We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little niggles!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown At Hopton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown At Hopton
Wales, Uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Little niggles!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a lovely old place in a superb area. Our room (7) was very pretty under the eaves, with an extremely vocal sparrow at 5.30am. The floor sloped so we kept sliding down the bed, but that is really part of the charm of such an old building. The water was hot, the shower worked though the door opened rather too easily, there was hanging room and drawers, two bedside lights and books to read. Being a technophobe it took me ages to work out the TV controls but the owner helped, I suppose it might have helped if I'd found the instruction booklet first! A light switch by the door would have been useful as we had to cross the room to turn the lights on. There was plenty of tea and coffee sachets, milk, sugar and biccies etc. Although we live out in the country we didn't find the road too noisy as some other guests appear to have done and certainly the traffic died down after 11pm.

We had a Groupon with a meal on the first night. This was absolutely smashing, very tasty and well presented. Could do without being called "guys" by the waitress (young enough to be our grand-daughter) but that's just a personal hate. I had the pate and sole and my husband had the goat's cheese thingy and pie (as indeed he did on the second night - he likes pies) and his chips were to die for so I had those on the second night when I plumped for the veg lasagne and Eton mess, he had a superb cheesecake. I requested vinegar but it never put in an appearance. We paid for this meal but the first had been so good that we couldn't find anywhere in the locality to beat it at £12.50 for two courses. Breakfasts were good, tea nice and strong and filter coffee. The quantity of toast we had diminished each day but we could have asked for more so not a problem. However the marmalade ran out - how about supporting our marmalade industry, I hate jam first thing in the morning - nasty continental habit!! It was also quite difficult pouring milk out of a cup - other people seemed to have milk jugs.

We also stopped in on the third night and it fell apart rather then. I had cod and chips off the main course as I didn't want a second course, this was £12.95 so I expected something a bit special. Didn't get it unfortunately. It was nice enough but I wouldn't have been surprised had it come from an ordinary fish and chip shop. The restaurant was quiet and we were sitting down at 7.15. It took over 40 minutes for our food to come by which time only one other couple was left. My husband had the cheesecake again and half way through the waitress came in and started clearing all the tables, spraying them with polish and blowing out the candles - blown out candles don't smell good. I did make a barbed comment about being expected to leave - she blithely told us we could stay as long as we liked and carried on with her cleaning. All this well before 8.30. If it had been our first experience of the restaurant it would probably have been the last. It's such a shame because the food is really well prepared, plenty of it and it's good value on the whole.

Basically this is a lovely old place let down by some inexperienced and some "just don't care" staff. It was noticeable that when Jules was there the service levels improved considerably - I think she makes a big difference and perhaps a little training for the less experienced staff members would be of benefit. Having said all this I'd certainly stay again and we had a very enjoyable break - it's always bad when your last impression of a place isn't the best.

Room Tip: If you like quirky go for rooms in the older building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Landsker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    329
    203
    90
    76
See reviews for
48
683
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This pub is in a beautiful part of the world. There is a great value deal on food before 7.30 p.m. The food is excellent particularly at that price. It needs a front of house manager as the staff are so dozy it is painful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Once again a fantastic stay great staff quirky rooms and fantastic food, not forgeting the first class service and warm welcome.
I would recomend this quirky friendley hotel to anyone and even better news you wont have to go out and find some place to eat your in the best restruant in the area and the food is at great prices to suit your pocket

Room Tip: All very individual
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on kgb deal and were thoroughly impressed. Nice comfortable room in stable block with comfortable bed, lovely fresh clean linen and towels with tv and coffee/tea etc all nicely presented. Food excellent, evening meal good quality and breakfast very substantial and nicely presented. Staff are all very friendly and obliging, work hard with good customer service and thank you Jordan for just going that extra mile with friendliness, it didnt go unnoticed! Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanieShepperton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had a really lovely 3 days here, easy to find, and within reach of many wonderful attractions. The service is very good, and the staff all very friendly. The food is good Inn food, and reasonably priced. Please note, that there are steps and no lift. There is wi-fi access, but a bit patchy. The bed was very comfortable, and the room plenty big enough. The down side was the bathroom, had to bend nearly double to use the shower. DON'T HAVE ROOM 12.

Room Tip: Don't have room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just come back from a 2 night break at the Crown booked through KGB. The staff were extremely pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. We were shown to our room in the cottages - room very nice. My sister and cousin had rooms in the main Inn - both rooms very nice although room 8 is a bit noisy being on the main road. Beds very comfy. Food absolutely excellent - we ate from the early bird menu which was just lovely - plentiful. We ordered steaks one night - excellent. Breakfast great - fresh fruit salad, fruit juice, tea/coffee/ full English or scrambled eggs with salmon. Would certainly go there again - can't see where some of the people who have stayed here are coming from!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Came across this pub on Wednesday May 29th, looked at the menu and decided to book a table for 4 at 7.00 We arrived promptly and ordered our food. Two of our party were having starters and the other two elected to wait so we could eat our main courses together, The 2 starters did not arrive until 7,40 and the main meals ( after a reminder) eventually turned up at 8.05. An attempt to order 2 deserts was fraught as one of those offered on the special menu was 'unavailable'.We were eventually offered the main menu at no extra charge and chose Black Forest roulade. This turned out to be a slice of chocolate swiss roll bearing no resemblance to Black Forest, no cherries. no liqueur.The sound of the waitress apologising began to get rather tedious and we were glad to eventually leave at 9.20!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oaptraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cleobury Mortimer hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleobury Mortimer
7.8 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
9.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bewdley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
24.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown At Hopton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown At Hopton

Property: The Crown At Hopton
Address: Hopton Wafers, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Cleobury Mortimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cleobury Mortimer
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Crown At Hopton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Hopton Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing