We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown At Hopton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown At Hopton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Worst place I have ever stayed! Rude staff! Terrible food! Waste of money !
We tried to contact the hotel before arrival for the phone to be answered by an incredibly rude Australian lady telling us they were too busy and to call later. Once we eventually spoke to someone and arranged our trip we arrived to be pointed to a grotty room with a leaking toilet, dirty towels and urine stained flooring In the bathroom . When going down to the bar, we were greated by the same Australian girl we seemed to have spoken to on the phone. When asking for drinks . She seemed far too busy talking with another girl to help us at also having an inappropriate conversation in which the whole bar could hear. Food wise this place is ok although I did find a hair in my soup which was not great. I wasn't expecting much as it was a cheap trip but the service, poor room maintence and the unprofessional conversations ruined it for me and my wife. would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    329
    203
    90
    76
See reviews for
48
683
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melksham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Oct '12. Have just spent 3 nights there-never again. Dirty, shabby, noisy place, poorly trained staff. No one seems to have any idea what is going on,what they are supposed to be doing or any idea of customer service. You could literally write your name in the dust on some of the furniture. Left over belongings from previous occupants, toothpaste splashes on the curtains in the bathroom, stains on the carpets. No prices displayed, tried to seriously overcharge us when we left.
Don't waste your money, these people have not got a clue how to run a hospitality business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cleobury Mortimer hotels

Bristol
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We went on a deal. On arrival the bar was packed with a shooting party so had to wait a little while for the barmaid to come to reception. She escourted us to our room (offering to carry our cases - refused). We had a lovely large room in the front of the old part of the building above the bar. Everything was clean and there were books to read on shelves in the room. Being the old part of the building the floorboards did tend to creak in the bedroom and corridor.
There was a storage heater (not on) and fan heater in the room - necessary because the windows are wooden and single glazed. A good thick duvet wasd on a very comfortable bed. The free wifi signal was not very strong in the room, The TV was quite old (with DVD) and attached to a separate Freeview box. The tube was beginning to go with a discolouration at the top of the screen.
The ensuite had a shower, toilet and handbasin - all perfectly clean though there was some black marks on the carpet from water stains from the shower.
There is a large annex of rooms, though I did not explore this area.
We ate in the restaurant - good range on the menu - prices generally between £11-16 for the main course. There was a specials board. I had crab fishcakes and ribeye steak. All nicely cooked and well presented. Breakfast included a full English or scrambled eggs with salmon.
The staff were excellent - pleasant, attentive and happy to engage in conversation.
We will happily go there again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which was large for the price paid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have just spent a delightful 2 nights (on a voucher) at this pub. We were welcomed warmly by a lovely young couple and shown to our rooms (9 and 10),both of which were charming and clean.
The public rooms were also good with a fantastic open fire which along with Hobsons beer helped restore our spirits after the foul weather outside.
Breakfast was plentiful and good quality. We ate in the bar both nights and the food was very good.
Ludlow is well worth a visit and the countryside around the area is stunning
We were using a voucher so it was excellent value for money but would be worth staying at normal rates so if you see a voucher snap it up!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paula r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Lovely weekend, food very good, staff most excellent, so helpful.
Clean and tidy bedroom although carpets could do with renewing, none the less a most enjoyable visit, will certainly be back.....soon.
Log fire an added treat !!

Room Tip: Very quite to say it was above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Very enjoyable weekend, olde worlde charm complete with wonky creaky floors, i found all public areas and my room were clean warm and cosy. We ate in the restaurant both nights and thought the food and prices excellent, there was plenty of choice at breakfast, fruit, cereal, full english even salmon & scrambled eggs. all the staff even Terry were friendly and helpful. Lovely scenery and the location is excellent, would definitely stay there again MaryH

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayanueva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

For those who have left great reviews for this hotel all we can say is that you cant of been to many good, nice hotels, we have been to nicer travelodges! Terry the owner is a rude man, we stayed in the cottages no24 on a KGB deal, for a special bday night away after having no time off from our two children we were very excited. The stairs up to the room are flithy, the room is small, no wardrobes, no welcome pack, walls are dirty and covered in cracks. We tried to work the shower and couldnt get any hot water and the door didnt even shut on the shower so you would just fllod the carpeted floor, which may i add was covered in stains and smelt. The room was generally dirty, dusty, and very basic the tv was tiny and if you lay on the bed only one of you could see it as it was obstructed by the bedstead. The bed creaked terrible, upon looking under it 3 of the slats were broken or missing. So we could wash and change for dinner, as we had a table booked. The manager said he would go and try to sort it while we ate, which was a bit late as we had bought nice evening wear to make an effort for a change. When we returned we found a hammer on the floor the shower was hot but it was just a dribble, a cavaran shower has more power in it! the door still dint shut but one of our towels had been lay on the carpet to soak up any over spray. We went and discussed this with the manager who offer no good will to try and improve our ill feelings. He was just rude stating he only made £15 out KGB deals and the room is worth £115, (you have got to be joking!) My advise is good to a traveloadge they are better! we didnt even stay the night after we ate which was ok, but not impressive, we arrived at 5pm and left at 9pm as a night on a poor bed like that and the fact we could here everything the couple in the room below did and said as well as those in the room next door to us, just wasnt worth it. The door arent fire doors, no fire instructions were seen, no fire extinguster was seen on the stairs etc. We would advise anyone not to go

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleobury Mortimer
7.8 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
9.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bewdley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
24.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown At Hopton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown At Hopton

Property: The Crown At Hopton
Address: Hopton Wafers, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Cleobury Mortimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cleobury Mortimer
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Crown At Hopton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Hopton Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing