We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown At Hopton
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 days on a KGB deal just after New Year. Our room was in the main building ,loads of Character,room was warm and cosy with all mod cons.Gary and Sarah looked after us like royalty and the food was excellent. Dinner was the highlight.
With Ludlow only 15 minutes down the road it is the ideal location for visiting that area.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 996 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent new year at the crown from the minute we checked in to the minute we left was superb.
Absolutely nothing was too much trouble
Excellent staff ,food, service
Thanks terry for your hospitality
We most definitely will be returning very soon
Highly recommend to all

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Williebrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were due to stay for two days over the Christmas - Christmas Day and Boxing Day. But we got a call from them at 15:20pm on Christmas day to advise that despite selling us a stay which included dinner they were only offering lunch as the chef needed to go home to have his own dinner.

Needless to say we expressed our deepest upset as we had not been told prior that the offer was now lunch and not dinner (as advertised).

In the end we were forced to check into another hotel and have dinner with family who thankfully opened their doors for us at the eleventh hour.

The fact they were only offering Christmas lunch in itself is not a problem, the issue is selling it as dinner, but restricting it to being served at lunchtime without telling anyone. I appreciate we all eat at different times on Christmas Day. But you would expect to be notified of this fact prior to Christmas Day - and preferably at the point of booking!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank TeTeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Went for 2 nights on a Dealcloud voucher with friends. Rooms were in the old part and full of character. Our friends' room had just been refurbished and was better than ours but no complaints. It was apparent that some parts of the hotel were being improved but this didn't get in the way of anyone. Food (breakfasts and evening meals) was excellent and great value for money. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Good base for visits to loads of attractions. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charenteboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stopped overnight...on voucher £39 including breakfast. Staff helpful with supplying the wife a hair dryer and additional milk for the room (21)in the cottages.
Room fine, clean and serviceable, very small tv but worked fine (free-view) the major drawback was the dividing walls, thinner than an anorexics recipe book - not suitable for courting couples (unless you're in to that type of thing)
Breakfast was fine and service good considering the place seemed busy. The restaurant looked really nice, cant say what the meals were like as we didnt dine.If I stop again would prefer the inn rooms...only for the possibility of noisy neighbours.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the inn rather than the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Spent two nights on 'Wowcher' deal and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Once you get passed the 'informal' reception area (first impressions !! ) everything else was great.

we had rooms 17 and 18 outside the main building both were lovely welcoming rooms, very comfortable beds and well equipped modern bathrooms.
The hosts and all the staff were very friendly and helpful but most of all made you feel welcome , the whole place had a lovely warm feel to it as well as loads of character.
The food , evenings and breakfast, was superb !! beautifully cooked and presented and excellent value for money.
OK in places it needs a little TLC but this is far outweighed by the warm welcoming atmosphere and lovely food . would certainly stay again when in that area.

Room Tip: room 18 was a good size, quiet, warm with lovely bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We went on a voucher deal and stayed in room 10 which is full of old world charm. This is an old building and has great character. It does look tired in places. The toilet in our room was temperamental when flushing and I never managed to master the shower to get water at the right temperature.

The staff are the most helpful I have experienced in a long time with nothing being too much trouble for them. The food was excellent with my only complaint being over faced.

If you want an up to date modern hotel avoid this but if you want incredible service and food this is for you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daveawdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleobury Mortimer
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
10.2 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
913 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
944 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown At Hopton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown At Hopton

Address: Hopton Wafers, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Cleobury Mortimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cleobury Mortimer
Price Range: $63 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Crown At Hopton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Hopton Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing