We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just come back from a wonderful two night break at Hopton House to celebrate my wife's birthday and I can honestly say it fulfilled all my (high) expectations and more.

From the silent fridge in the bedroom, to the lemon drizzle cake, the little things added up to a really rather wonderful whole.

Room Tip: The Barn was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Hi Stewart
Thank you for your review. I'm very glad that we exceeded expectations and that we contributed to your wife's birthday treat :)
There's always a lemon drizzle cake waiting for you here......
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 166 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hopton House for 2 nights,it was our first visit.We stayed in the Granary Room on the first floor and it was a great choice,large comfy bed,huge bathroom and fantastic views.The host Karen prepares a sumptious breakfast,and has certainly got an eye for detail which is evident from the standard of the whole accomodation.
Perhaps the ultimate quality is the location,very rural but only 20 mins from the delights of Ludlow,and a choice of good pubs with food nearby,and the option of exploring further afield on the Heart of Wales Line from Hopton Station a 5 minwalk away.This is THE place to totally unwind and recharge the batteries,wecant wait to return !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to do a review - we do appreciate it.
We are lucky to be able to enjoy the perks of rural living whilst having lots to do locally as well. The Heart of Wales Line has 1 small carriage and only goes in each direction 4 times a day but is lovely little train. We hope we will welcome you back soon to take a trip on it!
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our second visit to Hopton House, staying 3 nights in the Barn room. Karen makes you feel so welcome, the rooms are spotless, with everything you could ever need for a relaxing stay (homemade cake and biscuits as well!!!)
The breakfasts are amazing, with a huge choice, including Eggs Benedict. Which I adore! Breakfast is cooked to perfection, delicious and very relaxed. Watching the chickens and birds through the window, with lots of tea, coffee, croissants to over indulge on, what could be better!

We found plenty to do in the area; Karen gives lots of information in her welcome pack. We spent a lovely day on the Severn Valley Railway Steam train. Which was great, stopping off at different villages, visiting the engine house and passing through stunning countryside?

I would highly recommend a stay at Hopton House, You’ll love it!

Room Tip: Karen accepts dogs in the Barn room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Hi Lindsey
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review.
It was great to welcome you back to the B&B and I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay .
Hopefully we'll be seeing you both again in the future.
All the best
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My partner and I originally stayed at Hopton House a couple of years ago on our quest to try out as many B&Bs in the lovely Shropshire countryside as we could find. Hopton House is definitely one we find ourselves repeatedly drawn back to. On one of our stays, Karen told me about the course that she runs on how to plan, set up and run a successful B&B / Self-catering business and I have just done the course this weekend. The two days were extremely professional and well thought out with excellent documentation for us to take away and refer to. Karen is an amusing and pragmatic teacher and attendees came away with clear plans and some new contacts - not to mention full tummies after the delicious lunch and endless supply of home made cake and biscuits. I found the experience inspiring and extremely useful.
In addition, my partner and I stayed in the Paddock Room on the Saturday night and sampled yet again Karen's super-soft and comfy beds, the delicious home made cakes and shortbread and luxuriated in an experience where no detail is overlooked and no little extra forgotten.

Thank you Karen.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnEgging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dawn & Bob
It was great to welcome you back to the B&B and also onto the course.
I hope you found it useful and thank YOU for contributions to the day.
Thank you also for this review and your very kind words about the B&B.
I hope we will welcome you back again in the not too distant future and good luck with your self catering business venture - I'm sure you'll be very good at it.
Take care
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was our final stop on a Uk road trip and we absolutely loved it. We had the Barn room, with our dog and it was spacious, clean and well equipped. Numerous extras made such a difference; the cake, the shortbread, the fridge and lots of information.

Karen was very helpful and welcoming and the chickens in the garden were great fun. We ate at two vastly contrasting places; the Lion at Leintwardine, good quality and a lovely spot and the White Horse at Clun, a good, busy, traditional pub with wholesome food. None was as good as the breakfast though; the smoothies and eggs benedict were superb and I loved the porridge too!

We will have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterandbrenda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Peter and Brenda
Thank you for writing us such a great review.
It was a pleasure to welcome the 3 of you.
I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfasts and the porridge ( I really think our local organic porridge oats make all the difference ! ) and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at Hopton House. There were four of us, plus dog, so we booked the Barn Room and the Granary Room above. It was absolutely perfect. We had stayed before in the Paddock Room, and feel very lucky to have had the opportunity to view (if not stay in) all three rooms. It is difficult to add anything to the already wonderful reviews that feature on TripAdvisor, because they say it all. Karen’s attention to detail is second to none, and her breakfast menu is so wonderful that we started to plan what we were having on day two before we’d even eaten on day one! The bedrooms and bathrooms are stylish, and immaculate. Nothing is overlooked. Even the views from the windows are a sight to behold. Rolling hills, flower filled meadow, and entertaining chickens running through the spacious garden (with endless places to sit and enjoy even more stunning views!). Don’t worry if you think it might be raining – just pack a large umbrella (or don’t - because even that is provided if needed), and a waterproof coat. Rain was forecast before our weekend (3-5 August), but we saw only a few light(ish) showers, and enjoyed eating outside on the umbrella covered terrace at The Lion at Leintwardine (great food) on Friday evening, and basked in hot sun on the decked area of The Jolly Frog for a late Saturday lunch, where we ate some of the best fish and seafood we’ve ever eaten (we do love our food, and plan our holidays/breaks around it – hence coming back to Hopton House!). We sat on the deck of the Barn Room on Saturday night with a bottle of wine and watched the hills around us turn pink from the sunset and started making arrangements for when we could come back. On Sunday morning we called into the Ludlow Food Centre on our way home and bought picnic food and enjoyed another day in Shropshire before returning home. A perfect weekend, and thank you again Karen for providing such a peaceful and friendly retreat (with the added bonus of wonderful food, best cake you'll ever eat, and homemade shortbread).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisNeilW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you both very much for kind review and for choosing to come back to Hopton House and bringing your friends with you!
I'm glad you were able to dodge the showers.
We're looking forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This B&B really sets the standard - and I like to think I have high standards! I don't think there is anything Karen hasn't carefully thought about to create a fantastic guest experience. We stayed 2 nights in the granary room which was wonderful and very relaxing. It seemed to combine the comfort of a small hotel with the intimacy of a B&B, was decorated to a high spec and spotlessly clean. It was all great - the lemon drizzle cake and shortbread on arrival, beautiful towels and linen, a great bath for two (with bubble bath and candles provided), real decaf fairtrade coffee (and a selction of other beverages), lovely relaxing setting (obviously the sunshine was a huge bonus) and just when you think it can't get any better there is Karen's cooking! We are both vegetarian and were treated to a vege menu with more unusual options such as haloumi and tomatoes on brioche or herby mushrooms with poached egg (from the chickens that roam the gardens) alongside full breakfast choices for veges (meat eaters also looked well catered for!). The reviews and the ratings really do say it all. A lot of effort has clearly been put into creating such a fabulous B&B. I am already recommending it to my friends and would certainly book again if I was visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Su P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you so much for such a lovely review.
We really so appreciate you taking the time to do that.
I'm also glad to hear you were happy with your vegetarian breakfast. We try to ensure that people with vegetarian and special diets have as many choices as the meat eaters.
We hope to see you again here soon.
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Craven Arms hotels
4.6 mi away
Stokesay Inn
Stokesay Inn
#3 of 10 in Craven Arms
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashlea Pools Country Park
Ashlea Pools Country Park
#1 of 6 in Craven Arms
542 reviews
6.2 mi away
Greenway Touring & Glamping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopton House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Hopton Heath, Craven Arms SY7 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Price Range: $172 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly luxury B&B nestled in the Shropshire Hills near Ludlow. With sumptuous breakfasts; the full Shropshire with Ludlow sausage of course but also an extensive special menu with lots of vegetarian options. Enjoy watching the birds and our stunning views from your room with a cup of tea or fresh brewed coffee & a piece of homemade cake. This is the ideal getaway from it all relaxing B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hopton House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopton House b&b
Hopton House Hotel Craven Arms
Hopton House Bed And Breakfast Craven Arms, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing