We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another lovely weekend”
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Our second visit to Hopton House having enjoyed the Paddock room last time. We stayed in the Barn this time and are pleased to say that the exceptional standards set by Karen have been maintained. The Barn is spacious and superbly equipped with everything you would wish in a B&B (and a Five star hotel for that matter!).
Breakfast is superb with real choice, including a "special" each day.
The area is excellent for walking from the door and there are plenty of maps and leaflets for your use.
We enjoyed the White Horse in Clun, the Riverside in Aymestrey (though the choice is limited) and the Rock Tearooms.
If you haven't been, go. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoosemanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2010
Thank you for coming to stay with us again at Hopton House and for taking the time to do another review.I'm glad that you enjoyed the Barn - maybe the Loft Room next time!
Kind Regards
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
136
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Peak
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed at Hopton House to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary and what a place to spend it! It was our third visit and having previously stayed in the Paddock room (which was wonderful, of course) we had the opportunity this time to stay in the new loft room. Words cannot express how much I love this room. Karen has excelled herself again! Don't be fooled by the pictures, it is huge! Your own entrance with stairs taking you to a large open area so you don't feel crammed in at all. The bed is heavenly and the bathroom is fabulous. the addition of a mini fridge is great and the tea and coffee making facilities are second to none! (Actually, we even commented on the small cordless kettle, so much easier than corded ones crashing around the tray!) The loft room has been beautifully put together with a lot of attention to detail. The Velux windows provide stunning views and the whole experience makes us want to stay a lot longer! (children free is such an amazing bonus!)

We actually have never been back to anywhere before, however wonderful, preferring to think there are other equally wonderful places out there to be seen but in this case... karen same time next year?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbiStevePhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of Hopton House again! I'm really glad you enjoyed the Loft Room and that it proved a great place for your anniversary.
We've just had some professional photos taken so hopefully they will show the rooms off a bit better than the ones we have currently.
Thanks again and we do hope you'll come back very soon.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed in the Orchard Room which is very cosy and having seen the photo's of the paddock room a very different style. A lot of the reviews on the website are for the Paddock room which look lot more lush and less chintz. Unfortunately the barn rooms were booked!

The breakfasts were great and there was a lot of attention to detail including a little torch in the room. We travelled to Ludlow on train and Karen provided great travel details.

Our room was small and at the front of the house so it didn't have the views shown on the webpage and you can hear the cars from the road in the evening however, in the evening we sat downstairs and enjoyed the room from the downstairs floor to ceiling windows - lovely!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellerB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of Hopton House. I'm glad you enjoyed the views from the guest lounge.

All our rooms have their own page on the website with several large photos that, we believe, are an accurate reflection of the size & style of each room. A photograph of each room is also on the online booking system .

We have 3 large rooms & the Orchard Room. As stated on our website - The Orchard Room isn't as large as the other rooms, which is why it's a lower price, but it has all the same luxuries and comforts.

We usually only let 3 rooms out at a time so guests should always have a choice of one of the larger rooms.

It’s unfortunate you didn’t reserve the new loft room, which was available at the time you booked, as you may have enjoyed it more. We hope, if you come and stay again, you will enjoy one of our larger rooms.

I'm sorry to hear you were disturbed by the traffic noise. It a small country B road and during the night there are usually very few cars passing. Possibly because you were staying with us on the very busy Ludlow Food Festival weekend there was more traffic than normal.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Right from arrival we were very well looked after by Karen, the owner, who was really personable and friendly. We stayed in the Paddock room with amazing views both from its own balcony and a huge window. This was our first country getaway holiday and it was perfect. Hopton House is beautiful and every small detail was catered for, including a huge double ended bath which came in use after a 10 mile country treck on our second day! We slept like babies in the huge bed and woke to the countryside views from our room. This was followed by a wonderful home cooked breakfast of porridge with cream and whisky and a full english breakfast with fresh eggs from the 20 chickens which roamed freely around the gardens. The pictures on the website truly reflect the lovely decor of the rooms. We cant wait to go back and only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattbuttons86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you had a nice t ime with us. Hopefully you'll be adding whisky to your porridge every morning from now on - the perfect way to start your day :0)
We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed in the newly-opened Loft Room and it was gorgeous. The attention to detail is superb; the decor is stylish and comfortable, with loads of space. The quality of the complementary toiletries, the mini-fridge with drinks and the daily top-up of the home-made cake tin really made us feel like privileged guests. Karen's Shrophire breakfasts are delicious and set you up for the day, the welcome is warm and friendly, and there are acres of lovely countryside to explore. This is a real gem.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizandherchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We spent 4 nights at Hopton House (we stayed in the ground floor barn room) and it has to rate as one of the best B@B's in the Country. Excellent location, friendly, warm welcome and top quality accomodation. Karen is a very good cook and the breakfasts were consistently delicious, well prepared and cooked to perfection. Karen has clearly put herself in the position of a guest and thought about all the 'little things' that make your stay really special and very comfortable. That includes the freshly made cake left in the room each day to welcome you back from your day out; the illuminated mirror in the room; the extensive information sent to us about the area when we booked and the quality toiletries provided. Local products are used so that you get a real taste of the area. One reservation we would have about staying in the ground floor barn room again would be that they were just completing the first floor barn room when we left and you could hear quite a bit of "floorboard noise" when people were moving about upstairs. All in all it was the perfect base for us to explore the area and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank langpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to do the review with your kind comments.
I'm sorry that you experienced a problem with noise from the new B&B room.
We had invested in some very expensive soundproofing but unfortunately this has not prevented the squeaking from the floor above.
It's very important to us that every aspect of the guests stay is perfect so we have closed the new room to new bookings until we can get this sorted. We are calling in our architect and builder to identify a solution and have booked them in for a week at the beginning of July to get this resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed in the Paddock Room which is a beautiful light and airy room with fantastic views from the veranda. It has a large bathroom with double ended bath and a separate huge shower. Hopton House is in a very peaceful location and provided us with the perfect place to relax for a couple of nights. Karens attention to detail is obvious and the chocolate brownies and fruit cake (both homemade) are gorgeous. We feel that Hopton House thoroughly deserves its 5 * rating and look forward to returning again soon. Thank you again Karen for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notts_Slatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craven Arms
7.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
446 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
768 reviews
8.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
8.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
20.7 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Bayston Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopton House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hopton Heath, Craven Arms SY7 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly luxury B&B nestled in the Shropshire Hills near Ludlow. With sumptuous breakfasts; the full Shropshire with Ludlow sausage of course but also an extensive special menu with lots of vegetarian options. Enjoy watching the birds and our stunning views from your room with a cup of tea or fresh brewed coffee & a piece of homemade cake. This is the ideal getaway from it all relaxing B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hopton House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopton House b&b
Hopton House Hotel Craven Arms
Hopton House Bed And Breakfast Craven Arms, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing