We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“D&N”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleobury Mortimer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crown At Hopton
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“D&N”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We booked a twin room a month before arrival on sunday 22nd July 2012 but when we got there, it was a double and the room, no 7, smelled musty and I commented on that. We were asked to wait an hour or so for the housekeeping staff to make up a twin. That was ok. While waiting we asked to see the '2 courses for £9.99' menu advertised at the car-park entrance and was told by the manager/owner that it was a monday-friday deal. I said it was very misleading and confusing for customers as it didn't state that on the board. He said it did and said that 'that was it'. I did check again and it didn't!. I again said 'but why have you got that advertised when you are clearly not offering it tonight?' His reply was to bang a normal menu in front of me and say 'that's it take it or leave it' and stormed off. I've never experienced anyone so rude in the hospitality industry. We went into Cleobury to a local pub and had a lovely meal in friendly surroundings. On return to Crown our room was ready, no 5, but on entering shower room, it was noticed that the toilet hadn't been cleaned. Blood splashes on the outside and inside of bowl and on tiles behind it. We told housekeeping and it was cleaned immediately. Later we discovered shaving remains in shower but by now were so fed up of complaining, we didn't report it, just cleaned shower ourselves. The staff, all seemingly students, were very friendly but a little slow, perhaps they are new? We had booked this through kbg deals and were so glad we hadn't paid full price! The beds were very comfy though and I slept like a log and the Crown is very 'oldy worldy' and a bit creaky in places which is acceptable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing car park in old part are noisy in good weather as bar customers drink outside directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    345
    211
    93
    77
See reviews for
50
723
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

There were three of us on a week end away break, on a GROUPON deal, which was excellent value. We knew before we booked that it was a rural location set off a main road. However, we did not experience any undue road noise and we were in room 7 & room 14 which both overlooked the car park, beer garden and was side on to the road.. On arrval we were greeted by Terry, the "boss" man, checking in was quick and efficient. Room 7 was in the old part of the building and was charming, yes the floor boards creaked, and the viginia creeper was creeping in the window but it was lovely. If you want quaint, oldy wordly, this is ideal. Room 14 was in the newer part which was a tad more up to date.The staff were from NZ. and they were great, service excellent and verry friendly. The food, well that was to die for, all be it slightly pricey, depending on your choice, however, Terrys chips were the best ever and nothing went back to the kitchen it was an overall excellent week end. We would definitely return if we in that part of the world again and would thoroughly reccommend it. You have use a car to get there so you can't complain that there is nothing round about.There is plenty to see, in Ludlow, Craven Arms and the like. . There was a extensive array of brochures/leaflets re places to go things to see, so get the map out and explore this lovely part of Shropshire.

Room Tip: If you are slightly creeky yourself you may need a ground floor room as the stairs are slightly stee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank expert2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and we had a really nice time. The staff, all from New Zealand, were extremely friendly and efficient. The food, both the evening meal and the breakfasts, were fabulous . Because the Inn is so old, it is a little noisy and creaky, but that just adds to its charm. Our room, number 10, was quaint and quirky. The weekend that we were there was unfortunately very rainy, but we didn't let that spoil our weekend. We went to Ludlow on the Saturday, about 9 miles away. What a great market town it is, and full of history. We also went to Tenbury, about the same distance as Ludlow, and again I would say that this is well worth visiting.
We went on a GROUPON deal and felt that it was great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OurKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.yorks
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights on an internet deal.

The room was small but very clean and more than adequate for two nights. The en-suite facilities were ok but I do have to say that the plumbing was a little "third world". We had room 15 in the main building facing the car park and the only real downside to it was road noise, I was very surprised at how busy the road was in such a rural area.

The staff (all Kiwis) were friendly and welcoming and the service level was very good.

The advertising blurb says it has three restaurants but really it has two as one is merely an extension used when the Rent Room restaurant is busy. This doesn't detract from the quality of the food though, everything we had was thoroughly good. The food is not cheap but we thought it was reasonable value. There is a cheaper "early bird" option where you can have two courses for a tenner if you eat before 7.30pm and, again, this is very good.

Other than the Crown there are no other facilities / hosteleries at Hopton and it's a two mile walk along the busy road back to Cleobury. The local area is nice enough scenically but I know the Worcester / Hereford / Ross area fairly well and in my opinion there are more picturesque villages and better scenery further south of the region than that we enjoyed here.

Overall a very nice place to stay and we would recommend it to others but, as observed by a previous reviewer, the internet deal we had got the pricing level somewhere near sensible and we'd find it difficult to recommend the place if paying full whack.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S_yorksStev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Don't stop here for a soft drink. £3.80 for a pint of orange and lemonade (apparently that's £2.20 for the orange and £1.60 for the lemonade....really!!). Would have been cheaper to ask for a pint of beer / cider, and risk killing someone through being under the influence. Oh, and the ladies toilet was apparently dirty, with no toilet paper.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cleobury Mortimer hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We just spent 2 nights at The Crown inn and we were very disappointed considering the price of the accommodation.

When we arrived we had loads of bags and were shown up to the room, but were not offered any help carrying the bags. The room had cob webs everywhere, and when I looked for hairdryer (which we never found), the front of the drawer came off in my hands. Very cheap old pine furniture. The smallest, oldest TV and the furniture and decor was tired and outdated.

Breakfast is only served between 0830am and 0930am, which in my opinion is quite a small window. What if you wanted to be up and out early, or if you fancy a lie in? The breakfast was of a poor standard too. Tinned fruit with chopped apples, the OJ was concentrate (not fresh) and the fry up was average. Smoked Salmon and Scrambled egg was lovely though.

The communal areas are tired, and there was a bucket under some of the radiators catching leaks.

The staff were not rude, but they seemed very inexperienced and did not have a grasp of good service.

The hotel needs some money spent on it to bring it up to the standard that warrants the price. It's more like a £70 a night hotel at its current level of service and accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orners1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. The room was spacious for the age of the property. We found it very peaceful apart from the creaking floorboards. I creak as well and I was not built in the 16th Century. Our room and ensuite were clean, the bed was comfortable, soft but not sagging. I slept well! The staff were fantastic and friendly. The meals we had were excellent. I did not hear any complaints from any of the other guests about rooms or food. The only thing we found was that you needed a bit of patience to let the shower adjust to temperature.
This would be an ideal base for anyone touring the area, especially walkers and cyclists.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magic-IanRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleobury Mortimer
9.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
390 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
20.8 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
12.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
828 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Elms
The Elms
#1 of 1 in Abberley
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown At Hopton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown At Hopton

Property: The Crown At Hopton
Address: Hopton Wafers, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Cleobury Mortimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cleobury Mortimer
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Crown At Hopton Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing