We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The living accommodation in the Dairy is not...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Craven Arms, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johnpaul0...
Saltash, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The living accommodation in the Dairy is not suitable for the less able”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at the Dairy for a 4 day stay and the owners made us welcome. The kitchen area was lovely and well equipped as were the bedroom and bathroom and the welcome tray was a lovely touch.. However, there was no mention in the brochure that the only dining area was a breakfast bar with very uncomfortable high stools, which as I have a slight disability problem could not use, we had to rely on the lap trays which were provided, to eat our meals off.. The lounge chairs are Ikea rocker chairs and although fairly comfortable were impossible for me to get in and out of, we ended up taking in a Lafuma chair which fortunately we had taken with us for me to sit on. Unfortunately the underfloor heating in the living room had broken annd although the owners had provided an extra electric fire.the slate floor was very cold. I would recommend this cottage for the young and for the older agile, but not for anyone with any slight disabiility..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the situation
Liked least: the lounge accommodation
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2014
Sorry for the late response to your kind review. Always seeking to provide the best experience to our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewed January 27, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2014
Sorry we hardly saw you as my Mom was seriously ill in hospital at that time. Apologies for not responding earlier to your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bongo60
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great for Shropshire walks.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

What a find! We stayed in the Dairy for 3 nights and we had a great time. The cottage was tiny but had everything you could possibly want. The kitchen was very well equipped and the bed comfortable. The underfloor heating was great once we got the hang of it. The owners were very efficient with the booking and left us homemade cake on our arrival. The cottage came with a free pass to the Ironbridge Gorge museums which we took advantage of. If we'd been there longer we would have spent a full day and visited more of the museums. Did some great walks from Church Stretton and also round Stiperstones. The Ragleth Arms in Little Stretton was excellent for an evening meal. Our first visit to Shropshire and we will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. It makes all the hard work well worth it. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldharryD...
dorset
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“cosy cottage”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

lovely cosy cottage adjacent another and joined to the owners house

Lots of extras inluded games cushions for outside chairs etvc

welcome pack of cake and wine tea bags coffee and milk

very warm good central heating

comfortable bedroom with attractive duvet /bedding

Living room chair and settee rather hard tho and t.v needs updating

Complimentary tickets offerd to Ironbridge altho a little distance farther than would have liked
Hope Rob trims the hedge tho as it is hiding the lovely wenlock hills he is advertising

Owners left us alone which was lovely and it is really peaceful and quiet there

Good fish and chip shops pub etc very close with supermarket in Craven Arms

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quietness and peace and the lovely decorated bedroom with duvet and extras
Liked least: the uncomfortable conservatory type armchairs and old tv
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Sorry about the hedge, it has bolted this year with the weather. That permitting, it will be done next week, all the garden contractors are running way behind. TV only 8 years old flat screen but outdated by latest digitals. We hate scrapping things that work fine but technology marches on! The Dairy has softer chairs.
We just got awarded our 4 stars again this week by Visit Britain inspector.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenOkeham...
Okehampton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“cosy and welcoming”
Reviewed March 15, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

An ideal place to stay whilst exploring Shropshire. The welcome tray was a lovely touch and the books of walks and information about places to see very helpful. We really loved the big bath towels, so often they're too small.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2011
Thank you Jenny for your TripAdvisor review. We had forgotten you found us through the site. We particularly appreciated your observation on the bath towels as Chris deliberately chose decent size ones as so many places we have stayed at have disappointed in the past.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed June 9, 2010 for a stay in May 2010
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Farnham
Reviewed June 2, 2010 for a stay in April 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing