We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“totally overpriced”
Review of Old Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Reviewed August 27, 2013

It could be a pretty little place, unfortunately is very ran down, poor breakfast, cleanliness if "flexible". £ 40 for a double ensuite would have been more than enough! also it's an Hotel but in the wardrobe you can find somebody's clothes and belongings....uh???

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank info r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Old Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 223 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a dreadful hotel. I would not recommend anyone staying here. The toilet seat would not stay up which nearly caused my husband to lose his manhood! Also the top of the toilet was broken and looked like it had been repaired with sellotape. Subsequently a large piece of porcelain crashed on the floor in the night waking us both up. The shower head was black with mould and a most inappropriate sign was stuck above the toilet which read "only put poo and paper down the toilet"!

Even if we could have put up with the tired bedroom, the breakfast was the worst I have ever had. The fried egg was burnt, as well as the blackened deep fried bread. I could not cut the bacon as this had also been overcooked. However, worst was to come. Sitting at the next table was a woman having a breakfast but we guessed she worked for the hotel or was the owner. She was having an excessively loud conversation with other members of staff in a somewhat unrefined high pitched screechy voice. She didnt seem at all aware of us to the point that i said to my husband "are we invisible?" . This went on for about 10 minutes and she was totally oblivious that we were guests in the hotel sitting inches away from her. Finally I very politely said do you mind being a little quieter as we were at a wedding yesterday and i have a hangover (may i point out that this was not the case). She gave us such a shocked look as if there was nothing impolite or rude about her talking so loudly near us. I dont think she had any manners of how you should treat guests. I would have asked for a refund as £85 for bed and breakfast was a rip off but at the time of booking money was taken upfront onto my credit card.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Myself and a small group of friends had the misfortune to stay at the Old Court for two nights at the end of July. On arrival in late evening we initially struggled to find any employees to check us in, but when we did locate the owner/manager sitting at the hotel bar we were told that he had 'no record of our booking'. He proceeded to complain at length about the booking agent he was now using, blaming them for the problem, which we initially believed. After a bit of confusion ( and panic on our parts, given that we were attending a wedding the following day) he located a booking under our names, but he had it recorded for the following two nights. He said he would try to accommodate us that night, even though he was fully booked, but would have to move our rooms the following day, which we reluctantly accepted.
From this moment forward he adopted the attitude that he was 'doing us a favour' to let us stay, and consequently the service we received, the way in which we were spoken to and the standard of rooms we were given were appalling.
There were a multitude of issues, but I'll start with the rooms: One of our party was given a room which was ordinarily being occupied by the owner and his girlfriend and still had his belongings in the cupboards and bathroom. Another was put in a room with no curtains on the windows, a shower in the room by the bed and no door on the bathroom, just a curtain ( apparently this was a superior room!). The rooms were, tired, dingy and ramshackle - not at all how they were portrayed on the website.
The next morning we started to realise how amateurish an operation the Old Court really is. When we located the owner and asked about the change of rooms he tried to put a couple and a single female in a flat above the hotel which was supposedly sometimes used as staff quarters - NOT hotel rooms - which bore no similarity to what was booked ( which were a trio of double, en-suite rooms). When shown the 'flat' we were shocked - there was a door which opened directly onto the public bar offering no security, and there was no lock on the outside of the flat to protect our belongings. There were NO DOORS on any of the rooms, NO CURTAINS on any of the windows and a make-shift bathroom ( again with a tatty curtain across it) situated off the kitchen, where the shower had no proper base. The accommodation looked as though it broke every health and safety rule in the book. It was not fit for purpose in any way. It is difficult to articulate in words quite how horrendous it was. It was perplexing as to why we were put there seeing as he had a record of our booking for the second night - he was overbooked yet was making it our problem.

Another big issue was the owner's unpleasant attitude and arrogant demeanour. When we complained and said it wasn't suitable or reasonable to expect us to stay in the staff flat he became quite confrontational, said we could 'take our money and go elsewhere if we didn't like it' ( we would have, everywhere else nearby was fully booked) and shouted that he was 'too busy' to deal with us!! Eventually after much discussion he agreed to giving the single female a room of her own, however two of our party had no choice but to accept the staff quarters. The fact that he miraculously found another room when pushed was very suspicious.

There was also a lot of random people 'helping out' at the hotel but it didn't appear that there were other actual employees apart from the owner, which made it very difficult to get anyone to give us answers, assistance or any sort of service.

The mediocre breakfast and uncooked sausages seemed fairly insignificant in the whole scheme of things, but were another example of a lack of attention to detail, and provided further evidence of someone who is clearly out of their depth in running this hotel.

On checking out no apology was forthcoming. over priced, terrible hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ahr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

"i gave your room away", this is reception we received on arrival. So non-chalantly that i stared at him in disbelief! We had booked and paid for the Honeymoon suite 3 weeks prior. "All i have is a standard room" was the solution he offered and not even apologetically!!! We had chosen to cycle there and it had poured with rain so we were drenched but that wasn't going to be a problem as we were looking forward to relaxing in a jacuzzi! So wet and cold and obviously distressed about our room being "given away" were then informed WE had a bad attitude!! He said he had found us a room 8 miles away....it was pouring with rain and we were on bicycles??? He then told us due to our attitude we would NOT be getting the room and he then told us to vacate the premises!! So on the first summer holiday weekend we were left to find a room for the night!! We were treated with such contempt and condescension that I am appalled and disappointed to find somebody like that works in the hospitality industry!!!! I suspect he overbooked and gave the room to the first clients who arrived and was happy to fob the next clients on to the Standard room even though the Honeymoon Suite had been booked and paid for 3 weeks ago!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank DeborahKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I never got to stay here but wanted to share what contact I did have.
I booked some rooms via Toprooms off a link from Tripadvisor.
There was a change of plans, so I needed to cancel.
The Toprooms website advised to contact the accommodation.
So I sent off a polite and apologetic email.
After 3 days no reply. Follow up phone call failed to get the owner but did get a promise of a return call. Two more days another call got the owner who was rather short and told me to contact Toprooms. Why just ignore my mail and not return my call?
This was tricky in itself as they seem not to want contact, despite the fact that they had debited my card. Eventually got through and got the room cancelled, though the message was clear that I should be speaking to the Hotel direct.
In conclusion, based on this experience I would
1) avoid The Old Court House it sounds like it’s run by a grump
2) think twice about using Toprooms and stick to tried and trusted

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Crystal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in mid May thank goodness for only 1 night. We didn't want much just a clean "crash pad" after a night with friends. However.... The rooms are nothing like those depicted on the website. Our room was dirty, damp and dark. The carpet was stained and the mildew in the shower smelt musty. There was a big hole in the bathroom where the tiles didnt meet and there was a cold draft from this as a consequence all night. The toilet was clean as were the sheets and ripped towels. Everything else was well worm and stained. At £85 a night I expected much nicer. Breakfast was swimming in oil and overcooked. Very unpleasant, even when hungover! The manager looked in a worse state than we did when he finally surfaced! Avoid avoid avoid overpriced and dingy.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank oscarthedoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Sadly this whole experience was a disappointment. Upon arrival mid-afternoon and looking to check in, it was after 20 minutes of hunting (including wandering around the kitchen) that I found the landlord asleep on the sofa in the main bar. We checked in swift enough, however upon arrival at the room (room 5 - "From me to moo" - according to their website), disappointment was the overwhelming feeling. Dingy, dirty and definitely not one of the rooms that has been supposedly revamped since the takeover that it boasts on the website. The pictures on the site show the previous owners' decor as opposed to the mix and match of random furniture that was in the room. The walk in cupboard featured a recessed alcove with a curtain drawn across it, a wall with mould and what looked like a repair job of the ceiling from previous water damage. The bathroom was very small and the shower was mouldy with the sealant falling off in most places. The bedding was clean and bed freshly made.
Heading to breakfast the following morning, we were greeted by a cleaner padding around in bare feet, who advised us to help ourselves to cereal if we wanted it. Once we looked through several dirty and chipped bowls and some rather unappealing looking cereal, we had to ask whether there was another option (I.e. hot food) and they did offer a full fried breakfast. This arrived fairly promptly and was hearty, however was full of grease and looked like low quality produce had been used.
Sadly the final nail in the coffin to this trip was the fact that despite only staying one night, we were charged twice. Having contacted the manager he agreed to refund the money (there was no acknowledgment of error in taking the payment twice, or subsequently apology). Two weeks later, we are still chasing the money.
Given the fact that this was a bed and breakfast, the cost was also not reflective of the service received or facilities provided.
All in all, we got the impression that this was someone playing "hotel manager" with no idea of how to run things. If you don't want a horrid room, potential grease-induced heart attack, or prefer to keep your own money, don't stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AshandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witney
1.2 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
858 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,344 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fleece
The Fleece
#5 of 7 in Witney
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,830 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Blue Boar Hotel
The Blue Boar Hotel
#6 of 7 in Witney
274 reviews
8.5 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Court Hotel

Address: 39-43 Bridge Street, Witney OX28 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range: $94 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Court Witney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing