We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts good beer and a lovely evening meal”
Review of Stokesay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stokesay Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Almost there
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts good beer and a lovely evening meal”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stopped here as they are part of the BritStop Motorhome stopover scheme. Glad we did as our hosts were very welcoming the beer was good and the evening meal was excellent. The location is very handy if you are traveling the Welsh Border area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oddsnends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    44
    15
    6
    10
See reviews for
22
52
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, South Wales
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here but chose it to meet "halfway"(80miles) with family to exchange Christmas presents. What a lovely surprise the meal was. Beautifully cooked and piping hot. The apple crumble with brandy snap crumble was out of this world. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful and very family friendly. Great lunch and great value.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Ollerwaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have eaten here three times now. Lovely location, beer garden great. The steaks are to die for. Steak burger great. Sunday lunch excellent. Always very friendly, and good service. Very good value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatashaJaneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had a one night stopover and whilst the rooms aren't very special the bed was extremely comfortable and the room warm. We were given a friendly welcome on arrival. We decided to eat in the bar since there didn't seem to be many choices in Craven Arms. The decor is dated but the menu is varied and the food tasty. Very good value at £35 for a double room with en suite.
Service was attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: We did have a humming noise from something (maybe a kitchen fan) but we were tired enough that it di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainbirdEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craven Arms, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I live locally and went for a meal/party, with a group. A pleasant dining room. Good décor. Meals delivered at speed. I had vegetarian and it was scrumptious! Nice and hot with a huge salad, fresh and crunchy. Christmas crackers and a bingo game devised by the owner. Others seemed to relish their meals. Nothing to much trouble for us, pleasant staff and certainly it was 'Compliment to the Chef'!

Room Tip: Not applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0reen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Came here with my dad, for a weekend away! We had 2 rooms mine was a large twin room and was 40 for a sat night! It's nt the ritz, but you are not paying for that, it is very comfortable and sweet! The atmosphere downstairs is lovely and u feel as though you are in some ones front room! The food is unbelievable for the price! Strongly recommend the tortilla chips with home made salsa and loads of cheese! It was enough 2 feed a small family and tasted gorgeous! We had lunch, dinner and breakfast there and they were all fabulous and excellent price for the quality! The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them! Would definitely stay again!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JessV061010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Read some reviews on here and thought the place would be a bit iffy based on the price of £30 for the room. Just finished my excellent full english breakfast and have to say what a great weekend I have had. Dinner last night was beautiful, slow cooked lamb breast presented with an appealing plate of veg. Staff are very friendly and i would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craven Arms
8.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
744 reviews
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
7.9 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bishops Castle
227 reviews
2.5 mi away
Affcot Lodge
Affcot Lodge
#14 of 22 in Church Stretton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stokesay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stokesay Inn

Property: Stokesay Inn
Address: School Road, Craven Arms SY7 9PE, England (Formerly Stokesay Castle Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Stokesay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stokesay Castle Hotel Craven Arms
Stokesay Inn Craven Arms, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing