We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfu.lly relaxing and a warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
Oxshott, Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderfu.lly relaxing and a warm welcome”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at Hopton House when visitng Shropshire for a family event. The Loft Room had excellent 5 star faciltiies and comfort - very relaxing and welcoming from our arrival to departure. Locally sourced produce for breakfast, including the delightful eggs, was truely delicious. The bed was large and comfortable and, as mentioned by someone else, the fridge in the room was silent! A perfect stay in every sense. Thank you.

Room Tip: Loft room was charming with exposed beams and just full of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronacruickshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Rona
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope that next time you're visiting your family you choose to stay with us again.
All the best
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
134
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

It was the place I chose to gather confidence with my ability to cope in the outer world. The breakfast was a reward after a long hard sleep in the Barn room. It is wheelchair accessible and dog friendly so you could bring your trusted pet. There is every detail carefully thought of. We felt cosseted. This is a place for a genuine good break with good food and great views!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank standup4MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you Laurence for your review.
It's always a pleasure to welcome you here and we're so pleased that we've played a small part in kick starting your holidaying again.
We hope to see you again very soon
With best wishes
Karen x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Hopton House is a luxurious experience, the rooms are excellently equipped and beautifully decorated. The high attention to detail with selection of tea, fresh coffee and FRESH milk in a silent fridge is lovely to accompany the homemade cake and shortbread. All the facilities you may require are available in the room, iron and board, hair dryer etc and great smelling toiletries. The quality oozes from the room which puts a smile on your face even if it rains!
Breakfast is a delightful experience with a great selection of home cooked food and a view to remember of rolling countryside and lovely free range chickens and wild birds going about their day.
I stayed with Karen while on her bed and breakfast academy course which is enlightening and informative. In all a great weekend from the lovely accomodation and well run course.
I would thoroughly recommend Hopton House for a quiet relaxing, luxurious stay.
Many thanks to Karen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hello Mandy
Thank you for your lovely review.
I'm glad you enjoyed the B&B and found the course useful.
I'm looking forward to hearing how your own plans progress.
Take Care
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisse
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I, and our 3 dogs, stayed in the Barn Room for 3 nights in the beginning of June. All the things said in the reviews is true. Bed is big and comfortable, room is great with the cows in the window and breakfast is great.
In the evening, the silence is absolutely fantastic and in the morning, while having breakfast, you can enjoy all the lovely birds in the garden and of course the chickens.

Karen, thanks for the lovely weekend.

Ron & Marieke.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonHoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you Ron & Marieke for taking the time to write such a nice review.
We enjoyed having you and the three dogs to stay - our first European dogs at the B&B!
I'm glad you had a good time in Shropshire and I hope we will get to see you again at some point.
All the best
Karen, Mitsi & Murphy :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Sometimes it is a mistake to return somewhere when the first visit has been perfection. Not at Hopton House! Our second stay in the Barn Room was equally as wonderful as the first and the welcome and service provided by Karen, just as impressive as before. Everything about Hopton House is immaculate, with immense thought put into every detail.
The Barn Room is spacious, bright and the epitome of comfort - even more so now, with the addition of a two seater sofa. The home-made cakes, left alongside the vast assortment of teas and coffees, are so delicious we actually brought the remainder of the lemon drizzle cake home! The large, tasteful bathroom is a pleasure to bathe in and immaculately clean.
The breakfasts are fantastic. There is so much choice that a weekend stay just isn't long enough to savour it all! My partner sampled the porridge with whisky on one of the mornings and, because the amount of whisky was so generous, had to leave some of it because he was driving! We both tried one of the smoothies and they were absolutely delicious. I started both my breakfasts of with a slice of cake on the first morning and a fresh muffin on the second. Yum! We both had the locally sourced cooked breakfast and, on one of the mornings, finished off with fresh, crusty bread, toasted and topped with home-made jam/marmalade. My partner had crumpets. There were lots of other choices too like scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or haddock topped with poached egg. Everything is expertly cooked and served in the dining area at separate tables, overlooking the garden and countryside beyond. The garden itself is an absolute haven for wild-life. We have never seen so many different varieties of birds in one place and the lovely hens which provide the breakfast eggs have free-run of the garden.
You can tell just by looking at the website and Karen's blog how much thought and hard work goes into making Hopton House such a special place. Everything has been thought of. Thankyou so much, Karen, for such a wonderful weekend. We shall definitely be back and hopefully for a week next time.

Room Tip: All the rooms look amazing but, as we have only stayed in the Barn Room, I can only comment properly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Relaxed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you both for taking the time to write such another lovely review.
It was a pleasure to welcome you back here to Hopton House and I hope that you can manage a longer stay next time.
Oh yes and I'm glad you enjoyed the banana cake and muffins!
All the very best
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at Hopton House 12th-13th April to celebrate my wife's birthday and getaway from the humdrum of everyday life for a few days. We stayed in the Loft room which had everything to hand we could need including some sepcial touches like a tasty lemon drizzle cake - perfect with a cup of tea after a good walk! The views from the breakfast room are wonderful and the food excellent as there is plenty to enjoy on the menu. We loved watching the chickens and birds in the garden.

We would recommend visiting Much Wenlock and Church Stretton both of which are scenic towns with plenty to interest you and some nice pubs. The best restaurant we visited in Ludlow was Koo (Japanese) - great food, great value and a warm welcome and service from Mari the owner and host throughout our meal.

Thank you Karen for a very pleasant, peaceful and enjoyable stay at Hopton House which we hope to visit again.
Alan & Sue

Room Tip: The Loft room is the upper floor room in the annex and has scenic views from the dorma windows in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adorling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you Alan & Sue for leaving a review.
It was great to have you stay & to chat about our mutual employer !
Thank you for your recommendation of the Japanese restaurant Koo In Ludlow.
It's been a few years since we've been so we better book to go again.
There is also a new restaurant, The Mailroom, which has just opened in Ludlow so an increasing amount of choice of places to eat locally.
Thanks again
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed in the barn room which has a huge comfy bed and a fantastic bathroom with a double bath. Karen even baked us a cake and biscuits which she left in the room for us. Little extras like this make Hopton House a very special place to stay. The breakfasts were excellent... homemade bread, muffins and hotcross buns and of course a full English! We didn't get to see much of the local area because we were in the classroom with Karen during the day on her how to run a b&b course. The views out of the window of the fields, hills and chickens were wonderful though. We'll be very happy if we can make our b&b half as good as Hopton House.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Den_Gina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you both for such a lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed the room & the food, even if you didn't get to explore so much of the area because of the course.
I'm sure your B&B will be just as nice & I look forward to coming to visit!
All the very best of luck with your future ventures
Take care
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craven Arms
8.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
744 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
8.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
428 reviews
9.3 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
4.7 mi away
Stokesay Inn
Stokesay Inn
#3 of 9 in Craven Arms
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopton House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hopton Heath, Craven Arms SY7 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly luxury B&B nestled in the Shropshire Hills near Ludlow. With sumptuous breakfasts; the full Shropshire with Ludlow sausage of course but also an extensive special menu with lots of vegetarian options. Enjoy watching the birds and our stunning views from your room with a cup of tea or fresh brewed coffee & a piece of homemade cake. This is the ideal getaway from it all relaxing B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hopton House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopton House b&b
Hopton House Hotel Craven Arms
Hopton House Bed And Breakfast Craven Arms, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing