We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birches Mill
Nearby Hotels
$173
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$223
$212
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Castle Hotel(Bishops Castle)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talbot Hotel(Leominster)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Oak(Leominster)
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
The Longmynd(Church Stretton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knighton Hotel(Knighton)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
40
1
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect hostsmillers cottagepeaceful valleywarm welcomegill
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 42 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2010

By accident we found Birches Mill on the Internet while searching for a B&B place in Wales. The photos looked nice so we tried it.. and after a few days we didn't want to leave the place. The rooms are all beautifully furnished, the en suite bathrooms are excellent and there is a guest lounge to enjoy your beer / wine at in the evenings. A whole range breakfast awaits you in the mornings with all the treats you might expect. However magnificent the place itself was, the hosts made our stay truely anjoyable. They were always very friendly and more than happy to help us plan our trips into the surrounding area, which offers heaps of things to visit and see. The lovingly tended garden also offers opportunity to spend a day in leisure. All in all a more than recomandable stay and - though it's quite a drive from Germany - we will defintely be back!
Annette and Daniel from Germany

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annette_meyering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We have just returned from a fabulous long weekend away in Shropshire for my best friends wedding and we stay at the Birches Mill which was superb. I couldn;t recommend it more - Gill and Andy's hospitality and attention to detail was faultless and we have a fantatic weekend. We were with my parents, my young son and our close friend and we all throuoghly enjoyed hiding away from the world at The Birches Mill. I knew the majority of the guests at the wedding whom were all staying locally and without a doubt Gill and Andy are the best in the area - it is an idyllic haven tucked away...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgie_sangster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We've been staying at Birches Mill since 1993, which was the year before the present owners opened for business.

Even then we were struck by the idyllic location - it's a former mill house, set in a valley - but the improvements that have been made since Gill and Andrew acquired the property have turned it into one of the best B&Bs in the country.

We've only ever stayed as B&B guests, but some day we hope to rent one of the self-catering cottages and stay for longer.

Do try the home-made james and preserves - each has a label hand-painted by Andrew, and there are some interesting conbinations of flavours. We always buy as many as we can fit in the car!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanstedPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful two nights at birches mill.The location is marvelous...a river running through the garden,no street lights or traffic noises just the gentle bleating of sheep and the twoot of an owl or two.Our room was spotlessly clean with bathrobes and tea/coffee making facilities and the most comfortable pillows that we will now have to buy.Gill and Andrew were great hosts knowing when to be available and when to give space.The breakfasts were perfect absolutely yummy,great orange juice.If you want to go to south Shropshire this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

My newly-betrothed civil partner and I stayed for one night in Birches Mill along with our witnesses and close friends (we occupied all the rooms!), prior to us moving over to one of Andy and Gill's cottages, Miller's House, which we have been returning to every year since 2002. We had never stayed as B&B guests before, though, and have to say that it was one of the best bed and breakfasts we have ever experienced. We are big fans of "Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay" and have been delighted with the high standard of the B&Bs in that publication, but Gill and Andy were the perfect hosts, their rooms were beautifully appointed, and the breakfasts were truly superb. The whole house has a wonderful, relaxed, timeless atmosphere.

Birches Mill is in a wonderful location, well off the beaten track, at the bottom of a steep valley. The garden is charming, with the River Unk flowing through it, and there is a complete absence of traffic or, indeed, any noise whatsoever. Despite its relative remoteness, there's plenty to do in the area. We love the neighbouring villages of Clun and Bishop's Castle and, as foodies, Birches Mill is only twenty-five minutes' drive from Ludlow with its market, great shops, real ale pubs, fantastic restaurants, and historic attractions. Go on, treat yourself!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatampole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews