheaf )great food,they use fresh local produce.

Also pay a visit to ( Ironbridge ) to see the first Ironbridge built in the world...lovely little village. some great walks here.

Helpful?
5 Thank IrishGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanwood
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
4.2 mi away
Grove Farm House
Grove Farm House
#1 of 1 in Condover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hambrook House
Hambrook House
#8 of 55 in Shrewsbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Anton Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Caer Urfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Urfa

Property: Caer Urfa
Address: 46 Woodlands Avenue, Hanwood, Shrewsbury SY5 8NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Hanwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hanwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tom & Dawn welcome you to Caer Urfa luxury 4 star bed and breakfast accommodation in the village of Hanwood. The guest house is well placed for the Shrewsbury area. Walking distance to the pub/shops and only 5 minutes to the town centre using the nearby park and ride for a hassle free stay. Easy access to the ground floor rooms from your car with private and secure parking. Quiet and peaceful location. Free Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caer Urfa Hanwood, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing