We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B and B in an idyllic setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect B and B in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay in the Barn room at Hopton House, very peaceful and restorative. The Barn room is beautiful and spacious with every comfort provided, great attention to detail and lots of lovely little extras like luxury toiletries and lovely home made cake and shortbread. Also it was good to have fresh milk in the silent fridge. Breakfasts were delicious with lots of choice. As we were so lucky with the weather we enjoyed having the deck outside our room for sitting out in the sunshine when we returned from a day out. We had high hopes of our stay based on Karen's own website and the reviews on this site and it exceeded our expectations. We also loved Shropshire and would love to stay at Hopton House again. Thank you Karen for a lovely break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie07Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time out to write review for us.
I'm very pleased to hear that we met your high expectations and that you enjoyed the cake and shortbread. Hopefully we'll see you again soon to try it again.
All the best
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
136
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Decided on a whim to take a cheeky 2 night break from work. So pleased I picked Hopton House it was just perfect. The setting is a delight, amazing views, beautiful house, gardens & an array of strutting chickens to provide entertainment.

Our room was very spacious with everything you could want & a little bit more. My wheat free diet fell at the sight of the lemon drizzle cake & jar of homemade shortbread.

Bathroom had a great shower with plenty of hot water & no need to pack a wash bag Karen's filled it with everything you might possibly need.

The bed was huge, super comfy, quite possibly the best night's sleep I've had for ages.

Breakfasts were imaginative - aga roast tomatoes with halloumi, herby mushrooms with poached eggs as well as perfect looking traditional options. My only regret was that we didn't stay long enough to eat everything on the menu.

Room Tip: Our room had a deck out front with table & chairs. perfect little sun trap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BramblingTweets, Manager at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
James
Thank you for your wonderful review.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and to meet you all at last.
I do hope we can tempt you back for another visit at some point........
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Definitely worth a visit and stay more than one night if you can. In the heart of Shropshire, this place meets all expectations, from the luxurious room and en-suite, to the home-made cake and biscuits to the best breakfast I've ever had. Thanks Karen for an amazing stay. I've wanted to book for ages and I'm so glad I got the chance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAR67Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BramblingTweets, Manager at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I'm really glad you finally got to visit us and that you enjoyed the stay and the goodies in your room.
I'm sorry we couldn't accommodate you for longer but hopefully we'll see you again for a longer stay.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in the paddock room in July 2013 and I have to say it was the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in, and we've stayed in a few! The views from the room over the Shropshire hills are stunning and to top it off you get the most delicious home made cake in your room. The room has a sunny balcony and a pair of nice comfy chairs from which to look out on those views with a cold drink from the silent fridge. Karen provides the most imaginative breakfast choices for us veggies and along with the home made bread, marmalade, jams, muffins she makes it all look so easy and nothing is too much trouble. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kryten001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BramblingTweets, Manager at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Many thanks for your review.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and so glad the weather was kind to you.
Thank you for your kind feedback on the breakfasts.
Hope to see you again.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My Husband and I spent 2 glorious nights 24th/26th May13 at Hopton House. We stayed in the Paddock Room, it's beautiful ! The bed is huge,and so comfortable, it was a struggle to drag myself out of it .!
Karen really does know how to look after her guests. Everything was there for you, she thinks of everything.
Only one draw back, Gary will expect me to replicate Karen's eggs benedict.!!
Fantastic food, beautiful room, gorgeous location, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BramblingTweets, Manager at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Michelle
Thank you for your lovely review.
I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that Gary isn't still expecting eggs benedict for breakfast every morning :0)
Hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in the Barn room for 2 nights. This was a present from our daughter .Well what a treat it was; a large beautifully appointed room ,with a large wet room . The bed was huge and so comfy it was difficult to get up in time for breakfast! So glad that we made it to breakfast as it was delicious . A big choice of cooked food on the Menu. My husband chose the full English which was presented well, and he says it tasted as good as it looked . He loved the cooked tomatoes ,which Karen said were cooked with basil ,olive oil, seasalt and black pepper over. I had blueberry pancakes with Maple syrup, very yummy !! Karen left lots of treats in the room ,fresh fruit ,shortbread ,that melted in the mouth ,1 pint milk ,still and sparkling water in the fridge, lemon drizzle cake ,the best that we have ever tasted ,along with plenty of fuit teas, coffees,tea AND red bush tea ,which is the only tea I can drink . This is the first B&B that has supplied this without being asked . Well done Karen and you deserve a 10 out of 10 for your hard work . It was a pleasure to meet you and enjoy the peaceful surroundings of your house and garden .Thank you for everything .
Hopton House is a MUST for travellers, an experience not to be missed .

Room Tip: the Barn room is set up for easy access for wheel chair users also the bathroom with grab handles an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Margaret
Thank you for taking the time to do a review.
It was a pleasure to welcome you both and I'm very glad that it was a successful present.
I'm glad that the cows kept you entertained as well - I shall have to give them a tip :0)
The fresh fruit was part of the in room platter you ordered but we are always happy to put it in a room on request.
It would be great to see you both again.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed two nights at this lovely B and B in the Barn Room. There is really nothing I can add to most of the previous reviewers, everything is true. The room is spacious and comfy, we particularly appreciated coming back to sit on the decking and read with a glass of wine before going out for the evening. The breakfasts were absolutely scrumptious; I am a veggie and the choice and taste were brilliant, I really enjoyed the herby mushrooms and home made veggie sausages on the second day. It makes such a change to get something special and not just the default scrambled eggs.

We own our own B and B and this does make us very fussy. We have high standards and sadly we find these are not always met elsewhere. Hopton House and Karen more than exceeded our expectations and we would heartily recommend it. We also thought Shropshire was a beautiful county well worth exploring.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilactreelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you Pauline for your review.
It's always a bit nerve wracking to have another B&B owner come & stay so I'm relieved you found us up to scratch.
We appreciate that not everyone wants the full English so try & offer as much choice as possible to everyone who wants ( or needs ) to eat something a bit different.
Hope to see you again soon
Karen x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craven Arms
8.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
770 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
444 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
890 reviews
8.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
8.3 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopton House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hopton Heath, Craven Arms SY7 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly luxury B&B nestled in the Shropshire Hills near Ludlow. With sumptuous breakfasts; the full Shropshire with Ludlow sausage of course but also an extensive special menu with lots of vegetarian options. Enjoy watching the birds and our stunning views from your room with a cup of tea or fresh brewed coffee & a piece of homemade cake. This is the ideal getaway from it all relaxing B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hopton House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopton House b&b
Hopton House Hotel Craven Arms
Hopton House Bed And Breakfast Craven Arms, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing