We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly place”
Review of Stokesay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stokesay Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely friendly place”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Read some reviews on here and thought the place would be a bit iffy based on the price of £30 for the room. Just finished my excellent full english breakfast and have to say what a great weekend I have had. Dinner last night was beautiful, slow cooked lamb breast presented with an appealing plate of veg. Staff are very friendly and i would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    44
    15
    6
    10
See reviews for
22
52
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here with my two children, my grans 90th birthday lunch was held at the Stokesay so it was very convienient for us to stay overnight.
We had a lovely, clean, spacious room and bathroom, with tea and coffee facilities. Great breakfast in the morning. Lovely helpful staff

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently. One of our elder offspring was with us and he had his own room. It had a hole in the wall, evidence of water ingress through the ceiling, peeling paint, a bed that looked fit to collapse and old & very tired decor. My wife and I worried about our room. When we finally got to see it, it was better but not by much. We had a miniature wardrobe which was too small to hang a suit, the tv did not work (no digital signal apparently), there were tea making facilities but no cups and again mold/water ingress through the celing.
However, the staff were friendly and the breakfast we had the next morning - although nothing out of the ordinary - was tasty, well cooked and served by a friendly waitress.
Its evident that the current owners have been around with a pot of paint, but this place needs so much more...like closing down for a few months and gutting from top to bottom. I cannot quite understand why rooms are currently let given the state they are in.
Would we stay here again? Definitely not.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WriterChappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Looking for somewhere to stay for the Ludlow Food Festival, we’d left it too late to book anywhere in Ludlow and chanced upon The Stokesay Inn in nearby Craven Arms. I have to say that this would not have been my first choice of accommodation; however, we were very pleasantly surprised.
Their only available room was the family room (which sleeps three) but, as I was travelling with my son, this was fine, especially for the very reasonable £75 per room per night. On arrival on Friday morning, the staff were very friendly and helpful – happy to let us leave our car and even giving us the number of a local taxi to take us into Ludlow.
When we returned late in the afternoon to prepare for dinner, we found our room very clean and comfortable; nicely decorated and lovely and bright with dual aspect windows.
We did not eat at the inn as we had already booked a restaurant in Ludlow, but the menu looked quite nice and was very keenly priced. We had a drink in the bar before we left and again were helped to find a taxi.
We both slept very well, although my son did find the single bed a bit lumpy. There was plenty of hot water and complimentary toiletries for a shower in the morning. My only criticism of the bathroom is that the bath towels are a bit small and mirror isn’t very brightly lit.
Breakfast is not included in the room rate and (as we were going to a food festival!) we didn’t try it, although other guests that we saw seemed to be enjoying it.
We didn’t see much of Craven Arms itself, but it’s very handy for lovely Ludlow, with a regular bus service and just one stop away on the train.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Great place for excellent Ale, very well cooked local food, the staff are friendly and hard working, Rez is the perfect host.
Since taking on the Stokesay, Tina and Rez have tastefully refurbished the restaurant, Lounge and bar. It is a lovely place to visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tom t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family have a meal in the Stokesay hotel most weekends, the food is always lovely and the HPA is just as good. The staff are always attentive and very friendly, the managers have done so much to the hotel since they took it over and they have really worked hard to improve every aspect of it. I haven't actually stayed in the rooms as it is our local but I have looked around them and they look accommodating and very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's a lovely family pub and we are always made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayroo0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A tired pub hotel which needs some serious redecoration and refurbishment. Plus points excellent breakfast and friendly hardworking staff. Would I stay there again no I would pay a bit more next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 286Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craven Arms
8.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
743 reviews
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
240 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 11 in Bishops Castle
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stokesay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stokesay Inn

Property: Stokesay Inn
Address: School Road, Craven Arms SY7 9PE, England (Formerly Stokesay Castle Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Stokesay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stokesay Castle Hotel Craven Arms
Stokesay Inn Craven Arms, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing