We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guest house in beautiful town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Corncroft Guest House
Ranked #1 of 15 Witney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
traceythomas64
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent guest house in beautiful town.”
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Excellent guest house in a picturesque Cotswold town with everything to hand. Very welcoming and friendly proprietor, Richard, who cooks a great full English! Lots of little 'extras' in the room if needed, such as hair dryer, iron, razors and toothbrushes! Hospitality tray stocked up daily with good choice of drinks and biscuits. Plenty of places to eat nearby.

Would certainly use this guest house again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceythomas64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
126
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We were lucky enough to stay at the Corncroft for 11 nights while visiting our daughters.
What a warm, welcoming B and B it was! Richard is a wonderful host! He has an amazing personality and a great sense of humour! He even stayed up when our flight was delayed and welcomed us at 2 am in the morning. Our room was warm and cozy and the bed so comfortable. Each room has its own tea making facilities, but also bottled water every day, cookies and mini chocolate bars! The rooms were spotless, great showers, and the whole house is immaculately furnished. It's so lovely that you feel immediately at home.
Breakfast is wonderful as well - Richard is very accomodating to any requests. Cereals, yogurt, fruit, toast, eggs anyway you wanted and of course the full English Breakfast !.
The dining room is very welcoming and you never feel rushed. For those who want to keep up with the news the big screen tv is on each morning.
Richard was very knowledgeable about the region and had suggestions and routes to take to see the highlights of the Cotswolds. It really is a beautiful area to see.
You can walk into Witney in 5 minutes to visit the town(which is quite lovely on its own) ,have a cup of tea, wander through the streets,take a walk through the trails, do a little shopping or find a nice restaurant to eat at - quite a few choices.
As Canadians, we were quite surprised at the chef quality food at the pubs - not what we expected at all! The pub across the street from the Corncroft ( the Horseshoe) and the Fleece (just down the street and across the green) are both good choices
Richard was also kind enough to accomodate one of our daughters for 3 nights. He nicely put her across the hall from us and she loved the bed!
It was lovely every morning to come done the stairs and be met by Mr. Ben - what a lovely little dog - I don't think we ever heard him bark! He'd follow you to the dining room and make sure you were seated then off he'd go. He was a bit jealous of the puppy that Richard was babysitting, so Mr. Ben got a little bit of extra attention!
Richard also warned us of the traffic in the morning when we had to drive to Gatwick - he told us to leave an hour earlier tha we had planned because of the traffic on the ring road around London - well Richard was right, the traffic was getting heavier and if we'd left later would have been caught in very heavy traffic - so thanks for the advice - we made it safe and sound with plenty of time before our flight
Thanks again Richard, Diane , Arie, and Debbie

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannetToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton, Derbyshire
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The rooms are of a decent size and are very well appointed. Nothing has been left to chance by Richard & his team. The whole place is furnished beautifully and is very clean & comfortable with lots of little extras provided. The breakfast is good with a plentiful selection.
The Corn Croft is centrally located and for this reason parking can be a little challenging, but don't let this put you off.
The service is extremely friendly and personal. Nothing is too much trouble.
We recommend the Corn Croft most highly and look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrydelafuente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed in November for a friends Wedding, initially for 2 nights but extended this to 3 after enjoying the comfort and hospitality of the owner Richard. He has done an absolutely fabulous job of renovating the place, the bedrooms are fabulous, our 4 poster was big enough to host a small party.
Breakfast is sublime and sourced locally.
You really can't fault the place and from one Hotelier to another, it was our pleasure to stay with you, we'll certainly re-visit and would encourage anyone reading the review to do the same.
Thanks again
Paul & Judy

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

It was a nice weekend experience. We stayed there just for a night and had a great experience. Owner of the guest house -Richard is very helpful person and a great host. Our room was very clean and cozy. We will definitely stay at Corncroft guest house again whenever we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

This is a lovely B&B run by the charming and friendly Richard ( and Mr Ben the Westie!). Beautifully presented, clean and comfortable throughout. The breakfast, made with fresh tasty ingredients, was filling and kept us going a fair few hours. We had a lovely four-poster room with a very comfortable bed. We would highly recommend the Corncroft.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jem999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Cambridgeshire, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

An absolutely wonderful B&B. Very welcoming host, HUGE bedroom with a four poster bed. Very warm and comforting, nice bathroom with everything you could want. Great breakfast too. Excellent location with some good place for dinner two minutes walk away. I would recommend this to anyone and will certainly be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvertraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witney
0.7 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
821 reviews
2.4 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,760 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fleece
The Fleece
#5 of 7 in Witney
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Blue Boar Hotel
The Blue Boar Hotel
#6 of 7 in Witney
247 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corncroft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corncroft Guest House

Property: Corncroft Guest House
Address: 69-71 Corn Street, Witney OX28 6AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Corncroft Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Corncroft Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corncroft Guest House Hotel Witney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing