We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHATEVER'S UP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown At Hopton
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My partner and I recently 29th January spent two nights at The Crown.

We were very disturbed !!!!----where on this planet are all those people coming from who write negative comments about The Crown.

We had a wonderful time. Our room was clean and tidy, and warm enough, without the extra heater installed, although we did welcome it initially as we arrived in thick fog and drenching rain.

Only comment we agreed with was the paper thin walls ! --but heh !

The moral of the story is don't expect the staff to control matters they have no control over, and IF you don't like a budget break then don't book one ---try an expensive website!

Dave

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 999 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed on a KGB deal last night with friends. Inviting pub with roaring fire, friendly staff, well kept beers and good reasonably priced food in the nice restaurant. Our room was fresh, clean and warm. Breakfast was good, too. There was a large function on Saturday evening, making for a lively atmosphere and plenty of people turning up for Sunday lunch. All in all most enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in a new part of the pub which was very nice. Friends stayed in the older part, still nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Spent a night here on a KGB deal with several friends, so it was always going to be an excellent deal. Sat in the bar for the afternoon with a roaring fire, radiator full on but there was that cold draught others have mentioned - but still with a fleece on I was soon cosy. Great beer and excellent friendly service. Room was very comfortable and full of character in main building so no complaints there. Food served in one of the three eating areas was served well with no waiting, despite the place being quite full and a Beaters Party in full swing. Quantity and quality of food was very good and excellent value for money. The waitresses were efficient and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and wholesome. On the whole a good stay.

Room Tip: Book a room in the old building full of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Was due to stay here today for two days for my husbands birthday' booked and made payment early January for our stay which was to be 18th and 19th .
Obviously have had terrible whether today did call before we left on our journey to explain how bad the roads were as the blizzards and roads in and around selly oak area in Birmingham are still dreadful . After leaving and getting stuck and having to abandon our car walking for over 40 minutes on foot till our oldest son could come to a safer place which he could collect us to get us back hone my daughter had called this hotel and spoke to the manager to explain and he was very rude to my daughter as she had asked could we go the following week or when ever convenient for them as we just couldn't get there it was too dangerous. Totally RUDE !!!! To my daughter , no compassion to what was happening , We don't want to cancel just change the day till the weather is better, So have lost out on taking my husband away for his birthday and have lost my money also. Totally gutted ,,,, did not expect to be treated like this........ All I can say is beware .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights after the new year and had an absolutey lovely time at the Crown. We just fancied a few nights away for a relaxing break and this was the ideal spot. The cosy bar with big fires was just what we were after. The weather was chilly and there's the odd drafty spot in the old building, so if you're looking for something to complain about that'd proably do, but otherwise you should have a very pleasant time.

We ate dinner twice during our stay and we were very happy with our meal on both occasions, which were also extremely reasonably priced. The service was great and all the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful.

From reading the other reviews it sounds as though some rooms may be nicer than others, but ours was great, a good size with a big new bathroom.

Would happily recommend the Crown to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millysandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We've just returned from an overnight stay at this establishment, having joined a shooting party at Hopton which was very enjoyable. Recent reviews of the Crown read well, but to start with our room was a big disappointment. We were given a room in a converted cottage adjoining the main building, and the room was cold, with no heating on so felt damp and unwelcoming. The room was quite small and the double bed, one chest of drawers beside the bed (no room for bedside cabinets), and a small cabinet holding the tea/coffee and kettle filled the space. The small tv was on a bracket over the tea making supplies, which meant you banged your head on the tv when making a drink. The room also had the original back door to the cottage which was partially covered with a tatty curtain which didn't do much to cut out the draught or road noise and there were also ill-fitting curtains at the window. The bathroom was an improvement, being fairly newly fitted, with a shower, but was again very small. The towels were white, and clean/fairly new.
Having offloaded our bags and turned the radiator on, we headed for the bar. The bar area was welcoming with a big open fire which was enjoyable on a cold, damp evening.
Our next disappointment was the meal. We joined our friends and headed for the dining room, which had another big roaring fire, although we were seated in a window alcove which was dingy as the two light fittings nearest our table didn't seem to be working, and again the radiator under the window was stone cold. The menu seemed promising, we made our choices and the waiter took our order. We had to prompt them to bring our wine order as it seemed to have been forgotten, and we waited for an age (at least 40 minutes) for the first course - whitebait (which was overcooked), prawns in a tomato and garlic sauce (quite nice), and a bruschette with chorizo and roasted red peppers (which was ok). Another long wait brought the second course - steak pie, stuffed pork loin (both very average), a fillet steak (cooked ok) and a ribeye steak which was still semi-frozen in the middle. Not what we had been hoping for at all.
Our room was a little warmer when we returned to go to bed, but the busy road noise was
noticeable.
The final sour note was struck after we waited over 30 minutes to get into the restaurant for breakfast, having requested an 8am breakfast to allow us to be ready for the 8.45am assembly time, no-one appeared until 8.30am which meant we delayed the start. We were rushed to settle our bill, and our rough calculation of the cost fell short of the final bill. Unfortunately they couldn't give us an itemised bill(??), and the manager's agressive attitude when we queries the amount was very unhelpful.
Needless to say we will not be staying at the Crown again when we return to Hopton.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 534HappyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 days on a KGB deal just after New Year. Our room was in the main building ,loads of Character,room was warm and cosy with all mod cons.Gary and Sarah looked after us like royalty and the food was excellent. Dinner was the highlight.
With Ludlow only 15 minutes down the road it is the ideal location for visiting that area.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleobury Mortimer
2.2 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cleobury Mortimer
20 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 3 in Newcastle-on-Clun
357 reviews
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
Kings Arms Cleobury Mortimer
#13 of 27 in Worcester
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown At Hopton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown At Hopton

Address: Hopton Wafers, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Cleobury Mortimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cleobury Mortimer
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crown At Hopton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Hopton Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing