We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An AMAZING find!!!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Pinstones Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Craven Arms, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jov1611
Lambourn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An AMAZING find!!!!”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I was looking for somewhere to go with my husband and our friends for his birthday... searched on Trip Advisor and found Pinstones Cottage and what a find. Tim the owner was very quick to respond to my many questions :) The property was just what we wanted, somewhere away from the city, somewhere we could just chill out. My friends live in Leeds, we live in Reading and so Pinstones was perfect for meeting half way.

Pinstones cottage is beautiful, set in a valley and what sounded like a river running was actually the sound of the trees - soooo tranquil. The accommodation is of a very high standard, large and spacious, beautifully decorated with everything you need for a stay and Tim had even made us a fruit cake (thanks Tim it was really yummy)...

The highlight for us was the BBQ Hut - well worth booking.. rustic looking but with all the mod cons including an ipod docking station. Nothing nicer than laying next to a fire, listening to music and chatting with your friends - it was sooo relaxing and we didnt have to clean up after ourselves - bonus!!!!

Every single one of us enjoyed our time there and there is nothing that needs changing except the weather but even in February it was lovely to be there, and we will definitely be booking another visit...

Thank you sooo much for making my husbands birthday weekend a memorable one Tim and Sally.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2016
Thanks for a fantastic review - we are delighted to hear that you had such a good time. Thank you too for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy. As for the BBQ hut, we had a family staying recently who booked it 3 times in the week they were here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neet257
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, fabulous location, great for dogs”
Reviewed March 17, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a lovely weekend at Pinstones, Tim, the owner was there to welcome us and show us around. Cottage was extremely spacious, clean and comfortable. Beds were especially comfortable. Lovely setting with lambs nearby and chickens. The communal games room was a great bonus as was availability of fresh eggs. Dogs loved it, lots of walks close by. The homemade fruitcake which greeted us was a real treat. We can highly recommend the tally-Ho for food and hospitality. I am very grateful to Tim for posting a couple of items of clothing to me which my daughter left behind. Excellent communication, we would happily return to Pinstones and plan to do so over the summer.

Date of stay: March 2016
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2016
We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay and that you for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mb S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage in a lovely quiet location”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Pinstones for a weekend relaxing and walking. The cottage was well equipped, warm and welcoming. Tim provided us with all the info we needed, and we certainly made use of the excellent games room with full size snooker table, table tennis and darts – a real nice touch. Although the owners live on site, we had our own garden to the rear, so it still felt private and that we had our own space.

The location is superb, nestled in a quiet valley, with great cycling and walking opportunities direct from the door. The Long Mynd and Clee hills are both nearby for more adventurous walks/rides. Pub was a 10mins walk away although we didn’t use it. All in all a great place to stay and would definitely go back.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy of the cottage and games room
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that fitness will allow you to take full advantage of the cycling opportunities in the future! We also hope you will take the opportunity to use the BBQ cabin should you visit us again.
Tim & Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob M
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed at Pinstones cottage for 2 nights in April 2015. The cottage was spacious, clean and comfortable. The highlight of the stay was the "BBQ house" which is a small wooden house with benches and a built in fire/bbq inside it. It was a great little addition. Would recommend staying here and would stay again myself.

Date of stay: April 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2015
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The BBQ house is getting increasingly popular - we may end up having to limit our own use of it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
repatexpa...
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place we could have found.”
Reviewed February 6, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We needed somewhere to stay while our house purchase in the area took place. We had two large dogs and a cat with us as well as lots of household items. Tim's cottage was comfortable and easy to keep clean, not always easy with the animals but more importantly we felt we could relax at a time of high stress.
Tim was available to advise and help at all times which was something we appreciated greatly. We can thoroughly recommend Pinstones to anyone in our position or families with pets who seek a holiday home with good facilities and a relaxed atmosphere. Thank you Tim, from grateful travellers Lesley and Martin

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing