We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly delightful and stylish property”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Birches Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Craven Arms
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birches Mill
Ranked #5 of 11 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly delightful and stylish property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Birches Mill is tucked away in a quiet Shropshire valley close to Clun. The setting is idyllic - by a stream and overlooking the countryside with great walking country on your doorstep. Pubs are available in both Clun and Bishops Castle - both just a couple of minutes drive.

The interior has been renovated to the highest standard of comfort and style and is maintained to perfection. The attention to detail is of a boutique hotel standard - more toiletries than usual and lovely towels etc.

The breakfasts are excellent. Fresh orange juice to start. Fresh fruit salad complements the cereals and the cooked breakfasts are delicious. One morning we thoroughly enjoyed a compote of rhubarb (from the garden) and ginger. Quite the best rhubarb I've eaten. The table is laid beautifully - white linen and everything sparkling.

The garden is also a delight and obviously tended with care.

Andrew and Gill are charming hosts - attentive and thoughtful, good fun and intelligent. They are keen to ensure you have everything you need and make the most of the area while respecting your privacy.

Tea and coffee facilities in the room are much appreciated when one likes a cup of tea first thing! Our room was the double ensuite overlooking the river. We loved the view and the huge bathroom. The other ensuite room is larger if that is preferable to you. Superbly decorated and furnished.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelPageOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Having had such a delightful stay at this beautiful B & B a few weeks ago we booked again as our base to stay while walking the Shropshire Way. Giill and Andrew are so welcoming and their attention to detail from the luxurious bed linen and toileteries to the prettily furnished rooms make their B & B stand out from the crowd! Afternoon tea in their lovely garden on our arrival was much appreciated and the delicious breakfasts kept us fortified for the rest of the day! We hope to have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bandbbeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

As part of our planning to do the Coast to Coast walk, I'd rung and booked one night at Birches Mill well ahead of time, paid the deposit, and finally we were there. Hey, it was a little hard to find in the early afternoon as the Tourist Information people were closed, and the people we stopped to ask for directions didn't seem to know anything....or maybe they were regular guests and didn't want to share the information!

We were greeted in the carpark and shown inside by Gill who proudly told us of about Birches Mill 1647 origins and the great renovations/additions of 1740! We had a twin upstairs room of a nice size, beautifully furnished, comfortable, clean and with a giant ensuite with bath and shower. Not believing our luck after an ordinary B&B experience the night before, we then went downstairs and into the garden to enjoy tea and cake. Beautifully manicured lawns, an almost babbling brook, trees and....peace! Yes, the peace.....

On Gill's recommendation we went to The Castle in Bishops Castle for dinner. It was absolutely fine, but the highlight was returning "home" to a welcoming guest lounge with small bottles of wine, comfortable couches and the chance to talk and relax before bed.

The beds were comfortable, the serenity complete and one of those great nights of deep undisturbed sleep followed.....

We were the only two guests that night and so we had the dining room to ourselves. Breakfast was terrific(even had Greengage jam!), but what completed the experience was the chance to just chat with Gill and Andrew who gave every appearance of being truly interested in their guests, of being knowledgeable about the area, and genuinely interested in excelling at what they do.

This is a place to which I will definitely return....

Room Tip: just come,relax, let the stresses of the world go and enjoy genuine hospitality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was a wedding anniversary weekend. From the moment of our arrival Gill and Andrew were very welcomingl Nothing was too much trouble and the peaceful setting and fantastic breakfasts made this a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17Andrew17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

If you want charm and tranquility, look no further than Birches Mill. Gill and Andrew are excellent hosts and serve up delightful breakfasts and made our 2 day visit to this part of Shropshire extra special. We dined at the the White Horse in Clun and The Castle at Bishops Castle on their recommendation and were not disappointed. We will definately return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the roll top bath lovely room that overlooks the garden and the River Unk
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_and_P_Alsager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

This B&B has an excellent website. We enjoyed our stay & nothing specific to fault (although the room could have accommodated a larger bed). Attractive guest lounge & excellent quality breakfast.

We just felt it was on the expensive side as we were paying the full room rate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stumpedforaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Gill and Andrew have created a true haven of tranquility at The Birches Mill. Set in a beautiful hidden valley, the only sounds are bird song and the babbling brook. Gill's elegant interiors add to the calming ambience -- the house is filled with carefully chosen art and good furniture, and everything is spotless. We felt cosseted and very far away from the stresses of everyday life. We loved the breakfasts, too: homemade muesli, fresh fruit salad, eggs from the Mill's hens, local bacon and sausages, homemade jams and preserves, etc., all served on lovely Blue Willow china.

Gill and Andrew are wonderful hosts -- sympathetic and friendly but never intrusive. If you are looking for somewhere to decompress, I can definitely recommend The Birches Mill. We will certainly return for another stay at this warm and welcoming B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the antique roll top bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corydora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craven Arms
5.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 3 in Newcastle-on-Clun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
3.1 mi away
The School House B&B
The School House B&B
#2 of 4 in Bucknell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
8.2 mi away
Stokesay Inn
Stokesay Inn
#3 of 11 in Craven Arms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birches Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birches Mill

Property: Birches Mill
Address: Clun, Craven Arms SY7 8NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Birches Mill Craven Arms, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing