We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Like This Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Dessert in Witney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Inside the newly refurbished Bell Inn, you'll find open fires, exposed beams, real ales, an excellent wine list and outstanding food in a relaxed environment. We pride ourselves on our friendly, yet professional style.
Oxford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really Like This Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a great pub with very nice food.

Having frequented this establishment more than a dozen times over the past year at different times/days........Saturday lunch, various evenings and Sunday lunches, it has never been less than very good.

In particular, the various 'special' menus have proved to be tasty and good value.
During the week they offer a changing £10 menu which always has something interesting and different to try. They also have a steak menu on Thursdays.

Personal favourite is the rissoto which always pleases.

It is a shame that this pub isn't busier. Perhaps it's because it's tucked away in a relatively quiet village.

I would be more than happy if I could live closer to a pub like this.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    17
    5
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
146 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Expensive and food somehow just didn't hot the mark”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a group night out. The service was extremely slow. The food looked nice on the plate but flavours disappointed. Also was overpriced. Nice pub though and nice decor. One savings grace was the peanut and honeycomb parfait dessert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss-sip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected Find - Lovely Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked to come here as we had a discount voucher from Buckland Apple Day and fancied a Friday meal out. Not knowing Standlake too well, we parked at the what we thought was the only pub in Standlake and was just about to go in when my sharp eyed daugther spotted that we were about to enter the Black Horse. Now all suffering from hysterical giggling, we got back in the car and drove on to the Bell.
Car park was emptier than the Black Horse and was tempted to turn around, but glad we didnt.
The Bell was very welcoming and food was excellent.
Food was reasonably priced and cooked extremely well.
The hamburger was better than the ones I make at home.
Enjoyed it even more than our last meal at the Black Horse.
This pub deserves to be busier than it was on a Friday night. Would definitely come again, even without a discount voucher.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“staff were very welcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

i really enjoyed my trip here, it was wonderful, meal was awesome. Met some very nice villagers, so very welcoming, can't wait to go back for my next meal!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon
Level Contributor
117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Mid week £10.00 for 2 courses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Simple no nonsense good value 2 courses for £10.00. Rare roast beef salad followed by baby monkfish tails in a wonderful tarragon sauce. Reasonaby priced wine and excellent service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OXON111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

Standlake, Oxfordshire
Witney, Oxfordshire
 
Witney, Oxfordshire
Witney, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Northmoor, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing