We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Craven Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Settled amongst the rolling South Shropshire countryside in the picturesque village of Clunton is the Crown Inn, run by local family Andy and Della Peers A real country pub set in the lovely Clun Valley, an area recognised for its outstanding natural beauty. The Inn offers warm local hospitality with a range of local beers always on offer in the bar, and home cooked locally sourced food in the restaurant all prepared and cooked by Andy Peers.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The food was excellent, plenty of nice quality potatoes and vegetables and the chips were not frozen but homemade which is so rare now to find when you order a meal.
The portions were huge and delicious and great value for money.
Worth a visit!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debra930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    17
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

A lovely local pub with good atmosphere in the scenic Clun valley.
We had a superbly cooked Sunday lunch, with prompt friendly service.
definitely worth a visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank potatopeeler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just finished lunch at The Crown, oh my what a meal! Will have to say one of the best meals I have had! Will definitely go back with family! Thank you!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went for dinner here on Saturday night. The portions are huge but wonderfully done. 4 of us had dinner and were all delighted with our meals. The sauces with the steak/mixed grill were beautiful. The service was friendly and the dining room comfortable. The pub is small and cosy - will definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slayerules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a lovely pub! We were given a warm welcome, and all of the staff were very friendly and attentive.

We both ordered the mixed grill, which was colossal. It consisted of (deep breath) 4oz rump steak, 4oz gammon steak, 4oz lamb steak, 2 sausages, a huge piece of black pudding, tomato, mushrooms, a fried egg, onion rings, chips, AND even though not on the menu a 4oz pork chop!!

All of the meat was cooked to perfection, which is unusual on a mixed grill as it is a juggling act and a compromise is often made. The price at £14.50 was very good for the quality and quantity it offered.
I have to admit this was the best mixed grill I have ever had, and trust me I have had a few. We are booked in again later this week. My partner was equally impressed.It is a 25 minute drive from where we are staying and it is well worth the effort.
I listened to other diners talking about their food and they were all happy, the fish and chips was very popular, and huge too.

The atmosphere was very good, and the noise is not too intrusive from the adjacent bar.

I cannot comment on the desserts yet, as I couldn't manage one, which is very rare for me!!

If you are in the area I cannot recommend this pub restaurant highly enough

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MiddlesexBigBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

Craven Arms, Shropshire
Craven Arms, Shropshire
 
Craven Arms, Shropshire
Craven Arms, Shropshire
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing