We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hopton Crown
Nearby Hotels
Talbot Hotel(Cleobury Mortimer)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,008)
Filter reviews
1,008 results
Traveler rating
242
363
219
102
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
242
363
219
102
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe early bird menuwowcher dealnight breakcourse meala living social dealribeye steaktwo nightsroaring fireenjoyable staykipperslovely areaclee hillfood was lovelylovely weekendfull english breakfasttea and coffeerelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
719 - 724 of 1,008 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

we purchased a two night deal with dinner on the first night through amazon, which we did not get to have as we had car problems which delayed us and we were unable to arrive in time for the 'early bird' menu, the staff were slightly sympathetic over the phone when we informed then but said that the owners were strict and that if we did not arrive in time we could not have anything to eat as we would be too late. No offers to even give us a discount etc for the following night which turned out to be a blessing in any event. Stayed in the main building, staff rather indifferent and unprofessional, the carpet throughout main reception/stairs landing very grubby and past needing cleaning or replacing. The door to the room had no catch so the only way to keep it closed was to lock it! The bathroom was functional but a lot of cracked and broken items. Unable to shower in the bath due to the ceiling and had to sit down, no shower mat and no curtain so the floor got wet. For breakfast we enjoyed water dripping through the ceiling into the restaurant which the staff commented meant that someone was obviously having a shower above, it seemed common and routine, buckets underneath. No apologies or any apparent embarrassment by the staff for this. Tea was served to your table, if you wanted coffee you had to go into the room next door yourself to get it. Cooked breakfast the very minimal you could ever expect and clearly not cooked fresh. All in all, not worth half the money, could however with proper trained staff and right investment and attitude be a wonderful experience but seemed that there was little interest in making peoples experience a good one. We did not stay for the second night paid and the staff did not even ask why when we booked out. that said it all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Westwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Crown and had a room in the annexe. During our stay we found the staff friendly and welcoming, the meals excellent and the room comfortable and clean . Unfortunetly we had arranged to meet friends in a nearby town the second night but wish we had known how good the food was and we could have enticed our friends to the Crown!!!!!!!! However we hope to return in the future. Excellent stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billbutler2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed the one night at the Crown and really enjoyed our stay. Our room No 10 was quaint and comfy, with reasonable bathroom with fluffy towels. We had a good night sleep and yes the floors creak but the building is old. The staff were welcoming and very friendly. Breakfast was excellent with great service. All in all a great overnight for a very reasonable voucher price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lavinia68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and myself booked a 2 night deal through KGB. £100 for 2 nights bed and breakfast inc a 2 course meal on the first night apparently saving £263. To be honest we would have been massively disappointed if we would have paid £363 for our stay. The bedrooms are small, dated and tired. Basically in need of new carpets, tv and a general modernisation without removing the charm. That said, not really a complaint can be made, just reflection thoughts.

On the whole the hotel and pub are "nice". What makes this place special is the staff. They take the time to get to know you, extremely helpful with local knowledge like where to go and what to do. We would especially like to thank Amanda (miss Canada), ryan and Jules.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights, 30/09 until 02/10, after having purchased a voucher on amazon local. I have no idea what the previous reviews are on about. The staff were kind and extremely helpful. The service was top notch at all times. We stayed in the annex and that was absolutely fine. The rooms were clean and tidy. The deal included a 3 course meal. The food was second to none, props to the chef! It's a nice location with some beautiful sights not to far providing you drive. Will definitely recommend to everyone, thank you very much for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikelReal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews